Razer Deathadder 1800dpi Gaming Mouse

The Mouse & Software

The Mouse

The Deathadder is very similar (if not the same) shape as the Microsoft Habu mouse (my current weapon of choice). However upon using the both of them, the Deathadder does seem to sit a touch lower whereas the Habu is more rounded. They both weigh about the same and employ Teflon feet in order to glide around the gaming surface.

Razer Deathadder and Habu Razer Deathadder Top

In comparison to the Copperhead sits a lot lower is isn't as bulky as the Deathadder, yet the Deathadder does feel the more nimble mouse, due to its lighter weight. Although it looks a bulky mouse, it feels quite the opposite. Many mice in the past have used weights in order to allow the gamer to create the feel they require, so some might see the Deathadder a step back, but believe me...it isn't!!

Razer Deathadder and Copperhead

Of all the mice I have tested, the Deathadder does feel the most comfortable to use. The materials used are of the highest quality and the grip especially is very good, especially if your hands get sweaty when playing in tense situations!

Razer mouse lineup

Although it’s purely aesthetic, I also prefer the design of the Deathadder’s buttons and back over the Habu. There is a seamless transition between the mouse body and buttons, whereas the Habu adopts a more traditional approach. It all adds to the sleek design and smooth feel of the mouse! Very impressive!


Software

If you have owned Razer mice before, then you will be familiar with their software.

There hasn’t been much change with the Deathadder software and it is still very user friendly as expected. Options include the amending of the overall sensitivity settings and more custom areas such as X and Y axis amendment, acceleration, windows mouse speed etc.

Razer Deathadder Software

One addition I did notice was the inclusion of the “Glow-Logo”, where the user can now turn this on or off via the options. A small factor, but a nice touch nonetheless.

As with previous Razer mice, there is 5 profile settings where the user can specify the DPI and Polling Rate used, linking this to their on-the-fly sensitivity settings.

Overall the software is easy to use and offers the user plenty of options in which to customise their mouse.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-05-2007, 07:30:46

JN
"Today we put Razer's latest mouse: the Deathadder in the hands of our very own professional gamer - Chris "Ins" Buer. How does it perform compared to some of Razer's previous mice? Read on to find out..."

Linky

11-05-2007, 07:42:02

Ham
Nice job there by Ins. Looks like a good mouse, i just hope the fact its lower don't irritate people who have big hands.

11-05-2007, 08:04:47

Phunky
Nice Review Chris, been after one of these for ages but im still too keen on my MS3.0

11-05-2007, 08:25:13

old.gregg
spot on review!

Been using a Deathadder for two weeks now, from using a Diamondback, was surprised that there was zero time required to adapt.

For me the Deathadder feels so much better than the Diamondback - and I thought the Diamondback was brilliant!

I've got fairly big hands and I would say that the DA suits me better than the DB.

11-05-2007, 09:15:22

[Ins]
Thanks guys!

Yes this mouse really did impress me. I always thought things couldn't get any better after the Copperhead because there is only so many DPI you can go to before it's hard to tell the difference.

However the Deathadder did feel a lot smoother overall. Plus the buttons have a nice "click" to them and the side buttons are easy to locate. Combine this with the fact that it sits perfectly in your hand (assuming you're right handed) and it's a very accomplished mouse!

11-05-2007, 09:25:50

equk
Nice review

I think I'll stick with my diamondback as I prefer ths shape compared to the deathadder.

No lanbag included lol

edit: I also think it depends on how you hold a mouse. Like do you have 1 finger over each button (all 3) or do you only have 2. Do you rest your hand/wrist on the mat and move the mouse mainly using your fingers, or do you have your hand off of the mat and totally elevated from causing any friction. etc etc

11-05-2007, 09:50:48

FleX.overclock3d
I own one of these and its slick

11-05-2007, 10:05:07

[Ins]
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
Nice review

I think I'll stick with my diamondback as I prefer ths shape compared to the deathadder.

No lanbag included lol

edit: I also think it depends on how you hold a mouse. Like do you have 1 finger over each button (all 3) or do you only have 2. Do you rest your hand/wrist on the mat and move the mouse mainly using your fingers, or do you have your hand off of the mat and totally elevated from causing any friction. etc etc
I hold my mouse with two fingers over the two main buttons and thumb resting down the side. When moving it, I use leave my fingers in position and move my wrist with my arm resting on the desk.

11-05-2007, 10:09:23

!TIMMY!
Good review Ins id get one if a. I had the money, and b. if i didnt have such an attachment to my Logitech MX518 :P

11-05-2007, 10:12:23

limqareb
its a good mouse but in ergonomics logitech are never beaten ,

i had an mx 510 and i just got and G5 and my god they are so comfortable , the razer mice kinda have the traditional shape but the death adder has changed and is kinda similar to logitech models

11-05-2007, 10:34:03

[Ins]
I use my old Logitech MX510 as my work mouse and yes I agree they are very comfortable. But this Razer mouse is even more comfortable!

The Copperhead and Diamondback weren't the most ergonomic mice, but that's because they are ambidextrous mice whereas the Deathadder is Right-handed only, which makes it the most comfortable mouse I've ever used

11-05-2007, 11:24:03

AydST
they sit there, staring at me when I pop down to the warehouse and I sit there looking at them cursing the fact I'm left handed....

