OCZ Elixir II Gaming Keyboard

Introduction

Introduction

Keyboards are an item which a lot people will probably replaced fairly often. Not only do they wear out after a while, but they also come free with any new computer. So, like me, you probably have an abundance of them stashed away in a cupboard for that occasion when yours simply refuses to work.

Today we will be looking at OCZ's latest offering- The Elixir II. This gaming keyboard is designed with compactness in mind, aimed at those gamers with limited desktop space. Here are the full specifications taken from OCZ's site:

Slim Design
Lightweight 1.35 lbs.
Connection: USB 2.0
Rubberized Coating SoftTouch Keys
Internet and Email Hotkeys
System Power-down button
Lifespan: 5 million cycles
Instantly Plug-and-Play, no drivers needed!
One-year warranty

Another piece of info that is omitted from the specification is how thin the keyboard is: around 15mm. This makes it sit very low to the desk, how that will effect comfort though, we're not sure. Other than omission the specifications look quite impressive; It doesn't weigh much and has the usual selection of hotkeys and USB 2.0.

The Keyboard

OCZ Elixir II Packaging OCZ Elixir II Packaging

The keyboard arrived in a corregated cardboard box. This not only encloses the keyboard but also gives it a bit a padding. On the front of the box is a picture of the keyboard, company name and a bit about the keyboard. Round the back we have a few diagrams of the keyboard as well as multi-lingual information.

OCZ Elixir II out of packaging OCZ Elixir II Un-wrapped

Unfortunately the box contains nothing more than the keyboard, but at least this means no unnecessary additions to the cost. The keyboard and cable come wrapped in a clear plastic wrap, stopping them from getting marked or damaged during transit.
 
OCZ Elixir II keys OCZ Elixir II Keys

The keys of the Elixir II are rubberised around the rim (grey area) whilst the keys themselves are plastic. It follows a fairly standard QWERTY layout, and has a numpad over on the right hand side. Above the numpad are the lights for Num Lock/ Scroll lock/ Caps Lock. So far so good.
 
OCZ Elixir II Keys

The only noticable difference from the standard layout is the #~ key. OCZ have chosen to put this above the enter key, and make the enter key smaller. This seems a little odd, and will probably annoy experienced touch typists.
 
OCZ Elixir II feet OCZ Elixir II feet

On the bottom of the keyboard we have the two feet. These are fairly wide, providing plenty of stability and holding the keyboard nice and securely to the desk. They fold flat to the keyboard when not in use.


«Prev 1 2 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-01-2009, 08:27:45

Luigi
"Super slim for gamers in a tight space. But is it any good? We find out..."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...184714311s.jpg

Read on to find out our thoughts on the Elixir II here.

31-01-2009, 08:29:03

°TheMadDutchDude°
Is it me or is the link dead?

31-01-2009, 08:32:32

AntiHeroUK
It's not you mate I had completely forgotten that this keyboard existed..

31-01-2009, 08:35:10

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='°TheMadDutchDude°'
Is it me or is the link dead?
I was just living the review... had a little hick-up

31-01-2009, 08:42:11

AntiHeroUK
Wasn't a keyboard I would have considered. This review makes that even more so I suppose at the price it goes for it's not the worst keyboard, but the more expensive G11/G15/Saitek Eclipse etc are much better and worth the extra cost in my eyes.

31-01-2009, 09:09:13

BloomerzUK
It's cheap though. Looks okay, but as you said.. that '#' thing would do my head in.

31-01-2009, 09:31:41

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AntiHeroUK'
Wasn't a keyboard I would have considered. This review makes that even more so I suppose at the price it goes for it's not the worst keyboard, but the more expensive G11/G15/Saitek Eclipse etc are much better and worth the extra cost in my eyes.
Totally agree with you.. I really didnt like typing on it at all

I think the original Elixir was much better, and G15 is still the king in my eyes.

31-01-2009, 09:44:53

soapsupah
i wouldn't go for it, and after the review i really wont go for it

i just need 3 things on a keyboard, anti ghosting / lights (yes my room is pretty dark all day ) and confortable typping.

31-01-2009, 13:38:32

themcman1
I need a small new keyboard - I have the G11 upstairs on a bigger desk but my new computer which will be staying downstairs on a small desk is using a little beige thing from ages ago.

As for that keyboard - it looks just about as bad as typing on a laptop.

31-01-2009, 13:40:03

HypoglossalXII
If you had to choose between the G15 and the Razer Tarantula, which would you choose and why?

-HypoG

31-01-2009, 13:44:03

themcman1
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='HypoglossalXII'
If you had to choose between the G15 and the Razer Tarantula, which would you choose and why?

-HypoG
I would go for the G15 because I have had a good experience with Logitech products in the past, although Logitech are doing a G19 fairly soon which looks just like a G11 with a huge screen on.

Link to G19 preview

31-01-2009, 14:01:01

AntiHeroUK
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='HypoglossalXII'
If you had to choose between the G15 and the Razer Tarantula, which would you choose and why?

-HypoG
G15, reason being I own one already and know how good it is.

