PCXmods Mouse Grips v2.0

Introduction

Introduction

How many times have you found yourself losing your grip when gaming? Late night sessions with mates; greasy corn chips; pizza and soft drink; sweaty hands - it's a recipe for disaster. Thankfully there is a solution and it comes in the form of stick on pads that provide additional traction between your hand and the surface of your mouse. This is especially important if you happen to own a gaming mouse that lacks grip for your fingers like the Logitech G7 laser mouse for example.

Packaging front

Following the conclusion of my recent XtracPads Ripper XL v2 mouse mat , I was asked if I would be interested in reviewing some of their Mouse Grips. Of course I jumped at the offer and subsequently these will be the subject of todays review. Let's see what Mouse Grips have to say about their product:

All NEW version 2.0
Featuring egrips® Technology


Get an edge over your opponents by keeping your grip sure and steady.
Made from a very special blend of a texturized rubber, MouseGrips are an excellent companion to any computer gamer or power user. Get your game on without loosing control with MouseGrips

So what exactly are Mouse Grips? Essentially Mouse Grips are small shapes of high-traction rubber with a sticky backing that can easily be applied to your gaming mouse, games controllers or even mobile phones. The only real limit to the application is your imagination. Again, let's see what Mouse Grips have to say about their product:

Precision cut shapes to fit most any mouse or trackball. Sporting a very thin profile, Mouse Grips v2.0 are designed to enhance your gameplay and computer usage by providing comfort and super grip. Installation couldn't be easier! Simply peel them off and place them on your mouse wherever they feel the most comfortable to you.

Mouse Grips also have a rather amusing commercial on their website that really sums everything up. You can view it here (Flash Player required)

Anyway, let's get on with the review...

Specification

* Designed for use on Logitech, Razer, Microsoft, Dell, Kensington, Creative and many more computer mice and trackball pointing devices.

Packaging and Contents

The Mouse Grips packaging is fairly simple, but quite eye-catching. Featuring a predominantly red and black theme with a mouse on the front cover that spruiks the fact that Mouse Grips can also be used on trackball devices, joysticks and game pads.

Mouse Grips front cover

Packaging rear

On the rear of the packaging it provides a simple illustration of how to clean and install Mouse Grips on your mouse as well as a basic run-down on how they can improve mouse control.

For those interested, Mouse Grips have a FAQ section on their website which provides significantly more information that simply couldn't be included on the packaging. Feel free to read their FAQ section here

Opening up the packaging I was greeted by a small sheet of paper housing the Mouse Grips and an included cleaning sachet. (For those of you in the know, check out the re-order code in the top right corner :))

Package contents

Currently, the Mouse Grips v2 are only shipping in this colour - Graphite. But according to the manufacturer if the demand for additional colours grows, then they will look at introducing additional colours. Personally I like the graphite theme as it goes well with my Logitech G7.

Mouse Grips alternate view

The Mouse Grips are incredbly thin...in the vicinity of approximately 1mm in thickness for those who use the metric system. You can see just how thin from the image below.

Mouse Grips width

Let's head over the page and see how easy the Mouse Pads are to apply...
«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-08-2007, 10:38:25

PV5150
Late night gaming sessions with your mates; greasy corn chips; pizza and soft drink; sweaty hands - it's a recipe for disaster. We give PCXmods' Mouse Grips v2.0 a run in the OC3D Labs...but will they deliver?

Linky

24-08-2007, 10:44:52

!TIMMY!
lol they look decent, although there not avaible outside the USA yet

24-08-2007, 10:52:10

PV5150
Yes they are decent actually and no they aren't available outside the US as far as I know. Perhaps ST or Tekheads could get some in

24-08-2007, 10:53:24

!TIMMY!
@ $13 id buy some if ST or Tekheads got some in.

