Roccat Kone 3200dpi Gaming Mouse

Packaging & Initial Impressions

Packaging & Initial Impressions
 
Opening a conventional brown cardboard box lay the package that contained the Roccat Kone. Made from a mix of transparent plastic and black polystyrene, it proudly displayed the mouse in all it's glory. The package opened like a door, allowing the user to gain easy access to it's contents. Everything appeared to have been packed securely so to avoid the mouse from being damaged.
 
Roccat Kone Box Roccat Kone Contents
 
Other than the mouse itself, it was bundled with a multilingual installation leaflet and a box that contained the Kone's additional weights and a driver CD.
 
Roccat Kone Driver CD Roccat Kone Weights
 
Upon first inspection, the mouse looked fairly conventional for a gaming mouse, formed from a mix of matt and glossy black finish as well as it's 10 buttons and 4 way scroll wheel. Usable surfaces of the mouse were also rubberised for a firmer grip. The scroll wheel and buttons between the left and right clicks felt well put together, although I was disappointed by the thumb buttons on the left hand side, which felt very light and also emitted an audible and higher pitched click.
 
Roccat Kone Rear Roccat Kone Side
 
Roccat Kone Front Roccat Kone Side
 
The bottom of the mouse revealed the modular weighting system, allowing the user to use one of the supplied weights of either 5g, 10g, 15g or 20g, which can be swapped by pressing the button next to it that activates the release catch above the weight. The new weight simply slots and clicks into place. Also note the TCU sensor towards the front of the mouse.
 
Roccat Kone Weights Roccat Kone Weights
 
Roccat Kone Sensor Roccat Kone Sensor
 
Installation of the Kone mouse is very easy, carried out by loading the CD and following the on screen instructions. After installation, it's required to restart the computer and only then should the mouse be plugged in. I did not experience any trouble at all.
 
It lives! As you can see, the LED's are very effective, neither weak or too obtrusive. Just right for both bright and dark environments.
 
Roccat Kone LED Blue Roccat Kone LED Red
 
Roccat Kone LED Green Roccat Kone LED Multi
 
My name's Roccat. Hear me roar!
 
Other than my slight reservation with regards to the thumb buttons, there was no reason to believe that it's build quality was unsatisfactory. Let's have a more indepth look at the configuration software for the Kone mouse, which is where all the magic happens!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-06-2009, 08:58:07

JN
"Ever felt as though your otherwise unbeatable fragging skills were being held back by your computer? Maybe newcomer to the scene Roccat can help..." - by Mul.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...221409854s.jpg

Roccat Kone 3200dpi Gaming Mouse

14-06-2009, 09:03:51

Evo2RaidPc
Looks pretty cool, would like to try it out. I love my logitech 518 but ? This could feel and work better than mine I would switch. Nice pic.

14-06-2009, 09:51:07

Brooksie
Nice mouse, might have to consider this to go with my Roccat Taito mat

14-06-2009, 10:11:17

Lallespasser
It really is a great mouse. In addition to what the article said, i can add that the buttons and in particular the scrolling wheel have a really nice and precise feel to them.

However, the article left me wondering: did you not test the mouse on a mouse mat matching the price class of the mouse? I mean, sure, it's fun to read about it's performance on clay, but it might be a little more relevant to reveal how it performs on, say, a Razer Destructor.

I just so happen to own a Razer Destructor , and i can report that, coupled with the Roccat Kone, the mouse slides with almost no resistance and is extremely precise.

14-06-2009, 10:17:45

Evo2RaidPc
Thats what we won't to here how it rely performs. The action of the contrrols, thanks for the update.

14-06-2009, 11:09:58

Youngie1337
Who ever plays with over 800dpi is crazy. With 800dpi I have to set game sensitivity to 0.3-0.7. anything over that is ridiculous and not worth the changing tbh. Unless you like 12cm per 1010101010 degrees turn get this mouse .

Nice review though I gotta say that but the DPI is overrated and pointless. Doesn't even enhance gameplay because nearly everybody lowers the DPI to 800 anyway. Unless you were working with a 2000" screen I see no point for the DPI.