Sweet review though and thanks for picking up on the fact us lefties will be knackered if trying to use one

11-05-2007, 11:43:42

deathwish
yea i have had one for a bit now its sutch a good mouse that i would consider buying another for my shelf

11-05-2007, 11:46:58

jiffz
I'd love to have a go at that mouse, as I've had my diamondback for some time and I agree that the side buttons are a bit of an afterthought. Nice review INSey

13-05-2007, 20:44:36

Hyper
Nice review Chris.

Looks like you have pursuaded me to buy one of these and see if I prefer it over my Logitech G5 which I have never been able to get along with tbh.

14-05-2007, 03:58:22

[Ins]
It's awesome mate! You won't be disappointed! The best gaming mouse I've ever used (and I've had a lot haha)

14-05-2007, 04:36:13

jiffz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
Looks like you have pursuaded me to buy one of these
I'm tempted but I gotta resist spending my money!!! If a green one comes out I may have to buy it

14-05-2007, 05:43:00

!TIMMY!
lol u and ur green

14-05-2007, 07:46:53

old.gregg
the blueness very well matches G15 keyboards.

I did have a red: case; keyboard and mouse - now it's just a red case - I've given up on PC "interior design".

Hey! Had a good idea for a TV programme rip off of changing rooms - "changing rigs" where 2 people go off and mod each others PC setup.

14-05-2007, 10:53:42

TJS
I use a Razer Diamondback for my main rig, its really good for gaming, the only thing is the way it curves down at the front buttons... not good for extended gaming, fingers get tired and cramped. I like the way my hand feels on Logitech mice, the more rounded from front to back feel, but overall my MX-518 is only okay and for backup, and my MX-1000 is at work (cordless isn't so good for gaming, a slight lag time and batteries run dry... so uncool). May go after the DeathAdder since it looks more rounded from front to back, and the higher front looks like a very good idea.

TJS

14-05-2007, 11:07:08

[Ins]
To sum it up, the Deathadder takes all of the great ergonomic qualities of mice such as the Logitech range and combines them with the smoothness and accuracy associated with previous Razer mice.

Add to that the smoothest, most crisp feeling response all covered in a lovely grippy "smooth to touch" rubber feel and you've got a winner!

I still can't get enough of it if I'm honest!

15-05-2007, 17:22:24

Hyper
Well Chris you just cost me 54 !!!

Just ordered the Razer Deathadder and a Razer ExactMat from SpecialTech.

Sold my Logitech G5 so I hope I get along with this mouse a little more.

15-05-2007, 17:35:44

deathwish
you will love it its a great mouse

15-05-2007, 17:54:53

[Ins]
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
Well Chris you just cost me 54 !!!

Just ordered the Razer Deathadder and a Razer ExactMat from SpecialTech.

Sold my Logitech G5 so I hope I get along with this mouse a little more.
Fantastic!!

Great combo and you'll love it!

16-05-2007, 00:04:51

TJS
I'll be grabbing the DeathAdder, but can't get rid of my 'Hooters' mouse pad... my wrist rests comfortably in the cleavage! (the mouse is happy, too )

http://upload.overclock3d.net/get.php?id=2746&view=1

TJS

16-05-2007, 04:04:22

[Ins]
Ummmm Hooters mouse mat review ftw? :rotfl:

22-05-2007, 18:11:15

Hyper
Received my DeathAdder a few days ago, fits in my hand alot better than the G5 and slides smoothly across this eXactMat.

I am now starting to get used to it and I am impressed, a huge improvement over my G5

22-05-2007, 18:44:50

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
Received my DeathAdder a few days ago, fits in my hand alot better than the G5 and slides smoothly across this eXactMat.

I am now starting to get used to it and I am impressed, a huge improvement over my G5
Nice I'm tempted now

22-05-2007, 18:47:32

[Ins]
Get one Jimbo

It's the best mouse I've ever used!!

22-05-2007, 18:55:20

FarFarAway
Me too lol

22-05-2007, 18:59:57

robump
Im still on the G5, caint complain i got given it, still good though.

Rob

22-05-2007, 20:09:33

TJS
Welllllll, it feels good in the hand and moves like butter (even on a mousepad that isn't super-smooth), BUT the old fault is apparent... can't use the thumb buttons in Halo! I've tried the newest drivers, all configurations, and still leaves me dry. This particularly sucks because I used to use the scroll wheel button for melee but wanted to switch to a thumb button... and now neither works. I know I'm using Vista and Razer may not have it down pat yet, but 4-5 months should be plenty of time to have this problem fixed.

EDIT: just uninstalled the drivers and now the buttons work. ...wth... but whos arguin', now I can lay the smackdown once more. ja rly ;}

TJS

23-05-2007, 04:06:06

[Ins]
You do know that you can assign a macro to the buttons don't you.

When I've had problems in the past with Razer drivers, I've just assigned used a bind to assign a key to the side button. For example if I was doing it in CS:S....

1. Assign "x" to mouse4 or mouse5 (can't remember what no. the side buttons are) in the Razer control panel.

2. In CS:S - Bind "x" "Mouse4" and hey presto, it works!

23-05-2007, 15:04:08

TJS
I did try the macro using the 'j' or 'u' buttons when the drivers were installed, but it was a no-go. I also assigned the 4 button (front of the two thumb buttons) as another 'advanced scrolling' button and that worked once, but upon restart didn't work again. But if it works with no drivers I guess thats a bonus. Will try the drivers again though since I want to be able to fine tune my meese's speed...

TJS
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.