24-08-2007, 10:58:11

Mr. Smith
When I saw the pic of the hand holding the mouse with those long nails, I thought 'Peevs better play guitar or we have some issues here' lol. Take it those are your wifes lovely nails

To the review - grats on making a potentially boring product interesting.

I had this problem whilst at Toshiba, your opening statement was pretty much spot on - it got pretty hot in there after having hardware crunching, crisps and cans of coke, small mice, big hands... Could have done with these!

If they make it to the uk for 7 I think I might too

24-08-2007, 11:07:36

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
When I saw the pic of the hand holding the mouse with those long nails, I thought 'Peevs better play guitar or we have some issues here' lol. Take it those are your wifes lovely nails

To the review - grats on making a potentially boring product interesting.

I had this problem whilst at Toshiba, your opening statement was pretty much spot on - it got pretty hot in there after having hardware crunching, crisps and cans of coke, small mice, big hands... Could have done with these!

If they make it to the uk for 7 I think I might too
ROFLMAO yes mate they are my missus's nails as it was just too hard to get a decent pic otherwise. Thanks for the review feedback too, and I'm glad that you found it interesting considering it was something so simple. If you manage to get some I'm positive that you'll find them just as useful as I have.

Thanks guys

24-08-2007, 11:56:02

Rastalovich
Have to be fair, I mirror what u say at the start of u`r conclusion. U`r thinking gimmick.

Then u see the comments, and then the price... u can`t argue with either really.

It`s not that common to have a `grip` feel to a mouse - hey I use trackballs on everything, so meh - but I have experience a stretched-over type grip effect that was bought for some1 that apparently had "needs", HR gone mad. It does give u a different overall feeling of control.

If this makes the UK for under 10, it will sell well. But I don`t think the hopefull $13 or so price will equate quite to 7.

My question for the tester would be how the stuff holds up after a long while ? Do the pads peel or become annoyingly unsticky ?

Great product for the market imo, needs some marketing.

24-08-2007, 11:58:49

equk
lol

sorry to say, but more gimmicky gamer stuff

I guess it's not too expensive tho

24-08-2007, 12:05:11

JN
Compared to things like 10,000dpi mice and 80 'gamer' keyboards I certainly think these grips are less of a gimmick. Personally my hand has never slipped off a mouse during gaming, but then I don't really have sweaty hands (or eat during games).

24-08-2007, 12:11:01

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Compared to things like 10,000dpi mice and 80 'gamer' keyboards I certainly think these grips are less of a gimmick. Personally my hand has never slipped off a mouse during gaming, but then I don't really have sweaty hands (or eat during games).
The price makes them less gimmicky?

I think if you have a mouse which has a rubber grip (my last 5 mice have, even my boomslang1000 - 1999) you don't need this sort of thing.

It is aimed at 'gamers' and most gamer mice are rubberised, so not sure who would buy it

Also I agree, I've never eaten while playing a match.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
We give PCXmods' Mouse Grips v2.0 a run in the OC3D Labs...but will they deliver?
OC3D have labs? 2+people gave them a test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
How many times have you found yourself losing your grip when gaming? Late night sessions with mates; greasy corn chips; pizza and soft drink; sweaty hands - it's a recipe for disaster.
Never

24-08-2007, 12:28:28

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
Also I agree, I've never eaten while playing a match.
I did mention sweaty hands too or don't you sweat either? I don't eat food when gaming, but I have friends who do and I never said a match in the review. As for the food context I was merely trying to set a scene and I'm sorry if you cannot relate to it in the slightest.

I think if you have a mouse which has a rubber grip (my last 5 mice have, even my boomslang1000 - 1999) you don't need this sort of thing.

It is aimed at 'gamers' and most gamer mice are rubberised, so not sure who would buy it



Agreed you wouldn't buy it if you were happy with the surface of your mouse. Is my G7 not considered a gaming mouse then simply because it doesn't have rubber grips?

