Roccat Kone 3200dpi Gaming Mouse

Test Setup & Results

Testbed and Testing Methods
 
In order to form a fair conclusion about the competence of this mouse, it must be tested in a number of areas.
 
First and foremost, does the mouse at least match the ratings that Roccat have given it? Aesthetic features and LEDs are of no use if the mouse simply doesn't perform. I shall be using the application dx_mouse_timer to verify the Kone's ability of functioning at the rated response time and polling rate of 1ms and 1000Hz respectively.
 
Next is the tracking test, which includes analysing and evaluating the Kone's Tracking Calibration Unit functionality. In qualitive terms, I shall explain how the mouse performs on conventional mousepad surfaces, wooden and glass table surfaces but also two not so conventional surfaces, clay tiles and carpet.
 
Would you expect a relatively expensive mouse to give you Repetitive Strain Injury? I shall describe how my wrist is feeling after a hard day's work behind the computer. Tied in with this is the general ergonomics of the mouse under both general use and gaming conditions.
 
Based on the aformentioned series of tests, a conclusion will then be formed.
 
 
Test 1 - Polling Test
 
The polling test involved a number of short and long mouse movements. The results were sufficient enough to conclude that the 1000Hz Polling and 1ms Response Time claims hold true.At times, the current Polling rate would fluctuate quite considerably but as shown, the average result was just over 1000Hz. Excellent.
 
 
Test 2 – The Tracking Test
 
Roccat Kone Pollrate
Among the rest of the additional features, the first one that stood out for me was the Roccat Tracking Control Unit. Under the mouse lies a second sensor, used for the purpose for calibrating aspects of the Kone's configurations depending on the nature of the surface that you're playing on. This is enabled from within the control panel and when selected, a dialog appears that requests the user to keep the mouse still for 5 seconds, while it calibrates, before proceeding to press continue.
 
 
Generic Mousemat Surface
 
The general operation of the mouse was flawless, even when used on this free medical rep mousemat. There was no unnecessary drag as such, though it should be noted that there was no noticeable difference between the TCU function disabled and enabled.
 
 
Wood Surface
 
Not an ideal surface for a gamer, especially when a large number of movements involves dragging the mouse against the grain, causing drag, noise and scratches in the long term. It should be noted though that the mouse remained just as sensitive and responsive on a wooden surface as on the mousemat. The wooden table used in the testing was particularly rough and the mouse was rarely but sometimes twitchy on such a surface. However, after enabling the Tracking Calibration Utility, the general operation of the mouse seemed to have returned to normal.
 
 
Glass Surface
 
Again, a similar deal as with the wooden surface. If you're going to spend this sort of money on a performance mouse, it really wouldn't kill to buy even just a basic mousemat. The mouse performed flawlessly with or without TCU enabled on such a surface.
 
 
Clay Tile Surface
 
Okay, now this is becoming a tad rediculous as I'm yet to have met anyone that thinks it's sensible to use a mouse on a coarse Clay Tile. Like the rough wood surface, the mouse tracking was somewhat twitchy but the use of the Tracking Calibration Utility also resolved this.
 
From what I've gathered from the surface testing, it's clear that the mouse tracking was very good indeed, even on surfaces that are less than ideal and that the TCU functionality worked a treat!
 
 
Test 3 – Comfort and General Ergonomics
 
Contrary to popular belief, sitting behind a computer can cause muscle strain/discomfort and sadly this is not restricted to those that lack a physical build. One cannot underplay the comfort perspective of a mouse as the main limitation in such a scenario lies with the mushy live organism that's operating the mouse rather than the mouse itself. Afterall, a mouse could be very capable but might never be fully appreciated due to it being too uncomfortable to operate with ease, especially after long periods of use. I am however happy to report that this was not the case with the Roccat Kone. After sessions of use, entailing combined gaming, media and web browsing usage, which exceeded safe usage guidelines to prevent RSI, I had not experienced any form of wrist pain of any sort. The general shape of the Kone, combined with the layout of the buttons made it very simple and convenient to use, although as a personal preference I would have appreciated deeper contours to the left hand side of the mouse for a more secure means of resting the thumb.
 
All in all, a very promising result.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-06-2009, 08:58:07

JN
"Ever felt as though your otherwise unbeatable fragging skills were being held back by your computer? Maybe newcomer to the scene Roccat can help..." - by Mul.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...221409854s.jpg

Roccat Kone 3200dpi Gaming Mouse

14-06-2009, 09:03:51

Evo2RaidPc
Looks pretty cool, would like to try it out. I love my logitech 518 but ? This could feel and work better than mine I would switch. Nice pic.

