RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard

Installation and Software

Installation and Software
 
After plugging the RAZER Lycosa into my Vista Ultimate based PC - AquAus, it was immediately recognised. RAZER includes a keyboard driver and driver control configurator on their install CD which must be installed in order for all the features of the Lycosa to be useable. You can use the Lycosa without the features offered by the driver, but that would be kind of pointless. After installing the software and restarting the PC I took a short trip to my 'Start Menu' to see if any other software was installed during the procedure. I'm happy to report that RAZER has seen fit not to include additional useless crap with their drivers; unlike some other keyboard manufacturers.
 
Start Menu
 
The driver includes a small RAZER logo icon in the system tray which provides access to the 'Driver Control' panel. The Driver Control panel allows for configuration of the RAZER Lycosa; changing of profiles and deployment of macros should the urge grab you.
 
System tray
 
At the top of the Driver Control panel you can set the Lycosa' backlight to being on, off and a slightly weird WASD configuration. I'm not quite sure of the WASD setting, as every game that I use needs more than those four keys. Plus having the WASD keys lit, but the rest of the keyboard blacked out tends to make finding other keys a little tricky in dimly lit, or no light situations.
 
Backlight configuration
 RAZER Lycosa backlight RZER Lycosa WASD
 
The RAZER Lycosa has the ability to control software audio players courtesy of the onboard touch sensitive panel. Support for the four major players out there has been included - Windows Media, iTunes, Real Player and Winamp.
 
 
Lycosa Media Player options
 
Lycosa Media Player controller
 
At the bottom left hand corner of the Driver Control panel we can see the Profile Selection tab. The Profile Selection tab allows you to make up to ten personalised profiles for your keyboard. The beauty of the RAZER Lycosa as far as profiles are concerned is that you can set the profile to start from the moment that a program is launched.
 
Profile configuration
 
As well as editing the profiles to your own personal preference, the RAZER Lycosa allows you to include macros as part of the profile. The Macro Key Function tab gives you the ability to store different profiles for different applications or games. Each of them holds macros, which are specific chains of key presses. With these macros, you can bind actions like buying weapons and armor in Counter-Strike to a single key.
 
RAZER Lycosa Macro Key Functions
 
Let's head over the page for the testing phase...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-09-2008, 08:55:52

PV5150

Arachnophobia (ə-răk'nə-fō'bē-ə, -nō-) - An abnormal fear of spiders.

Today we had a chance to take the RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard out for a play and we think it has quite a bite. But don't take our word for it...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...154300661s.jpg

Read the review

05-09-2008, 09:00:05

JN
Nice looking keyboard and great review mate. I'm still yet to find a keyboard to replace my Eclipse.

05-09-2008, 09:08:30

PV5150
Thanks Jim. Yeah the Lycosa is certainly worth a look if you're wanting to replace your Saitek

06-09-2008, 03:31:13

Maverick1dj
I've owned the Lycosa for a few months now, it is a class keyboard, my only gripes are : -

1. The extra connectivity bits on the back for headphones/USB... etc was detachable from the main cable, i have no need for either, and just gets in the way.

2. There was a luminosity control for the back light as in strong daylight it gets quite dimmed.

Apart from that it's defo class, i have no qualms about purchasing it, even for the price.

06-09-2008, 05:29:14

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback Maverick1dj

06-09-2008, 05:55:55

Hassan
I definitly would not get that only for one reason, there are no programmable hot keys on it - or are there? (Didn't read the review properly)

I am a huge fan of Hotkeys.

06-09-2008, 09:16:15

PV5150
Well if you had read it properly you would have seen the programmable keys mentioned on page 1 of the review.

06-09-2008, 10:10:53

MikeEnIke
Looks like a pretty ace keyboard, too bad I'm far too cheap to buy any keyboard that doesn't cost me all of 10 bucks. Nice review mate

06-09-2008, 10:29:33

PV5150
Thanks Mike. Cheapskate

06-09-2008, 10:35:25

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Thanks Mike. Cheapskate
I prefer to call it Being-A-Student but the same point comes across lol

06-09-2008, 19:06:33

doug2507
Nice review. Just like the destructor mouse mat, a top bit of kit. I'd give it a 9/10 myself. defo recommend it.

07-09-2008, 05:58:38

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback mate.

07-09-2008, 07:04:59

radus
I've had the Lycosa for half a year now, and I would never dream of using another keyboard EVER! Yeah it got some few errors (as mentioned above), with the back lighting being to weak in daylight and the dust and fingerprint attraction, but no way is that able to compete with the sleek design, perfectly balanced and shaped keys, the rubbery grip, touch sensitive panel, hundreds of possible macros (if profiles included), expansion slots (USB, mic, headphones), size and... well you get the point Clearly the best keyboard I've ever had, and it just looks so cool in the dark It's worth every penny.

