OCZ Elixir Gaming Keyboard

The Board

 
The Board
 
I must admit I cheated a little here. The Elixir was the keyboard given to the clockers to use in the recent MSI European Overclocking Challenge, as one of the companies that sponsored the event was indeed OCZ. So I already had a quick play with and view of the board before unpackaging this one.
 
BoardOverview BoardClose1
 
BoardClose2 BoardClose3
 
Upon opening the box you get struck with a classy looking, albeit rather large keyboard, finished in mostly matte black with gloss strips down each side where the media controls reside. The lower portion sports a textured wrist rest. The most striking thing I found was the bright blue function keys that lined the usual QWERTY layout. It's also worth noting that the key layout of the QWERTY section is slightly different to the standard we see used on a lot of boards, mostly around the arrow keys area.
 
Flat Feet
 
Underside
 
The board sits quite flat against the surface it's resting on with the feet up. Flicking them down angled it to a much more user-friendly position. The underside shows off four rubber grips to keep the board from sliding about, as well as the feet tucked away.
 
Wire Back
 
Nothing particularly fancy protrudes from the rear of the keyboard. A plain USB plug on a reasonable length wire is all that is present. However, I did notice that there were unused holes for other plugs on the back of the board. Maybe for future revisions or perhaps used on the Elixir II.
 
On the next page we take a closer look at the board's features and the software it utilises...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-10-2008, 18:32:14

Ham
OCZ have been pumping out new peripherals like there's no tomorrow. Take a look too see how the Elixir keyboard stacks up.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141143297s.jpg

Review

11-10-2008, 18:37:40

!TIMMY!
Nice review Ham OCZ are really throwing everything out there!

11-10-2008, 18:52:02

Hassan
The keyboard looks aesthetically cheap.

11-10-2008, 19:11:43

ionicle
good review, but the lack of an english version, i would have put down as a major fail, and wouldnt have given it the score you did, fair enough, americans have a nice keyboard, but, if i remember right, this site is a predominantly english one, so why has it not been marked down more significantly for the company not actually having been bothered to release a english version

*OCZ now in dislike books*

11-10-2008, 20:09:38

nepas
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
The keyboard looks aesthetically cheap.
agreed

12-10-2008, 05:12:25

mrapoc
looks fugly

*goes and admires the new logitech gaming kb*

12-10-2008, 16:37:14

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
good review, but the lack of an english version, i would have put down as a major fail, and wouldnt have given it the score you did, fair enough, americans have a nice keyboard, but, if i remember right, this site is a predominantly english one, so why has it not been marked down more significantly for the company not actually having been bothered to release a english version

*OCZ now in dislike books*
I think that's a bit of an unfair slant on things. Its like a movie critic giving a film a low score just because it's not available on a region 2 dvd yet.

As for the look of the keyboard, I think I would have preferred it without the shiny black - but it does remind me of the old IBM keyboards and thus score points imo just for that

http://www.greatprices.in/images/mic...5thinkplus.gif

13-10-2008, 13:32:55

Bungral
Nice review mate... Board not for me but still (Y)

One thing on the 2nd para, last page "The only real glitch we encountered was they yeboard not registering the CTRL+Space keys when pressed simultaneously."

16-06-2009, 15:29:14

madelyn
Hi everybody who have elixir.

I would like to know if CTRL+Space work in this board.

This test say not, but techgage's test didn't say that CTRL+SPACE didn't work.

Please tell me if CTRL+SPACE work in this board.

Thanks

17-06-2009, 11:15:17

Lynx
Hmm badly designed gaming keyboard, absoloutly crap for css with no ctrl jump..
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.