14-06-2009, 09:51:07

Brooksie
Nice mouse, might have to consider this to go with my Roccat Taito mat

14-06-2009, 10:11:17

Lallespasser
It really is a great mouse. In addition to what the article said, i can add that the buttons and in particular the scrolling wheel have a really nice and precise feel to them.

However, the article left me wondering: did you not test the mouse on a mouse mat matching the price class of the mouse? I mean, sure, it's fun to read about it's performance on clay, but it might be a little more relevant to reveal how it performs on, say, a Razer Destructor.

I just so happen to own a Razer Destructor , and i can report that, coupled with the Roccat Kone, the mouse slides with almost no resistance and is extremely precise.

14-06-2009, 10:17:45

Evo2RaidPc
Thats what we won't to here how it rely performs. The action of the contrrols, thanks for the update.

14-06-2009, 11:09:58

Youngie1337
Who ever plays with over 800dpi is crazy. With 800dpi I have to set game sensitivity to 0.3-0.7. anything over that is ridiculous and not worth the changing tbh. Unless you like 12cm per 1010101010 degrees turn get this mouse .

Nice review though I gotta say that but the DPI is overrated and pointless. Doesn't even enhance gameplay because nearly everybody lowers the DPI to 800 anyway. Unless you were working with a 2000" screen I see no point for the DPI.

14-06-2009, 11:31:02

Kylevdm
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Youngie1337'
Who ever plays with over 800dpi is crazy. With 800dpi I have to set game sensitivity to 0.3-0.7. anything over that is ridiculous and not worth the changing tbh. Unless you like 12cm per 1010101010 degrees turn get this mouse .

Nice review though I gotta say that but the DPI is overrated and pointless. Doesn't even enhance gameplay because nearly everybody lowers the DPI to 800 anyway. Unless you were working with a 2000" screen I see no point for the DPI.
Agreed, although I have it at 400 whenever I am gaming, good review though!

14-06-2009, 11:32:31

monkey7
I disagree. I play any fps with the mx518 at 1800 DPI and still I have to set my mouse sensitivity to 12.0 in the source games.

Having a quite sensitive hand I just don't like dragging it around for hours. I prefer small subtle movements, and that's where DPI comes in.

14-06-2009, 11:52:29

Youngie1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
I disagree. I play any fps with the mx518 at 1800 DPI and still I have to set my mouse sensitivity to 12.0 in the source games.

Having a quite sensitive hand I just don't like dragging it around for hours. I prefer small subtle movements, and that's where DPI comes in.
Wow! When I have 12 sensitivity with 800DPI even 2cm it's around 720 degrees .

14-06-2009, 12:05:08

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Youngie1337'
Wow! When I have 12 sensitivity with 800DPI even 2cm it's around 720 degrees .
it varies depending on how sensitive you have your mouse set in windows...

14-06-2009, 12:15:48

zak4994
Is it me or is it that if you look at it at a certain angle, it is more suited for left handed players?

Price needs to go down. :P

14-06-2009, 12:20:56

Youngie1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
it varies depending on how sensitive you have your mouse set in windows...
Not if you use mouse drivers, which varies once again but why on earth would anyone set it low and games high since the desktop would be really slow and game annoyingly fast. I set to a nice contrast so my aiming doesn't mess up.

14-06-2009, 13:38:40

bckbacek
I had this mouse.

At this mouse different sensitivity for high speed of moving and low.

For example, if to move very slowly that having made in game, the turn of 360 degrees, the mouse on a rug will move on 10 see

If to move very quickly, on 360 degrees the mouse on a pad will move on 20 see

In other words the mouse has negative acceleration!

Moreover the mouse way on a pad with slow speed does not depend on sensitivity of the mouse established in the driver!

Sensitivity in the driver depends on parametre only average and high speed of moving.

In other words if we move the cursor from a screen left edge to right with a great speed, and then we will slowly return to a left edge that the mouse will not return to an start point on to mousepad

14-06-2009, 15:27:22

Youngie1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='bckbacek'
I had this mouse.

At this mouse different sensitivity for high speed of moving and low.

For example, if to move very slowly that having made in game, the turn of 360 degrees, the mouse on a rug will move on 10 see

If to move very quickly, on 360 degrees the mouse on a pad will move on 20 see

In other words the mouse has negative acceleration!

Moreover the mouse way on a pad with slow speed does not depend on sensitivity of the mouse established in the driver!

Sensitivity in the driver depends on parametre only average and high speed of moving.