14-06-2009, 11:31:02

Kylevdm
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Youngie1337'
Who ever plays with over 800dpi is crazy. With 800dpi I have to set game sensitivity to 0.3-0.7. anything over that is ridiculous and not worth the changing tbh. Unless you like 12cm per 1010101010 degrees turn get this mouse .

Nice review though I gotta say that but the DPI is overrated and pointless. Doesn't even enhance gameplay because nearly everybody lowers the DPI to 800 anyway. Unless you were working with a 2000" screen I see no point for the DPI.
Agreed, although I have it at 400 whenever I am gaming, good review though!

14-06-2009, 11:32:31

monkey7
I disagree. I play any fps with the mx518 at 1800 DPI and still I have to set my mouse sensitivity to 12.0 in the source games.

Having a quite sensitive hand I just don't like dragging it around for hours. I prefer small subtle movements, and that's where DPI comes in.

14-06-2009, 11:52:29

Youngie1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
I disagree. I play any fps with the mx518 at 1800 DPI and still I have to set my mouse sensitivity to 12.0 in the source games.

Having a quite sensitive hand I just don't like dragging it around for hours. I prefer small subtle movements, and that's where DPI comes in.
Wow! When I have 12 sensitivity with 800DPI even 2cm it's around 720 degrees .

14-06-2009, 12:05:08

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Youngie1337'
Wow! When I have 12 sensitivity with 800DPI even 2cm it's around 720 degrees .
it varies depending on how sensitive you have your mouse set in windows...

14-06-2009, 12:15:48

zak4994
Is it me or is it that if you look at it at a certain angle, it is more suited for left handed players?

Price needs to go down. :P

14-06-2009, 12:20:56

Youngie1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
it varies depending on how sensitive you have your mouse set in windows...
Not if you use mouse drivers, which varies once again but why on earth would anyone set it low and games high since the desktop would be really slow and game annoyingly fast. I set to a nice contrast so my aiming doesn't mess up.

14-06-2009, 13:38:40

bckbacek
I had this mouse.

At this mouse different sensitivity for high speed of moving and low.

For example, if to move very slowly that having made in game, the turn of 360 degrees, the mouse on a rug will move on 10 see

If to move very quickly, on 360 degrees the mouse on a pad will move on 20 see

In other words the mouse has negative acceleration!

Moreover the mouse way on a pad with slow speed does not depend on sensitivity of the mouse established in the driver!

Sensitivity in the driver depends on parametre only average and high speed of moving.

In other words if we move the cursor from a screen left edge to right with a great speed, and then we will slowly return to a left edge that the mouse will not return to an start point on to mousepad

14-06-2009, 15:27:22

Youngie1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='bckbacek'
I had this mouse.

At this mouse different sensitivity for high speed of moving and low.

For example, if to move very slowly that having made in game, the turn of 360 degrees, the mouse on a rug will move on 10 see

If to move very quickly, on 360 degrees the mouse on a pad will move on 20 see

In other words the mouse has negative acceleration!

Moreover the mouse way on a pad with slow speed does not depend on sensitivity of the mouse established in the driver!

Sensitivity in the driver depends on parametre only average and high speed of moving.

In other words if we move the cursor from a screen left edge to right with a great speed, and then we will slowly return to a left edge that the mouse will not return to an start point on to mousepad
Yes acceleration that's called, and I hate it so much. You can't even disable and change polling rates on Vista 64 . I tried and tried nothing works AT ALL. I tried my own apps and still can't get it to work. I did see someone make something called DirectInput which gets rid of the negative acceleration when you load the .exe with the app. Unfortunately it was banned as a hack , nothing to do with hacks but yeah.

I get what you mean though, if you moved mouse from A to B and did the same exact movement from B to A it would be a different location the mouse lands on.

14-06-2009, 16:43:29

bckbacek
Now I use mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X8.

At this mouse (X8) absolutely is absent what or acceleration, both negative and positive.

