Roccat Isku Keyboard Review

Software

Roccat Isku Keyboard Review

Software

There is a huge amount of customisation available with the Isku. One thing it's worth noting is that the Caps Lock key defaults to Easy Shift, rather than Caps Lock. Considering how many buttons the Isku already has it's a surprise to see it hasn't got either a dedicated Easy Shift button, or at least doesn't default to being a keyboard arrangement. The tabs on the software make it clear which part of the Isku you're current adjusting, which is a nice touch given how overwhelming the variations can initially seem.

The Easy Shift being able to double the usefulness of each key can be particularly useful if you're playing something that requires you to move your hand from the WASD+Mouse position for other functions. So you can assign, for example, the number arrows to your WASD and they're only an Easy Shift away.

Roccat Isku Keyboard Review     Roccat Isku Keyboard Review  

The ability to disable the Windows Key is always vital. Even with huge amounts of practise it's easy to catch it in the heat of the moment. The illumination controls also include an auto-dim function so you can have the Isku lit up, but if you switch to an all-mouse game, or other input device, you don't have to manually deluminate the keyboard.

Roccat Isku Keyboard Review     Roccat Isku Keyboard Review  

As I said before, the Isku uses Roccat Talk to pair up with your Roccat mouse, which gives an extra layer of control and flexibility to your gaming experience. Of course it's not only games that shortcuts can be useful for, as anyone who uses their computer artistically can attest.

Roccat Isku Keyboard Review     Roccat Isku Keyboard Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-12-2011, 05:19:33

tinytomlogan


Roccat have firmly entrenched themselves as a big player in the peripheral line. Does the Isku keyboard maintain this momentum?

Continue Reading

02-12-2011, 06:02:09

dipzy
I have got this exact keyboard from LITS 2011 and its just brilliant. I recommend it to anyone

02-12-2011, 06:04:51

yassarikhan786
Great review Bryan . I am not a big fan of the glossy finish, but it does look the part. The software seems to be top notch as well.

02-12-2011, 20:34:14

| raVen |
Good review.I like the looks of this keyboard, but really don't like this glossy finish on keys.Software looks good, but they could add an option to change the color of the lights(that will be really nice feature).

03-12-2011, 03:14:08

noexe
Nice review glad i did not get this keyboard looks gross imo weird keys here there and everywhere!

03-12-2011, 07:50:23

V1Viper
Nice Review!

07-12-2011, 05:57:41

daniSAUR
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipzy View Post

I have got this exact keyboard from LITS 2011 and its just brilliant. I recommend it to anyone
I'm considering getting this keyboard (upgrading from a wireless multimedia Microsoft 3000) is it worth it? I've not had a proper gaming keyboard before but I like the use of macros and being able to have different profiles for gaming and other software. How are you finding the medium height keys? I really love laptop-style keyboards so this would be perfect for me.

07-12-2011, 06:51:05

dipzy
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniSAUR View Post

I'm considering getting this keyboard (upgrading from a wireless multimedia Microsoft 3000) is it worth it? I've not had a proper gaming keyboard before but I like the use of macros and being able to have different profiles for gaming and other software. How are you finding the medium height keys? I really love laptop-style keyboards so this would be perfect for me.
Its a brilliant keyboard, its worth it, the only thing you will lose is the wireless functionality.

This is also my first proper gaming keyboard, previously had a dell keyboard where the keys were stiff and the feel of the key was terrible. The roccat Isku changed all that, awesome response, smooth keys, they have that soft touch which i prefer rather than a rough, texture feel. The customisation in the software is enormous, lots of options for you to customise keys to suit you.

I too like the look of laptop style keyboards, this keyboard is the best thing i have bought for my pc in a long time

07-12-2011, 08:08:29

daniSAUR
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipzy View Post

Its a brilliant keyboard, its worth it, the only thing you will lose is the wireless functionality.

This is also my first proper gaming keyboard, previously had a dell keyboard where the keys were stiff and the feel of the key was terrible. The roccat Isku changed all that, awesome response, smooth keys, they have that soft touch which i prefer rather than a rough, texture feel. The customisation in the software is enormous, lots of options for you to customise keys to suit you.

I too like the look of laptop style keyboards, this keyboard is the best thing i have bought for my pc in a long time
Yeah my only "gaming" keyboard was this weird OCZ Alchemist one they had, was about 20 but there wasn't anything special about it.

I'm not to fussed on losing the wireless functionality, it was useful before but not really an issue if I don't have it. Just reading through a few reviews (this one included) and I'm just trying to justfy the costs and what doesn't give the keyboard that "gold award" or that 9/10. Think I shall have a think over it, thanks for your input. I just really want a proper gaming keyboard ha.

09-02-2012, 04:00:17

ganjiry
hi thanks for this review. i bought a logitech g19 a couple of months ago but feel i wasted my money lol. dont get me wrong its a great board but with multi monitors the lcd screen becomes useless. ive been lookin at the isku for a while now and have now decided to sell the g19 n get an isku to match my kaves

09-02-2012, 05:47:30

smokealot
very nice keyboard tbh... would love to purchase one!

10-02-2012, 08:40:21

MaXiMiZe
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokealot View Post

very nice keyboard tbh... would love to purchase one!
+1

10-03-2012, 15:36:06

DarthDudo420
Thanks to this review I have ordered one of these no only if it came with those Cherry blue switches I think it would be truly an unstoppable gaming machine IMO cant wait to get it

Also please do a review on the Roccat Savu when it comes out looks very nice

Keep up the great reviews VB!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.