Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review

Up Close

Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review

Up Close

The Razer packaging is down to a fine art these days, with the cardboard box an exercise in simplicity and minimalism on the front, although the chromatic logo always stands out, and round the back we have the highlights of the various features.

Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review     Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review  

Inside, as well as the lurid green container for the mouse, we have the blurb, stickers, manual and so on. But the main event, as with any input device, is the Taipan itself. High quality braided cable leads to a rodent that looks rather different to other Razer mice that have come through our door. They so often have a molten quality to them that seeing an angular one is a pleasant surprise, and further proof that this really is a new product and not just a gentle tweak.

Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review     Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review  

As befits an ambidextrous mouse this looks identical from both sides. Usually this means that the outer buttons aren't placed in the best ergonomic position, but we'll discover that in our testing.

Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review     Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review  

Rather than the soft coating we've so often seen from Razer, this is a hard plastic top. It's certainly got plenty of grip, but provides a very different tactile experience. Underneath is that 8200dpi 4G dual-sensor. The heart of the Taipan. 

Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review     Razer Taipan Gaming Mouse Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-08-2012, 05:20:56

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...142524844l.JPG


Today we take a look at the Taipan from Razer, a mouse equipped with a mind-blowing sensor.


Continue Reading

14-08-2012, 05:57:16

SieB
The design is quite similar to the soon to be released Razer Ouroboros. The Taipan looks like a good mouse but I think i'm going to go with the Ouroboros for the wireless and the customization. The Taipan is a good second choice though if reviews for the Ouroboros turn out to be bad.

14-08-2012, 10:33:00

Lollipop

14-08-2012, 10:50:01

yassarikhan786
8200 dpi . I'm only now getting used to 1600 . It definitely looks different to the usual Razer style, but it's good to see it's catered for both left and right handed users . I would have liked to have seen an option to change the colour of the light, but oh well, still a very, very nice product from Razer.

14-08-2012, 12:33:19

PetrolHead247
Even though i'm by no means a Razer fan this mouse does look hugely epic. Only problem for me would be the green lighting, would look way out of place next to my K90, but still it looks like an awesome mouse

14-08-2012, 14:20:20

AverageNinja
If they make a white version of this, I shall buy it.

26-08-2012, 13:31:28

Kanped
"hands that can play a keyboard octave"... I think most people could manage that, really. I can just about do the 4th above the octave and my hands aren't particularly big. The keyboard player in my band can comfortably hit the 5th above the octave while playing but in fairness, he does have massive hands.

Errr... yes, anyway. Nice review, seems like a good product to me. I just got the CM Storm Spawn; my first ever gaming mouse and I'm immediately loving the 3600 dpi. Dunno if I'd be comfortable with anything more than that, though. Maybe.

26-08-2012, 19:27:24

dugdiamond
i lurve razer mice
i may have to get this - cos my middle-button on my deathadder is playing up!

15-09-2012, 14:44:30

ruairi.C
Seems very good only flaw is with myself I think a 132g mouse might be a little heavy for my preferences :S

16-09-2012, 04:38:57

SnW
8200 Dpi , i wonder if we can still detect that ?!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.