RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard

Testing

Testing
 
I have decided to test the RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard according to two criterion: Gaming and Desktop. I will testing the RAZER Lycosa on my current test setup - AquAus. For the gaming phase of the testing I will taking the RAZER Lycosa into battle in Counter Strike: Source and Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. I will be testing the RAZER under both well lit and dark conditions to see how the backlight performs, and whether the W,A,S, and D configuration can be used effectively.
 
During the Desktop testing I will be using the RAZER Lycosa for typing Word documents, reviews and a few bouts of Photoshop. I will be looking at the following aspects: comfort, speed and accuracy.
 
 
* Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650
* Asus Blitz Formula SE
* PowerColor Radeon HD4870
* 2GB PC2-9600 FlexXLC DDR2 RAM
* 2 x 250GB SATA II Seagate NCQ 16Mb cache 7200.10 - RAID 0
* 1 x 200 SATA Seagate Barracuda (Storage)
* Logitech G9
* RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard
 
* Reference keyboard  -  Logitech G15
 
Gaming
 
The RAZER Lycosa is unlike any other keyboard that I have ever used before. The low profile keys feel very fast and have just the right amount of travel before registering the keystroke. The keys aren't the quietest when typing, but they aren't the loudest that I've used either. When gaming, I didn't see an increase over my usual performance. However, the keyboard certainly feels more responsive to the touch.
 
I found the backlit keyboard very easy to see in both well lit and poorly lit conditions, although some may find the LED's a touch on the bright side and as such they may pose as a distraction. An adjustable brightness option may be welcome here. The W,A,S and D configuration was okay to use in well lit conditions, but I found it frustrating to use in the dark when I needed to push other keys.
 
 
Desktop
 
Using the RAZER Lycosa for desktop work is very pleasant. Initially I did find the change from my Logitech G15 took a little getting used to. The Logitech G15 has a slightly wider keyboard than the Lycosa and I found myself constantly hitting the 'Caps Lock' key instead of the 'A' that I was looking for. A slight adjustment to the positioning of my arms was all that was needed to correct the issue. Once you get used to the RAZER Lycosa layout, the lower profile keys are extremely fast for touch typing as the fingers don't need to lift quite as high. This equates to more words per minute which is a bonus.
 
All things considered, the RAZER Lycosa is a competent performer and worthy of a serious look.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-09-2008, 08:55:52

PV5150

Arachnophobia (ə-răk'nə-fō'bē-ə, -nō-) - An abnormal fear of spiders.

Today we had a chance to take the RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard out for a play and we think it has quite a bite. But don't take our word for it...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...154300661s.jpg

Read the review

05-09-2008, 09:00:05

JN
Nice looking keyboard and great review mate. I'm still yet to find a keyboard to replace my Eclipse.

05-09-2008, 09:08:30

PV5150
Thanks Jim. Yeah the Lycosa is certainly worth a look if you're wanting to replace your Saitek

06-09-2008, 03:31:13

Maverick1dj
I've owned the Lycosa for a few months now, it is a class keyboard, my only gripes are : -

1. The extra connectivity bits on the back for headphones/USB... etc was detachable from the main cable, i have no need for either, and just gets in the way.

2. There was a luminosity control for the back light as in strong daylight it gets quite dimmed.

Apart from that it's defo class, i have no qualms about purchasing it, even for the price.

06-09-2008, 05:29:14

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback Maverick1dj

06-09-2008, 05:55:55

Hassan
I definitly would not get that only for one reason, there are no programmable hot keys on it - or are there? (Didn't read the review properly)

I am a huge fan of Hotkeys.

06-09-2008, 09:16:15

PV5150
Well if you had read it properly you would have seen the programmable keys mentioned on page 1 of the review.

06-09-2008, 10:10:53

MikeEnIke
Looks like a pretty ace keyboard, too bad I'm far too cheap to buy any keyboard that doesn't cost me all of 10 bucks. Nice review mate

06-09-2008, 10:29:33

PV5150
Thanks Mike. Cheapskate

06-09-2008, 10:35:25

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Thanks Mike. Cheapskate
I prefer to call it Being-A-Student but the same point comes across lol

06-09-2008, 19:06:33

doug2507
Nice review. Just like the destructor mouse mat, a top bit of kit. I'd give it a 9/10 myself. defo recommend it.

07-09-2008, 05:58:38

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback mate.

07-09-2008, 07:04:59

radus
I've had the Lycosa for half a year now, and I would never dream of using another keyboard EVER! Yeah it got some few errors (as mentioned above), with the back lighting being to weak in daylight and the dust and fingerprint attraction, but no way is that able to compete with the sleek design, perfectly balanced and shaped keys, the rubbery grip, touch sensitive panel, hundreds of possible macros (if profiles included), expansion slots (USB, mic, headphones), size and... well you get the point Clearly the best keyboard I've ever had, and it just looks so cool in the dark It's worth every penny.