In other words if we move the cursor from a screen left edge to right with a great speed, and then we will slowly return to a left edge that the mouse will not return to an start point on to mousepad
Yes acceleration that's called, and I hate it so much. You can't even disable and change polling rates on Vista 64 . I tried and tried nothing works AT ALL. I tried my own apps and still can't get it to work. I did see someone make something called DirectInput which gets rid of the negative acceleration when you load the .exe with the app. Unfortunately it was banned as a hack , nothing to do with hacks but yeah.

I get what you mean though, if you moved mouse from A to B and did the same exact movement from B to A it would be a different location the mouse lands on.

14-06-2009, 16:43:29

bckbacek
Now I use mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X8.

At this mouse (X8) absolutely is absent what or acceleration, both negative and positive.

It is possible to move X8 with any speed it comes back precisely there whence started.

I check in Unreal Tournament 3, and also on desktop windows.

It worked equally in WinXP and now in Win7 64

To me it is very important that there was no acceleration as I play UT3 actively using Combo Shock.

Mine player name iG0Lka=-

_http_://dfbgaming.com/ut3_stats/index.php?page=highs&showlist=Rewards%3AMost+Combo+Kings&player_sel=all&game_name=ut3pc

14-06-2009, 16:47:14

Youngie1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='bckbacek'
Now I use mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X8.

At this mouse (X8) absolutely is absent what or acceleration, both negative and positive.

It is possible to move X8 with any speed it comes back precisely there whence started.

I check in Unreal Tournament 3, and also on desktop windows.

It worked equally in WinXP and now in Win7 64

To me it is very important that there was no acceleration as I play UT3 actively using Combo Shock.

Mine player name iG0Lka=-

_http_://dfbgaming.com/ut3_stats/index.php?page=highs&showlist=Rewards%3AMost+Combo+Kings&player_sel=all&game_name=ut3pc
I know what you mean mate, I used to play with a team all day every day, was really annoying the mouse accel. I didn't switch to Vista because of it and I hate playing with Vista because the mouse feels very different. When on XP my aim is so much better. Sounds weird but I'm used to it.

I use Logitech MX518 and Razer Diamondback 3G. I'm looking at a graphic tablet atm to try play with that, would be interesting.

DPI is important when photo editing comes into account but gaming I can't really see difference.

14-06-2009, 17:23:32

PeterStoba
Nice review by Mul, glad he got the position

Where did he dissapear to though once he'd got it

14-06-2009, 18:21:11

w3bbo
Nice review m8. Deffo gonna get one of these.

14-06-2009, 19:33:35

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PeterStoba'
Nice review by Mul, glad he got the position

Where did he dissapear to though once he'd got it
Rest assured, I haven't gone anywhere. It's been a busy week or so, packing to leave halls, property searching for the next academic year and I only just returned from download before scooting off on holiday tomorrow!

15-06-2009, 13:01:50

Bungral
After looking at what you said Youngie, I took a look at my Logitech G5 settings and that lets me turn off my acceleration which for fps's will be quite helpful as I should be able to control stopping much better as it'll only move how much I tell it to and not speed up.

Handy.

Hadn't given it much thought before.

16-06-2009, 19:08:25

djw746
Roccat needs to get on the ball and get a couple of these (and all their other products) across the pond to the North American retail market. Maybe as economies improve...

17-06-2009, 12:54:49

Evo2RaidPc
Yea I would like to check these out.

01-05-2010, 15:11:09

GogoPogo
There's no doubt that the Roccat Kone is a high-tech precision gaming mouse with many great features.

It has a 3200 DPI Pro-Aim Gaming Sensor to reduce Pick-Up-Flight; a TCU (Tracking Control Unit) to calibrate the laser power to match the mouse pad surface; an Integrated Turbocore to save CPU power; 128kB of Internal Memory to save up to five Game Profiles; a customisable light system with 5 LEDs capable of displaying the full spectrum of colors; and a FastClip Weight Kit to change the weight of the mouse from 118g by 5g, 10g, 15g and 20g.

But the so-called Ergonomic Hybrid Shape that is supposedly suitable for people with both claw grip or palm grip fails to impress me. If you have large hands then you should find this mouse very comfortable and easy to dominate.

However, if you're like me and have small-medium sized hands then don't be surprised if you get wrist ache and have trouble moving it quickly from side to side. My wrist ache got so bad after the first 5 days I put the Kone back in it's box and got my old faithful Razer Diamondback mouse back into action. The Razer is such a fantastic mouse; it's fast, accurate, and lightweight so you really feel in control of the mouse rather than the mouse controlling you.

In summary, if you've got big hands (Roccat is a German company) then buy the Roccat Kone, otherwise get something smaller like a Razer Diamondback.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.