07-09-2008, 07:07:55

PV5150
Glad you like yours mate as it is a great keyboard

07-09-2008, 12:42:52

GavX
I have one of these, thought this is my second one, my complaints are that the razer drivers are poo, and my touch panel died sadly... however, this keyboard rocks. I am very glad I replaced my G15 with this, it is real easy to use, the keys feel nice and it looks the business. Tbh I dont even look at the keyboard now for typing so the dim lights is not a concern of mine It rawks

07-09-2008, 14:47:39

nepas
i do like the look of that keyboard,and think that the usb lead to power the onboard hub is a good idea(thats the one thing i dont like about my g15,there is nothing i can plug in to it without it exceeding the power requirements of the single usb)

07-09-2008, 19:47:15

ionicle
very nice looking keyboard

good review too

08-09-2008, 03:54:04

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='GavX'
I have one of these, thought this is my second one, my complaints are that the razer drivers are poo, and my touch panel died sadly... however, this keyboard rocks. I am very glad I replaced my G15 with this, it is real easy to use, the keys feel nice and it looks the business. Tbh I dont even look at the keyboard now for typing so the dim lights is not a concern of mine It rawks
Yeazh RAZER had some issues with the first batch but it's all been rectified now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nepas'
i do like the look of that keyboard,and think that the usb lead to power the onboard hub is a good idea(thats the one thing i dont like about my g15,there is nothing i can plug in to it without it exceeding the power requirements of the single usb)
I totally agree, that's what pee'd me off about my G15

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
very nice looking keyboard

good review too
Thanks mate I'm glad you liked it

30-09-2008, 18:24:24

GavX
annoyingly my media buttons are packing in again... just the media ones, not the lighting or even sound, just forwards, back, play and stop which is getting annoying, you have to apply alot of pressure, so that the plastic legs bent a touch which is never a good thing. RMA time? I really can't live a week without a keyboard though...

18-10-2008, 01:51:51

jtara
Its a good kb really weel done the exterior but it has a lot of problems the key are mallfunctioning if its running more then a day the lights start to flicker after 3 4 days, only way to deal with that is to get of from usb ports. i am very disapointed

18-10-2008, 02:10:04

Lynx
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Nice looking keyboard and great review mate. I'm still yet to find a keyboard to replace my Eclipse.
I bloody could, my eclipse II has failed on me,

Too many bhop's down a long tbh

And teh R doesn't work sometime (vigorous in game reloading!)

18-10-2008, 02:27:03

jtara
Its a good kb really weel done the exterior but it has a lot of problems the key are mallfunctioning if its running more then a day the lights start to flicker after 3 4 days, only way to deal with that is to get of from usb ports. i am very disapointed

18-10-2008, 02:39:41

Maverick1dj
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='jtara'
Its a good kb really weel done the exterior but it has a lot of problems the key are mallfunctioning if its running more then a day the lights start to flicker after 3 4 days, only way to deal with that is to get of from usb ports. i am very disapointed
To be honest i don't get any of those issues, even with the keyboard on for days, all the keys work fine, i got mine from the US when they first came out too, had it ages now.

I would contact Razer if i was you, sounds like you have a defected Lycosa?

18-10-2008, 02:59:47

PV5150
Agreed, I don't get any of those issues either. Contact RAZER support about an RMA on your keyboard mate as it sounds like you've got a bad one.

25-02-2012, 07:05:47

crimson2404
Why was build quality among the good?

12-03-2012, 06:31:04

Nick D'trader
I have had the lycosa mirror version of this keyboard, And i have only been disappointed with this. My Touchpanel goes crazy sometimes and repeatedly opens windows media player. My keys stop functioning sometimes and i have to reboot to make it work. The arrow keys get stuck sometimes while gaming especially the left key and i have to restart pc to make it work.

Whats more I also sent it to get it replaced under warranty, but the company refused to replace it stating "It works fine in our test lab"

Overall have felt like razor has cheated me entirely and will never go for any "RAZOR" product.

I've now replaced it with the logitech G110 keyboard and hell this is a major difference than lycosa.

I can change my led colors, intensity, on/off it. 12 programmable G keys with on-fly macro recording.

A nice wheel to +/- volume, mute button. Media keys. provision for headphone/mic/USB port and to put cherry on top of cake, it has its own on-board soundcard inbuilt the keyboard.

I spend almost $20 less on the Logitech G110 compared to the disappointing Lycosa mirror keyboard.

14-03-2012, 15:56:20

911^NEmeSis
Sweet The Lycosa is one of the things that I had always wanted to get

I'll get it one day, when the prices drop a little further.

Is it only a few of em that have been having issues cause it seems to me, that 99% of the people are happy with it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.