It is possible to move X8 with any speed it comes back precisely there whence started.

I check in Unreal Tournament 3, and also on desktop windows.

It worked equally in WinXP and now in Win7 64

To me it is very important that there was no acceleration as I play UT3 actively using Combo Shock.

Mine player name iG0Lka=-

_http_://dfbgaming.com/ut3_stats/index.php?page=highs&showlist=Rewards%3AMost+Combo+Kings&player_sel=all&game_name=ut3pc

14-06-2009, 16:47:14

Youngie1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='bckbacek'
Now I use mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X8.

At this mouse (X8) absolutely is absent what or acceleration, both negative and positive.

It is possible to move X8 with any speed it comes back precisely there whence started.

I check in Unreal Tournament 3, and also on desktop windows.

It worked equally in WinXP and now in Win7 64

To me it is very important that there was no acceleration as I play UT3 actively using Combo Shock.

Mine player name iG0Lka=-

_http_://dfbgaming.com/ut3_stats/index.php?page=highs&showlist=Rewards%3AMost+Combo+Kings&player_sel=all&game_name=ut3pc
I know what you mean mate, I used to play with a team all day every day, was really annoying the mouse accel. I didn't switch to Vista because of it and I hate playing with Vista because the mouse feels very different. When on XP my aim is so much better. Sounds weird but I'm used to it.

I use Logitech MX518 and Razer Diamondback 3G. I'm looking at a graphic tablet atm to try play with that, would be interesting.

DPI is important when photo editing comes into account but gaming I can't really see difference.

14-06-2009, 17:23:32

PeterStoba
Nice review by Mul, glad he got the position

Where did he dissapear to though once he'd got it

14-06-2009, 18:21:11

w3bbo
Nice review m8. Deffo gonna get one of these.

14-06-2009, 19:33:35

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PeterStoba'
Nice review by Mul, glad he got the position

Where did he dissapear to though once he'd got it
Rest assured, I haven't gone anywhere. It's been a busy week or so, packing to leave halls, property searching for the next academic year and I only just returned from download before scooting off on holiday tomorrow!

15-06-2009, 13:01:50

Bungral
After looking at what you said Youngie, I took a look at my Logitech G5 settings and that lets me turn off my acceleration which for fps's will be quite helpful as I should be able to control stopping much better as it'll only move how much I tell it to and not speed up.

Handy.

Hadn't given it much thought before.

16-06-2009, 19:08:25

djw746
Roccat needs to get on the ball and get a couple of these (and all their other products) across the pond to the North American retail market. Maybe as economies improve...

17-06-2009, 12:54:49

Evo2RaidPc
Yea I would like to check these out.

01-05-2010, 15:11:09

GogoPogo
There's no doubt that the Roccat Kone is a high-tech precision gaming mouse with many great features.

It has a 3200 DPI Pro-Aim Gaming Sensor to reduce Pick-Up-Flight; a TCU (Tracking Control Unit) to calibrate the laser power to match the mouse pad surface; an Integrated Turbocore to save CPU power; 128kB of Internal Memory to save up to five Game Profiles; a customisable light system with 5 LEDs capable of displaying the full spectrum of colors; and a FastClip Weight Kit to change the weight of the mouse from 118g by 5g, 10g, 15g and 20g.

But the so-called Ergonomic Hybrid Shape that is supposedly suitable for people with both claw grip or palm grip fails to impress me. If you have large hands then you should find this mouse very comfortable and easy to dominate.

However, if you're like me and have small-medium sized hands then don't be surprised if you get wrist ache and have trouble moving it quickly from side to side. My wrist ache got so bad after the first 5 days I put the Kone back in it's box and got my old faithful Razer Diamondback mouse back into action. The Razer is such a fantastic mouse; it's fast, accurate, and lightweight so you really feel in control of the mouse rather than the mouse controlling you.

In summary, if you've got big hands (Roccat is a German company) then buy the Roccat Kone, otherwise get something smaller like a Razer Diamondback.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.