RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard

Introduction

Introduction RAZER Lycosa logo

When it comes time to upgrade my peripherals, I must admit that I do my research and read a lot. And usually before I fork out some cold, hard folding stuff on a new item the old one has usually snuffed it or is on its last legs anyway. My reasoning behind this kind of purchasing behaviour is that I have something that serves me well; does everything that I need it to and the thought of having to swathe through countless reviews and retailer sites scares me. Or you could  call me lazy :D

I'm sure that many of you have probably been in the same scenario, and to be honest peripheral purchases can tend to be a bit of a hit and miss affair. In the absence of hard data and benchmarks that make PC hardware purchases considerably easier, the same cannot be said for peripherals.

My Logitech G15 rev. 1 keyboard is starting to look very long in the tooth, and the W,A,S and D keys have all bar worn off. But hey it still does everything that I need it to do. The thought of trying to find another  keyboard of the same calibre as the G15 conjures up images of painful experiences from the past. However, those images quickly faded away the day I was introduced to the RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard.

The RAZER Lycosa is a gaming orientated keyboard named after the European Wolf Spider (from the Latin - Lycosidae). Interestingly, Lycosidae have a very strong tendency to flee at the approach of any large animal - I hope this isn't indicative of what we can expect from the RAZER Lycosa :D. Jokes aside, the RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard is an impressive piece of kit and I'd like to start this review by taking a look at its specifications.

Specifications

The specifications for the RAZER Destructor were taken directly from the manufacturers product page
 
 
* Keytop with non-slip rubber finish
* Backlight illumination with WASD cluster lighting option
* Fully-programmable keys with macro capability
* Gaming cluster with anti-ghosting capability
* Slim keycap structure with Hyperesponse™ technology
* TouchPanel™ easy access media keys
* Gaming mode option for deactivation of the Windows key
* 10 customizable software profiles with on-the-fly switching
* 1000Hz Ultrapolling™ / 1ms response time
* Earphone-out and microphone-in jacks
* Detachable wrist rest
* One integrated USB extension port
* Approximate size:
469mm (length) x 168mm (width) x 15mm (height) – without wrist rest
469mm (length) x 221mm (width) x 15mm (height) – with wrist rest

System Requirements

Windows® XP / x64 / Vista / Vista64
PC with built-in USB ports
CD-ROM drive (for drivers)
At least 35MB of hard disk space (for drivers)
 
 
Features
 
The RAZER Lycosa has some attractive features, that include:
 
Lycosa_1Keytop with non-slip rubber finish
With its non-slip rubber finish, the Razer Lycosa offers optimum tactile comfort and makes slipping up in the heat of action a thing of the past
 
 
 
 
Lycosa_2Backlight Illumination with WASD cluster lighting option
Make darkness your ally. While your enemies fiddle in the shadows, command precision and take hold of their fate with backlight illumination on the Razer Lycosa. With the right keys lit up, you can always be sure of your next move.
 
 
 
Lycosa_3Fully-programmable keys with macro capability
Be one step ahead of the competition with fully-programmable keys with macro capability that enable instantaneous command executions.
 
 
 
 
Let's head over the page to take a look at how your RAZER Lycosa should arrive at your doorstep...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-09-2008, 08:55:52

PV5150

Arachnophobia (ə-răk'nə-fō'bē-ə, -nō-) - An abnormal fear of spiders.

Today we had a chance to take the RAZER Lycosa Gaming Keyboard out for a play and we think it has quite a bite. But don't take our word for it...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...154300661s.jpg

Read the review

05-09-2008, 09:00:05

JN
Nice looking keyboard and great review mate. I'm still yet to find a keyboard to replace my Eclipse.

05-09-2008, 09:08:30

PV5150
Thanks Jim. Yeah the Lycosa is certainly worth a look if you're wanting to replace your Saitek

06-09-2008, 03:31:13

Maverick1dj
I've owned the Lycosa for a few months now, it is a class keyboard, my only gripes are : -

1. The extra connectivity bits on the back for headphones/USB... etc was detachable from the main cable, i have no need for either, and just gets in the way.

2. There was a luminosity control for the back light as in strong daylight it gets quite dimmed.

Apart from that it's defo class, i have no qualms about purchasing it, even for the price.

06-09-2008, 05:29:14

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback Maverick1dj

06-09-2008, 05:55:55

Hassan
I definitly would not get that only for one reason, there are no programmable hot keys on it - or are there? (Didn't read the review properly)

I am a huge fan of Hotkeys.

06-09-2008, 09:16:15

PV5150
Well if you had read it properly you would have seen the programmable keys mentioned on page 1 of the review.

06-09-2008, 10:10:53

MikeEnIke
Looks like a pretty ace keyboard, too bad I'm far too cheap to buy any keyboard that doesn't cost me all of 10 bucks. Nice review mate

06-09-2008, 10:29:33

PV5150
Thanks Mike. Cheapskate

06-09-2008, 10:35:25

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Thanks Mike. Cheapskate
I prefer to call it Being-A-Student but the same point comes across lol

06-09-2008, 19:06:33

doug2507
Nice review. Just like the destructor mouse mat, a top bit of kit. I'd give it a 9/10 myself. defo recommend it.

07-09-2008, 05:58:38

PV5150
Thanks for the feedback mate.

