Roccat Isku Keyboard Review

Up Close

Roccat Isku Keyboard Review

Up Close

With so much real estate available on a keyboard box, Roccat certainly take advantage by showing us the majority of the features available on the Isku. The design matches the rest of the Roccat range being their futuristic Blade Runner-esque font and ice blue colouring.

Roccat Isku Keyboard Review     Roccat Isku Keyboard Review  

The Isku itself is a full size keyboard with a built in wrist-rest. There are so many buttons, which we'll cover in a moment, that it takes up a sizeable chunk of your desk space. This certainly isn't something you could use if you're limited in elbow room. It's piano black which is very much the in vogue finish at the moment. We don't mind it on screens and the like, but on a keyboard its natural fingerprint magnet qualities are stretched to breaking point.

The feet raise the Isku just enough to maintain typing comfort. It's always a bit of a shame to see a centrally exiting cable, especially as keyboards are always kept in front of the monitor, but it is flexible enough to be a minor issue.

Roccat Isku Keyboard Review     Roccat Isku Keyboard Review  

At the top left we have five LEDs to indicate which of the profiles you're currently using. Next to those is an LED to indicate when you're in record mode, and the Live Record button itself. Just press this, record your macro, and press it again. Although this doesn't give the exacting control we get from the software, it's a nice way to jury rig one up until you're comfortable.

At the top right is the Roccat Talk Logo which we'll cover later, as well as the button to control the lighting itself. There are five levels from off, to quite bright, but none of them are distracting. In a darkened environment with the lighting off its definitely something that touch-typers only should try. But it's worth being in the dark because of how great it looks when lit up.

Roccat Isku Keyboard Review     Roccat Isku Keyboard Review  

Below the space bar are the Thumbster keys we first saw and loved on the Arvo. Your thumbs tend to be limited to the spacebar only, so having a few extra customisable keys here is an excellent piece of thinking and perfect for those oft-used shortcuts.

At the top we have yet further customisation options with the media keys. Although these default to functions that are indicated you aren't limited to only using them to adjust the music player of your choice thanks to the powerful customisation software.

Roccat Isku Keyboard Review     Roccat Isku Keyboard Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-12-2011, 05:19:33

tinytomlogan


Roccat have firmly entrenched themselves as a big player in the peripheral line. Does the Isku keyboard maintain this momentum?

Continue Reading

02-12-2011, 06:02:09

dipzy
I have got this exact keyboard from LITS 2011 and its just brilliant. I recommend it to anyone

02-12-2011, 06:04:51

yassarikhan786
Great review Bryan . I am not a big fan of the glossy finish, but it does look the part. The software seems to be top notch as well.

02-12-2011, 20:34:14

| raVen |
Good review.I like the looks of this keyboard, but really don't like this glossy finish on keys.Software looks good, but they could add an option to change the color of the lights(that will be really nice feature).

03-12-2011, 03:14:08

noexe
Nice review glad i did not get this keyboard looks gross imo weird keys here there and everywhere!

03-12-2011, 07:50:23

V1Viper
Nice Review!

07-12-2011, 05:57:41

daniSAUR
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipzy View Post

I have got this exact keyboard from LITS 2011 and its just brilliant. I recommend it to anyone
I'm considering getting this keyboard (upgrading from a wireless multimedia Microsoft 3000) is it worth it? I've not had a proper gaming keyboard before but I like the use of macros and being able to have different profiles for gaming and other software. How are you finding the medium height keys? I really love laptop-style keyboards so this would be perfect for me.

07-12-2011, 06:51:05

dipzy
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniSAUR View Post

I'm considering getting this keyboard (upgrading from a wireless multimedia Microsoft 3000) is it worth it? I've not had a proper gaming keyboard before but I like the use of macros and being able to have different profiles for gaming and other software. How are you finding the medium height keys? I really love laptop-style keyboards so this would be perfect for me.
Its a brilliant keyboard, its worth it, the only thing you will lose is the wireless functionality.

This is also my first proper gaming keyboard, previously had a dell keyboard where the keys were stiff and the feel of the key was terrible. The roccat Isku changed all that, awesome response, smooth keys, they have that soft touch which i prefer rather than a rough, texture feel. The customisation in the software is enormous, lots of options for you to customise keys to suit you.

I too like the look of laptop style keyboards, this keyboard is the best thing i have bought for my pc in a long time

07-12-2011, 08:08:29

daniSAUR
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipzy View Post

Its a brilliant keyboard, its worth it, the only thing you will lose is the wireless functionality.

This is also my first proper gaming keyboard, previously had a dell keyboard where the keys were stiff and the feel of the key was terrible. The roccat Isku changed all that, awesome response, smooth keys, they have that soft touch which i prefer rather than a rough, texture feel. The customisation in the software is enormous, lots of options for you to customise keys to suit you.

I too like the look of laptop style keyboards, this keyboard is the best thing i have bought for my pc in a long time
Yeah my only "gaming" keyboard was this weird OCZ Alchemist one they had, was about 20 but there wasn't anything special about it.

I'm not to fussed on losing the wireless functionality, it was useful before but not really an issue if I don't have it. Just reading through a few reviews (this one included) and I'm just trying to justfy the costs and what doesn't give the keyboard that "gold award" or that 9/10. Think I shall have a think over it, thanks for your input. I just really want a proper gaming keyboard ha.

09-02-2012, 04:00:17

ganjiry
hi thanks for this review. i bought a logitech g19 a couple of months ago but feel i wasted my money lol. dont get me wrong its a great board but with multi monitors the lcd screen becomes useless. ive been lookin at the isku for a while now and have now decided to sell the g19 n get an isku to match my kaves

09-02-2012, 05:47:30

smokealot
very nice keyboard tbh... would love to purchase one!

10-02-2012, 08:40:21

MaXiMiZe
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokealot View Post

very nice keyboard tbh... would love to purchase one!
+1

10-03-2012, 15:36:06

DarthDudo420
Thanks to this review I have ordered one of these no only if it came with those Cherry blue switches I think it would be truly an unstoppable gaming machine IMO cant wait to get it

Also please do a review on the Roccat Savu when it comes out looks very nice

Keep up the great reviews VB!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.