Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review

Synapse Software

Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review

Software

The Razer Synapse 2.0 software has quickly established itself as one of the best customisation packages around. Everything is easy to find, clearly labelled and, thanks to the cloud storage, available wherever you happen to be.

Initially the Deathstalker seems like so many other keyboards. Multiple profiles are available, and you can name them and provide a keyboard shortcut for them. The function key modifies the F-keys for media controls and adjustments to the brightness of the lighting. Scratch the surface and it's clear the Deathstalker has everything you could hope to find. As we said on the previous page, calling the lighting "tri-colour" is doing it a disservice. Not only can it be adjusted to one of forty preset colours, but you can also click custom and pick any colour you like, with surprisingly effective results.

As well as adjusting the backlighting with the F-keys you can change it in the Synapse software, and the brightness of the Switchblade UI can be adjusted too.

Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review     Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review  

The excellent gaming mode can be setup here, or on the Switchblade UI with one of the applications. You also have a lot of control over the performance of the trackpad and associated keys.

Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review     Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review  

Speaking of the trackpad you can change what it displays too. By default it's a soft Razer logo but can, as we'll soon show you, be set to display any image you like. The Synapse 2.0 software automatically squishes or stretches it to fit, but of course you're better off using an image in 16:9 to ensure it has a decent aspect ratio.

Reassigning keys, whether the macros, the 10 LCD display ones above the trackpad, or any key you fancy, is a simple procedure. Select the key you wish to change. Pick what you'd like it to do from the drop-down box and you're good to go.

Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review     Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review  

The ten dynamic keys can also include an icon of your choosing to help you remember what each does. The Synapse comes with a selection of ones for some specific programs but they're thankfully generic enough that you could use them for anything. If none of them suit your purpose then any square image can be displayed and we'll show you a couple on the next page.

Finally the macro editor is extremely robust, offering everything you could desire. If you want to create one on the fly then the Switchblade UI includes a macro editor application so you can create them without leaving your game. Unbelievably useful.

Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review     Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review  

We've kept you in suspense long enough, let's see exactly how the Deathstalker Ultimate looks in action.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-01-2013, 05:08:05

tinytomlogan
Today we look at probably the most feature-packed keyboard on earth, the Razer Deathstalker Ultimate.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105427639l.jpg


Continue Reading

23-01-2013, 05:25:33

Feronix
It sure does look nice and that little touch screen is a nice bonus but imo that doesn't justify the price of €230,- where most backlit mechanical keyboards cost between €80,- and €150,-

Nonetheless; Good review

23-01-2013, 05:41:21

SPS
I'd say the pricing isn't too bad.

I'm thinking that touch pad area might be handy for game development...

23-01-2013, 05:42:55

tinytomlogan
I saw this when it came in and its awesome.

Just needs some better apps added and its a winner. Id use it.....

23-01-2013, 06:08:49

MrKambo
now this is one amazing keyboard, but without actually using one dont think i could justify the 250 price tag, shame i dont have a store around me that might have this on display

23-01-2013, 06:24:09

s3ns3
the looks and the features are very nice but i can`t see myself playing on those laptop-like keys.so small

23-01-2013, 07:33:34

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKambo View Post
now this is one amazing keyboard, but without actually using one dont think i could justify the 250 price tag, shame i dont have a store around me that might have this on display
Ohhh... I could have sworn when I looked at the review it said 119.99.

250!! Fook that!

23-01-2013, 07:38:23

MrKambo
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Ohhh... I could have sworn when I looked at the review it said 119.99.

250!! Fook that!
i think the 119 is for the non screen/not so awesome edition, maybe VB could confirm

23-01-2013, 09:28:44

yassarikhan786
Certainly looks fantastic. I'm not a big fan of chicklet style keys and I'm not sure if the LCD screen and the 10 keys justify the 250 price tag.

23-01-2013, 14:01:37

Falcrist
Nice review, but I can't get into this product.
The keyboard looks AMAZING, but they've taken away a (somewhat) useful part of the keyboard (the numberpad) and added on something that is virtually useless.
I'm sorry, but I'd rather have nothing than have that touchpad, no matter how nice it looks. At least a tenkeyless keyboard has the advantage of giving your mouse an extra 5 inches of space to move around on.
Then again, it's really pretty.

23-01-2013, 14:43:09

VonBlade
Yeah the bog standard one is about 80. This price is for the all-singing one.

The numpad thing is actually a non-issue besides the alt codes. The app replicates one perfectly, and there is a side-mode that modifies it to just directions. You really don't notice that it's not a "real" one at all. I only notice because, as part of my regular writings here, I have to use the alt symbols a lot.

Trust me, the pad and apps are incredible. If you look at it as an extra 150 for a 4" touch screen, applications, 10 Optimus style keys, and all the fun of a Synaptics touchpad it becomes a LOT more palatable. Like so many of the high-end reviews here at OC3D, until you've used it you just see the huge price and think it can't offer enough over a more cost-effective option.

Sure it's expensive as you like, but how much of your life is spent using the keyboard? Using a cheap keyboard is like buying a 22" TN monitor to put your SLI 680s through. Put the money down on an awesome keyboard and mouse and your hands will thank you.

All of that and not once did I make a comparison between buying a Focus and a Bentley. Damn...

23-01-2013, 15:03:05

Feronix
^Not to be hating on your opinion but my hands won't thank me with that thing and neither will my wallet!
The wristrest is too small for my liking, the keys are too flat and it's not mechanical! D:

250-80 = 170 Quid! Just for that touch screen? No thanks, I'll use my phone
You can literally buy either 3 regular edition keyboards for that, or 3 Corsair K60s ... or 3 CM Storm Quickfires

23-01-2013, 15:22:56

SPS
I agree that the touchpad is pretty sweet - but until you've spent your hard earned cash on it, is it really worth it? Haha

23-01-2013, 16:30:06

Falcrist
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
The numpad thing is actually a non-issue besides the alt codes.
Personally, I use the numpad a ton for numeric input and calculations as well as the occasional alt-code. I'm not sure what you mean by "you don't notice".

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
Trust me, the pad and apps are incredible.
I didn't see anything here that couldn't be done on an android without having it attached to the keyboard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
Using a cheap keyboard is like buying a 22" TN monitor to put your SLI 680s through.
The problem is, this is kind of like a cheap keyboard with lots of bells and whistles.

That's where my gripe is. For all the flashy features, I don't see anything that I can't already do better with equipment I already have. If I wanted to drop 250 quid on a keyboard, I'd probably pick up a HHKB 2 Pro.

I do think it's a cool concept, though. This just makes way WAY more sense in the Razer Blade than it does on my desk.

28-01-2013, 06:28:24

Destro521
Ive got my Razer naga now i just need this beast
i was going to put some money down on the Standard deathstalker but now i have to rethink
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.