PureTrak Mouse Pads

Introduction

PureTrak Mouse Pads


Introduction

Mouse pads are one of those strange products that most people look at and decide there is something far more important to spend their money on.

Maybe because you're an older gamer and remember the days when mouse pads came free with almost anything and usually were about the same quality as you'd expect from a childs DT project. They rarely had edging, usually were produced for about tuppence and were guaranteed to be curled and frayed at the edges within about a week. After all, it had a picture of a can of Coke, or an Amiga logo or, if you were really rebellious and daring, Linda Lusardi, so what did the quality matter.

As time moved on and mice went from the joy of a taking a ball out every two minutes, to the magic of optical, a mouse pad appeared an even sillier investment because you are getting a perfectly good response from the back of your book/sofa/dog so what possible difference could an expensive surface with a logo on it make?

We here at OC3D never understand this mentality. After all, if you're willing to spend 30 or 40 of the Queens finest on an all-singing mouse, why put it on the back of an envelope? You wouldn't put your latest i7 rig in a biscuit tin would you.

Todays reviews

PureTrak agree with us and have given two of their mouse pads to review that cover fans of both the soft and hard surfaces, whilst being priced in such a manner that you really can dip your toe in the waters of mouse paddery without feeling that it's the kind of purchase that could leave you sleeping on the sofa.

Founded in 2007 PureTrak mantra is to produce robust, high performance mouse pads that will withstand years of wear and tear without wearing or tearing and unlike some competing products, don't require you to sell a kidney to own it. The most interesting thing about them is that they make mouse pads. That's it. They don't make mice or headsets or inflatable chickens. PureTrak do precision mouse pads, and that's it.

So let's start with the PureTrak Deluxe.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-01-2010, 02:13:31

tinytomlogan
Its been a popular topic at OC3D lately so we take a look at more top quality mouse pads, this time from Pure Trak.

Continue Reading

11-01-2010, 04:45:19

splinter
will try them out , but they should do some changes to the design imo

11-01-2010, 05:25:39

Mul.
Can't say I'm a fan of the Deluxe's colour scheme but they both look like very capable mouse pads. Nice work VB

11-01-2010, 09:13:56

tinytomlogan
Ive actualy got the Talent here, and its probs the nicest mouse mat Ive ever used, its not leavign my desk now.

11-01-2010, 09:41:04

Dublin_Gunner
A lot of people underestimate the power of a decent surface. They both look like capable mats - I like the looks o the Talent, and I'm a fan of cloth mats anyway

11-01-2010, 10:45:35

Youngie1337
Perhaps you should take a look at Qpad and the steelseries. This is where this mouse mat will fall in quality and use.

11-01-2010, 10:54:29

splinter
i`ve used Razer Goliathus , QPAD UC , steelseries QCK , cant rly find a difference between them , and im rly curious what Puretrak is offering now

11-01-2010, 11:01:17

ToeJam
think they look damn right disgusting:P, QPAD and steelpad still dominate it all for me

11-01-2010, 11:06:26

splinter
the new Razer Goliathus Fragged edition looks awesome, razer are amazing when it comes to design

11-01-2010, 12:30:01

tinytomlogan
This is so soft but still fast, feels sooo nice when you use your rig alot like I do. Ive had a fair few mats through here lately and Im keeping this one

11-01-2010, 13:06:02

splinter
lol... thats *edit* but will definetely try it out, if its soft and fast in the same time like Tom says is a huge plus for 7-8 hours of non stop playing

11-01-2010, 13:42:54

Youngie1337



lol... thats *EDIT* but will definetely try it out, if its soft and fast in the same time like Tom says is a huge plus for 7-8 hours of non stop playing



What's with the video? That's fake, why would any mouse mat do that flicking action? What mouse is he using a ball mouse >.<. Not shiny.

11-01-2010, 13:50:46

splinter
ye it is done on purpose for a commercial reason or something i guess....

12-01-2010, 02:43:04

tinytomlogan
The owner of Pure Trak saw the comments here about the design and asked me to post this comment:

"I took a quick look at the comments from your users and a lot seem to be set on how the design of the pad(s) look. To clarify, the designs of our surfaces are for 100% functionality and not for over the top, fancy designs. During our almost 2 year research, design, and development phase... we've found that our simplistic pattern design offers the best tracking and least amount of issues when it comes to the movement of any mouse (optical or laser). Paired with either our microreflective or cloth weave surface, we've eliminated any and all movement flaws otherwise created by other surfaces. Most of the time, caused by the "cool", over complex images they feature."



Now I can see how the designs could be a marmite topic, but i really can not stress enough how much I like the Talent pad, Ive had all the coolermaster pads here, razer exact mats, and the Zowie mats, but for me personally the fact this mats fabric feels so soft, yet still runs so smooth and fast.

There is a massive choice with some great mats out there to be had, but for 10 - 20 surely its worth trying something new for a change

12-01-2010, 05:52:37

kingnova
Trouble is tbh most people buy with their eye if they don't like the look of a product regardless of how good it is they will move on to the next

12-01-2010, 07:07:31

Youngie1337
I do not buy with my eye but in my opinion I will go purchase a mouse mat from a company that I've purchased before. Not saying I wouldn't give it a go, but nowadays my standards are so high, I wouldn't want to base my facts on experience with top dog companies. I'm currently using Sharkoon 1337 Cloth Mat, which is a cheap cloth mat and it's impressive (most likely the best mouse pad I've ever used), so this could shock a few people I guess.

12-01-2010, 07:25:55

VonBlade
Hmmm. Strange. The Deluxe is a bit love it or hate it, whereas the Talent isn't offensive to the eye at all.

And both are so well suited to their purposes that the look shouldn't even come into the equation, as hopefully our score indicated.

13-01-2010, 05:24:52

Bungral
I hadn't used anything from Razer before, but I do use the Destructor pad... It's hard and very flat but tracks amazingly with perfect control. That said, it bloody should for how much it cost.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.