31-01-2009, 14:34:12

HypoglossalXII
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AntiHeroUK'
G15, reason being I own one already and know how good it is.
Haha, Good Man.

Anyways I am considering investing in a gaming keyboard and am torn between the two, so I was wondering of listening to some selling points on the g15 over the razer. I can be called a razer fanatic, considering all the razer swag I own, but i'm a very practical man

Mind selling some points on your keyboard?

-HypoG

31-01-2009, 14:58:00

soapsupah
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='HypoglossalXII'
Haha, Good Man.

Anyways I am considering investing in a gaming keyboard and am torn between the two, so I was wondering of listening to some selling points on the g15 over the razer. I can be called a razer fanatic, considering all the razer swag I own, but i'm a very practical man

Mind selling some points on your keyboard?

-HypoG
from the reviews i saw in other sites (and theres alot you should google them )

razer tarantula

pros - fully programable (all keys); great antighosting; the keys feels good; you can save up to 5 profiles of key configurations;

cons - no lights; programming keys costs time and isnt a "welcoming" program

logitech G15 - revised version

pros - great antighosting; has lights (and they are easy to see at night); Stationary LCD Monitor (its not that mobile thing that sucked); its smaller than its older version; has 6 macros keys (that's could be con aswell since the old had 18, but its up to you)

cons - Stationary LCD Monitor (like the macro keys thing this could be a con depending of the person); only 6 macros (like i said)

also i never touched a tarantula mate, but i played like crazy on logitechs and all i can say is that i hate my microsoft keyb and i would trade it for a g15 anytime.

31-01-2009, 15:03:06

HypoglossalXII
1) The tarantula has lights, or at least backlights. Additionally, you may purchase the battle light add-on.

2) LCD Monitor, Honestly, how do you find this useful? Whilst fragging, I doubt I'll have time to look at the LCD screen. However if it can be programmed to show CPU/GPU Temp whilst gaming that would be a welcome addition.

As for online reviews, they give both these keyboards awesome points, and that's where the problem lies, you're gonna need opinion from the average user. Something reviews can't offer.

Maybe if there was a Tarantula vs G15 article somewhere :>

-HypoG

31-01-2009, 15:12:05

soapsupah
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='HypoglossalXII'
1) The tarantula has lights, or at least backlights. Additionally, you may purchase the battle light add-on.

2) LCD Monitor, Honestly, how do you find this useful? Whilst fragging, I doubt I'll have time to look at the LCD screen. However if it can be programmed to show CPU/GPU Temp whilst gaming that would be a welcome addition.

As for online reviews, they give both these keyboards awesome points, and that's where the problem lies, you're gonna need opinion from the average user. Something reviews can't offer.

Maybe if there was a Tarantula vs G15 article somewhere :>

-HypoG
hmm if you like the Razer BattleLight that docks in the tarantula for me that isnt a light but anyways its up to you.

also like i said before the tarantula has a confortable typping.

but for the G15 i dont like that thing lcd thing aswell but anyways you can see the hours (lol), so isnt so bad anyways.

edit.

also the G15 at night has nice lights like i said

31-01-2009, 15:27:11

HypoglossalXII
Sorry I am mistaken, the black light is not present on Tarantula, but are on the Lycosa!

31-01-2009, 15:29:46

soapsupah
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='HypoglossalXII'
Sorry I am mistaken, the black light is not present on Tarantula, but are on the Lycosa!
quoting you again mate, i love the lycosa! sadly here its price is the same of the G15 and it dont have a advanced antighosting (hard to explain in a better way) thats the only keyboard with laptop keys that i liked in my life hehe

31-01-2009, 17:00:52

premiumgfx
I like they Lycosa too, but it costs alot. I think the original Elixir is better than the Elixir II. Anyone seen the normal Elixir?

31-01-2009, 17:06:44

soapsupah
yeah i know the original, first time i saw that i thougth was a bad keyb, but it was alot confortable, also my cousin has one, i just dont like its colors make it look cheap when you see in person

31-01-2009, 18:00:36

AntiHeroUK
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='HypoglossalXII'

2) LCD Monitor, Honestly, how do you find this useful? Whilst fragging, I doubt I'll have time to look at the LCD screen. However if it can be programmed to show CPU/GPU Temp whilst gaming that would be a welcome addition.
I actually find the LCD is really useful. I mainly use it for Ventrilo when I am gaming to keep track of who is currently talking/joined the server. I can monitor my FPS in games using Fraps, monitor temperatures (Everest, CoreTemp etc.) for both CPU and GPU and so many other useful programs can display information on your system.

Here's some links that will give you an idea of what can be done with keyboard.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Logitech_G15

http://www.overclock.net/computer-peripherals/177949-g15-lcd-program-archive.html

http://www.g15mods.com/

http://www.g15forums.com/

http://www.smashd.de/content/view/111/115/

Hopefully this will make your decision a little easier mate

Back on topic. Elixir II is fail

01-02-2009, 05:28:10

w3bbo
Nobody considered the Microsoft (Razor) Reclusa?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.