Sigh

24-08-2007, 12:38:39

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
I did mention sweaty hands too or don't you sweat either? I don't eat food when gaming, but I have friends who do and I never said a match in the review. As for the food context I was merely trying to set a scene and I'm sorry if you cannot relate to it in the slightest.
I am like XMS I guess, I don't really get sweaty hands.

I wash my hands after eating and sometimes before a match.

Haven't had a problem in all the time of gaming on a pc, even at LANs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Agreed you wouldn't it if you were happy with the surface of your mouse. Is my G7 not considered a gaming mouse then simply because it doesn't have rubber grips?

Sigh
get a good mouse that you're happy with first then

Also I didn't say "ALL GAMING MICE HAVE RUBBER GRIPS"

Not sure how you'd lose grip on a mouse, altho I guess it depends on how you hold it.

You have your hand (quite a weight) on top of the mouse, already giving it some traction & you grip the sides (which on a lot of mice are rubberised)

That's why I said they are gimmicky.

There just seems to be so many factors in the way a mouse is designed ergonomically and the materials used which really show these aren't needed.

24-08-2007, 13:22:03

jiffz
Nice little review there PV. The pictures look pr0 too

I would imagine some people have problems with gripping the mouse or with sweat probs etc and this product would appeal to them. But, for others they wouldn't see the point, such as EQ who seems to want to voice that opninion strongly

24-08-2007, 13:27:12

PV5150
Thanks jiffz, and agreed

24-08-2007, 14:34:59

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='jiffz'
Nice little review there PV. The pictures look pr0 too

I would imagine some people have problems with gripping the mouse or with sweat probs etc and this product would appeal to them. But, for others they wouldn't see the point, such as EQ who seems to want to voice that opninion strongly
I was just replying to what was implied, adding more info to justify what I said (as people seemed happy to question what I had said or rather what I hadn't said)

25-08-2007, 03:55:54

PV5150
Just for the record I never had a problem with what you said, it just seemed that you were making an issue of something not really worth the effort imo. My aim was to make a semi-jovial, but informative review out of something that in its very essence may not be of interest to quite a few people here at oc3d. Ultimately it comes down to the fact of whether the review was/wasn't informative in assisting someone to make a purchasing decision.

If you feel that you don't need them after the review then that's your call, and as far as I'm concerned I have done my job. Other than that thank you for your constructive criticism/opinion.

25-08-2007, 04:09:26

Toxteth O'Grady
LOL - can't believe you guys are having an argument about some sticky bits of rubber!!

Excuse the pun but..............get a grip.

Nicely written review though Peeves.



TOG

25-08-2007, 04:24:01

PV5150
LOL my thoughts exactly Thanks for the feedback TOG

25-08-2007, 07:11:28

equk
I'm sorry that you took it personally or whatever.

All I said really was what XMS and rasto said, that they are gimmicky.

The thing I had a problem with was that you seemed to make a big thing out of what I had said (you said nothing to the others) and also that you seemed to attack me for something I didn't even say

Also bringing up stuff like "I didn't say match", is a match not playing a game?

I only really used 'match' as an example as that is when it matters the most if you are a competitive gamer

But I only really added information and didn't flame or attack you individually.

Giving feedback on the product (like saying it is gimmicky and possibly un-needed) shouldn't cause offense to anyone. Especially the reviewer.

25-08-2007, 07:15:01

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Just for the record I never had a problem with what you said, it just seemed that you were making an issue of something
discussing an article/product in a discussion forum is making an issue

25-08-2007, 10:16:38

MikeEnIke
Ok, I think the argument can be settled on that. Peeves, good review mate, they may be rather unimportant but tbh, you did your job, and wrote the review how it should have been, the product performed how it was told to perform.

Nice review PVs

25-08-2007, 10:53:52

Dav0s
Nice review Peevles, the only reservation I have is that it wont fit some peoples mice properly. But as you said they are "cuttable" (for want of a better word).

It's nice to see an original gaming accessory.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.