OCZ Elixir Gaming Keyboard

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
So coming to the end of my time with the Elixir, it's time to look back over the last four pages and try and sum it up in a few paragraphs. From the start, it lays itself down as a pretty raw affair. No fancy LED screens or back lights here. But then you have to bear in mind that it's a keyboard. Do you really need it to sing, dance and bring you your slippers in the morning?
 
The extra features it presents us with are useful and don't feel unnecessary or too gimmicky. Sure, the media and browsing buttons can be done with global hot keys, but with the Elixir you simply don't have to spend the time setting them up. Typing on the keyboard was comfortable even for elongated periods of time, and it was responsive and accurate in games. The only real glitch we encountered was they keyboard not registering the CTRL+Space keys when pressed simultaneously.
 
Due to there being no UK layout available, no British store has the Elixir in stock currently. But looking over stateside, I came across the same board as the review sample at Newegg for a very reasonable price of $29.99. Translating over to circa £17, the board could be a budget gamer's dream, or for those among us who can't bear the thought of spending £50 on a keyboard, but still want a good looking, practical keyboard.
 
 
The Good
• Comfortable
• Responsive
• Functional
• Cheap!
 
The Medicore
• Hitting Ctrl+Space simultaneously didn't work on our keyboard.
 
The Bad
• UK Layout not yet released.
 
 
 
 
Thanks to OCZ for providing the Elixir for review.
 
Discuss in the forum.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-10-2008, 18:32:14

Ham
OCZ have been pumping out new peripherals like there's no tomorrow. Take a look too see how the Elixir keyboard stacks up.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141143297s.jpg

Review

11-10-2008, 18:37:40

!TIMMY!
Nice review Ham OCZ are really throwing everything out there!

11-10-2008, 18:52:02

Hassan
The keyboard looks aesthetically cheap.

11-10-2008, 19:11:43

ionicle
good review, but the lack of an english version, i would have put down as a major fail, and wouldnt have given it the score you did, fair enough, americans have a nice keyboard, but, if i remember right, this site is a predominantly english one, so why has it not been marked down more significantly for the company not actually having been bothered to release a english version

*OCZ now in dislike books*

11-10-2008, 20:09:38

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
The keyboard looks aesthetically cheap.
agreed

12-10-2008, 05:12:25

mrapoc
looks fugly

*goes and admires the new logitech gaming kb*

12-10-2008, 16:37:14

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
good review, but the lack of an english version, i would have put down as a major fail, and wouldnt have given it the score you did, fair enough, americans have a nice keyboard, but, if i remember right, this site is a predominantly english one, so why has it not been marked down more significantly for the company not actually having been bothered to release a english version

*OCZ now in dislike books*
I think that's a bit of an unfair slant on things. Its like a movie critic giving a film a low score just because it's not available on a region 2 dvd yet.

As for the look of the keyboard, I think I would have preferred it without the shiny black - but it does remind me of the old IBM keyboards and thus score points imo just for that

http://www.greatprices.in/images/mic...5thinkplus.gif

13-10-2008, 13:32:55

Bungral
Nice review mate... Board not for me but still (Y)

One thing on the 2nd para, last page "The only real glitch we encountered was they yeboard not registering the CTRL+Space keys when pressed simultaneously."

16-06-2009, 15:29:14

madelyn
Hi everybody who have elixir.

I would like to know if CTRL+Space work in this board.

This test say not, but techgage's test didn't say that CTRL+SPACE didn't work.

Please tell me if CTRL+SPACE work in this board.

Thanks

17-06-2009, 11:15:17

Lynx
Hmm badly designed gaming keyboard, absoloutly crap for css with no ctrl jump..
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.