07-09-2008, 07:07:55

PV5150
Glad you like yours mate as it is a great keyboard

07-09-2008, 12:42:52

GavX
I have one of these, thought this is my second one, my complaints are that the razer drivers are poo, and my touch panel died sadly... however, this keyboard rocks. I am very glad I replaced my G15 with this, it is real easy to use, the keys feel nice and it looks the business. Tbh I dont even look at the keyboard now for typing so the dim lights is not a concern of mine It rawks

07-09-2008, 14:47:39

nepas
i do like the look of that keyboard,and think that the usb lead to power the onboard hub is a good idea(thats the one thing i dont like about my g15,there is nothing i can plug in to it without it exceeding the power requirements of the single usb)

07-09-2008, 19:47:15

ionicle
very nice looking keyboard

good review too

08-09-2008, 03:54:04

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='GavX'
I have one of these, thought this is my second one, my complaints are that the razer drivers are poo, and my touch panel died sadly... however, this keyboard rocks. I am very glad I replaced my G15 with this, it is real easy to use, the keys feel nice and it looks the business. Tbh I dont even look at the keyboard now for typing so the dim lights is not a concern of mine It rawks
Yeazh RAZER had some issues with the first batch but it's all been rectified now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nepas'
i do like the look of that keyboard,and think that the usb lead to power the onboard hub is a good idea(thats the one thing i dont like about my g15,there is nothing i can plug in to it without it exceeding the power requirements of the single usb)
I totally agree, that's what pee'd me off about my G15

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
very nice looking keyboard

good review too
Thanks mate I'm glad you liked it

30-09-2008, 18:24:24

GavX
annoyingly my media buttons are packing in again... just the media ones, not the lighting or even sound, just forwards, back, play and stop which is getting annoying, you have to apply alot of pressure, so that the plastic legs bent a touch which is never a good thing. RMA time? I really can't live a week without a keyboard though...

18-10-2008, 01:51:51

jtara
Its a good kb really weel done the exterior but it has a lot of problems the key are mallfunctioning if its running more then a day the lights start to flicker after 3 4 days, only way to deal with that is to get of from usb ports. i am very disapointed

18-10-2008, 02:10:04

Lynx
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Nice looking keyboard and great review mate. I'm still yet to find a keyboard to replace my Eclipse.
I bloody could, my eclipse II has failed on me,

Too many bhop's down a long tbh

And teh R doesn't work sometime (vigorous in game reloading!)

18-10-2008, 02:27:03

jtara
Its a good kb really weel done the exterior but it has a lot of problems the key are mallfunctioning if its running more then a day the lights start to flicker after 3 4 days, only way to deal with that is to get of from usb ports. i am very disapointed

18-10-2008, 02:39:41

Maverick1dj
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='jtara'
Its a good kb really weel done the exterior but it has a lot of problems the key are mallfunctioning if its running more then a day the lights start to flicker after 3 4 days, only way to deal with that is to get of from usb ports. i am very disapointed
To be honest i don't get any of those issues, even with the keyboard on for days, all the keys work fine, i got mine from the US when they first came out too, had it ages now.

I would contact Razer if i was you, sounds like you have a defected Lycosa?

18-10-2008, 02:59:47

PV5150
Agreed, I don't get any of those issues either. Contact RAZER support about an RMA on your keyboard mate as it sounds like you've got a bad one.

25-02-2012, 07:05:47

crimson2404
Why was build quality among the good?

12-03-2012, 06:31:04

Nick D'trader
I have had the lycosa mirror version of this keyboard, And i have only been disappointed with this. My Touchpanel goes crazy sometimes and repeatedly opens windows media player. My keys stop functioning sometimes and i have to reboot to make it work. The arrow keys get stuck sometimes while gaming especially the left key and i have to restart pc to make it work.

Whats more I also sent it to get it replaced under warranty, but the company refused to replace it stating "It works fine in our test lab"

Overall have felt like razor has cheated me entirely and will never go for any "RAZOR" product.

I've now replaced it with the logitech G110 keyboard and hell this is a major difference than lycosa.

I can change my led colors, intensity, on/off it. 12 programmable G keys with on-fly macro recording.

A nice wheel to +/- volume, mute button. Media keys. provision for headphone/mic/USB port and to put cherry on top of cake, it has its own on-board soundcard inbuilt the keyboard.

I spend almost $20 less on the Logitech G110 compared to the disappointing Lycosa mirror keyboard.

14-03-2012, 15:56:20

911^NEmeSis
Sweet The Lycosa is one of the things that I had always wanted to get

I'll get it one day, when the prices drop a little further.

Is it only a few of em that have been having issues cause it seems to me, that 99% of the people are happy with it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.