07-09-2008, 07:04:59

radus
I've had the Lycosa for half a year now, and I would never dream of using another keyboard EVER! Yeah it got some few errors (as mentioned above), with the back lighting being to weak in daylight and the dust and fingerprint attraction, but no way is that able to compete with the sleek design, perfectly balanced and shaped keys, the rubbery grip, touch sensitive panel, hundreds of possible macros (if profiles included), expansion slots (USB, mic, headphones), size and... well you get the point Clearly the best keyboard I've ever had, and it just looks so cool in the dark It's worth every penny.

07-09-2008, 07:07:55

PV5150
Glad you like yours mate as it is a great keyboard

07-09-2008, 12:42:52

GavX
I have one of these, thought this is my second one, my complaints are that the razer drivers are poo, and my touch panel died sadly... however, this keyboard rocks. I am very glad I replaced my G15 with this, it is real easy to use, the keys feel nice and it looks the business. Tbh I dont even look at the keyboard now for typing so the dim lights is not a concern of mine It rawks

07-09-2008, 14:47:39

nepas
i do like the look of that keyboard,and think that the usb lead to power the onboard hub is a good idea(thats the one thing i dont like about my g15,there is nothing i can plug in to it without it exceeding the power requirements of the single usb)

07-09-2008, 19:47:15

ionicle
very nice looking keyboard

good review too

08-09-2008, 03:54:04

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='GavX'
I have one of these, thought this is my second one, my complaints are that the razer drivers are poo, and my touch panel died sadly... however, this keyboard rocks. I am very glad I replaced my G15 with this, it is real easy to use, the keys feel nice and it looks the business. Tbh I dont even look at the keyboard now for typing so the dim lights is not a concern of mine It rawks
Yeazh RAZER had some issues with the first batch but it's all been rectified now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nepas'
i do like the look of that keyboard,and think that the usb lead to power the onboard hub is a good idea(thats the one thing i dont like about my g15,there is nothing i can plug in to it without it exceeding the power requirements of the single usb)
I totally agree, that's what pee'd me off about my G15

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
very nice looking keyboard

good review too
Thanks mate I'm glad you liked it

30-09-2008, 18:24:24

GavX
annoyingly my media buttons are packing in again... just the media ones, not the lighting or even sound, just forwards, back, play and stop which is getting annoying, you have to apply alot of pressure, so that the plastic legs bent a touch which is never a good thing. RMA time? I really can't live a week without a keyboard though...

18-10-2008, 01:51:51

jtara
Its a good kb really weel done the exterior but it has a lot of problems the key are mallfunctioning if its running more then a day the lights start to flicker after 3 4 days, only way to deal with that is to get of from usb ports. i am very disapointed

18-10-2008, 02:10:04

Lynx
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Nice looking keyboard and great review mate. I'm still yet to find a keyboard to replace my Eclipse.
I bloody could, my eclipse II has failed on me,

Too many bhop's down a long tbh

And teh R doesn't work sometime (vigorous in game reloading!)

18-10-2008, 02:27:03

jtara
Its a good kb really weel done the exterior but it has a lot of problems the key are mallfunctioning if its running more then a day the lights start to flicker after 3 4 days, only way to deal with that is to get of from usb ports. i am very disapointed

18-10-2008, 02:39:41

Maverick1dj
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='jtara'
Its a good kb really weel done the exterior but it has a lot of problems the key are mallfunctioning if its running more then a day the lights start to flicker after 3 4 days, only way to deal with that is to get of from usb ports. i am very disapointed
To be honest i don't get any of those issues, even with the keyboard on for days, all the keys work fine, i got mine from the US when they first came out too, had it ages now.

I would contact Razer if i was you, sounds like you have a defected Lycosa?

18-10-2008, 02:59:47

PV5150
Agreed, I don't get any of those issues either. Contact RAZER support about an RMA on your keyboard mate as it sounds like you've got a bad one.

25-02-2012, 07:05:47

crimson2404
Why was build quality among the good?

12-03-2012, 06:31:04

Nick D'trader
I have had the lycosa mirror version of this keyboard, And i have only been disappointed with this. My Touchpanel goes crazy sometimes and repeatedly opens windows media player. My keys stop functioning sometimes and i have to reboot to make it work. The arrow keys get stuck sometimes while gaming especially the left key and i have to restart pc to make it work.

Whats more I also sent it to get it replaced under warranty, but the company refused to replace it stating "It works fine in our test lab"

Overall have felt like razor has cheated me entirely and will never go for any "RAZOR" product.

I've now replaced it with the logitech G110 keyboard and hell this is a major difference than lycosa.

I can change my led colors, intensity, on/off it. 12 programmable G keys with on-fly macro recording.

A nice wheel to +/- volume, mute button. Media keys. provision for headphone/mic/USB port and to put cherry on top of cake, it has its own on-board soundcard inbuilt the keyboard.

I spend almost $20 less on the Logitech G110 compared to the disappointing Lycosa mirror keyboard.

14-03-2012, 15:56:20

911^NEmeSis
Sweet The Lycosa is one of the things that I had always wanted to get

I'll get it one day, when the prices drop a little further.

Is it only a few of em that have been having issues cause it seems to me, that 99% of the people are happy with it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.