OCZ Elixir Gaming Keyboard

Features and Software

 Features
 
There are a fair few fancy tricks that the Elixir presents us with to set it apart form the average joe of keyboards. The most prominent is its bright blue function buttons. The board boasts 10 of these total, placed strategically down the left and right sides of the main key set. These are then referred to (quite logically) as L1-5 and R1-5.
 
LR Buttons 
 
Next up are the media buttons, placed parallel to the function keys along the glossy edges of the board. These provide the user with the usual start, pause, stop, skip, volume etc. that you would expect. Obviously the appeal is going out to gamers who like to listen to music while they play here.
 
Music Keys
 
The last of the features listed was the '100% rubber coated' buttons. This was a little concerning, as you are more than likely aware that rubber wears down. After a fair bit of use, we could see letters fading away. Of course OCZ have provided spares of the WASD keys, and who needs more than them really!
 
 
Software
 
The software installation was a very standard affair. Pop in the disk, click yes and OK until it prompted a restart, job done. Upon starting again, the Alchemy logo makes an appearance in the task bar and from there you can double click on it and bring up the main control dialogue box.
 
Software1 
 
From here, you can set the binds and macros assigned to the L and R function keys. Programming the macros is incredibly easy as you can see: simply click in the 'New Macro' box and type in the key sequence you want. It also allows you to chose various options, including how many times you want the macro to be performed on a single keystroke and the delay between the keystrokes.
 
Software2
 
 
Lastly we see the Mode assignment, allowing the user to customise three separate profiles for different binds.
 
Software3
 
The software boils down to be very user-friendly. You don't need a masters in programming to assign effective macros and it even gives you the ability to change what happens when you press other keys on the board besides the L & R buttons.
 
With the board installed and software installed, it's time to move on the the testing...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-10-2008, 18:32:14

Ham
OCZ have been pumping out new peripherals like there's no tomorrow. Take a look too see how the Elixir keyboard stacks up.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141143297s.jpg

Review

11-10-2008, 18:37:40

!TIMMY!
Nice review Ham OCZ are really throwing everything out there!

11-10-2008, 18:52:02

Hassan
The keyboard looks aesthetically cheap.

11-10-2008, 19:11:43

ionicle
good review, but the lack of an english version, i would have put down as a major fail, and wouldnt have given it the score you did, fair enough, americans have a nice keyboard, but, if i remember right, this site is a predominantly english one, so why has it not been marked down more significantly for the company not actually having been bothered to release a english version

*OCZ now in dislike books*

11-10-2008, 20:09:38

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
The keyboard looks aesthetically cheap.
agreed

12-10-2008, 05:12:25

mrapoc
looks fugly

*goes and admires the new logitech gaming kb*

12-10-2008, 16:37:14

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
good review, but the lack of an english version, i would have put down as a major fail, and wouldnt have given it the score you did, fair enough, americans have a nice keyboard, but, if i remember right, this site is a predominantly english one, so why has it not been marked down more significantly for the company not actually having been bothered to release a english version

*OCZ now in dislike books*
I think that's a bit of an unfair slant on things. Its like a movie critic giving a film a low score just because it's not available on a region 2 dvd yet.

As for the look of the keyboard, I think I would have preferred it without the shiny black - but it does remind me of the old IBM keyboards and thus score points imo just for that

http://www.greatprices.in/images/mic...5thinkplus.gif

13-10-2008, 13:32:55

Bungral
Nice review mate... Board not for me but still (Y)

One thing on the 2nd para, last page "The only real glitch we encountered was they yeboard not registering the CTRL+Space keys when pressed simultaneously."

16-06-2009, 15:29:14

madelyn
Hi everybody who have elixir.

I would like to know if CTRL+Space work in this board.

This test say not, but techgage's test didn't say that CTRL+SPACE didn't work.

Please tell me if CTRL+SPACE work in this board.

Thanks

17-06-2009, 11:15:17

Lynx
Hmm badly designed gaming keyboard, absoloutly crap for css with no ctrl jump..
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.