OCZ Dominatrix Laser Gaming Mouse

Results

 Results
 
Adobe Photoshop
 
Using Photoshop with the Domixatrix wasn't too hard. The ability to switch DPI comes in handy where extra precision was required. The software feature of being able to bind macros to the two side buttons could also come in handy. For example binding the undo command, then step backwards and short cut the keys to a single button allowing for easier correction of mistakes.
 
Photoshop
 
 
Firefox & General browsing
 
Once again the mouse performed competently for browsing. The shape makes it conformable to use for long periods of time and the the ability to bind buttons proving themselves useful once again. The DPI settings did need a little bit of tweaking in the software before I could comfortably use the mouse across the dual screen set up. However, once configured there were no flaws worthy of a mention.

Firefox
  
 
Microsoft Publisher
 
There isn't really a lot to talk about here. After fiddling around with a few different tools available in Publisher with the Dominatrix, it was clear that the mouse would in no way hinder the task of knocking up professional looking documents, and thus, we move swiftly on. (Lies! You just wanted to play games! - Ed)
 
 
Counterstrike: Source
 
Now this is where the Dominatrix will show its true colours. As it's primarily advertised as a gaming mouse there should be no failings while testing over the next three programs. A fair bit of tweaking with the software again allowed me to find the sweet spot that allowed me to play competently, and before long I was fragging away happily. The mouse performed well under Death Match conditions, where both speed and accuracy are required. It felt a little sluggish at first, but after a bit more practice it wasn't  a concern. The finger dips assist quite well in stopping me from running over my own fingers which is quite a common occurrence with the 'average joe' shaped mouse.
 
CSS
 
Moving on to the slightly slower paced PCW environment the mouse continued to impress. The mouse remained comfortable to rest my hand on while sitting staring at a door awaiting the slightest peak of a terrorist, but it also enabled me to react swiftly and confidently as one bolted through the said door.
 
 
Painkiller
 
Painkiller presented me with a very similar experience as the CS:S Death Match. But with a slightly different set-up involving higher sensitivity. The mouse once again coped with the rapid and often panicked commands with ease - tracking the movement to a 'T'.
 
Painkiller
 
 
Spore
 
Moving onto a different breed of game from the first two used, it was time to see how the mouse felt playing a more relaxed, less reflex intensive game.
 
Spore
 
Whilst playing Spore, the Dominatrix continued to impress. Still comfy to use and, once again after a little tweaking, the sensitivity settled to a level which was both accurate to select specific units and quick enough to scroll across the world in no time. Other mouse reviews have noted at how the on-the-fly DPI settings allow the scrolling to be a lot quicker, this was a  factor present with the Dominatrix, but I prefer a medium between the two.
 
Finally, we will look at the conclusion for the OCZ Dominatrix...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-09-2008, 15:02:30

Ham
OCZ has graced us with another addition to their gaming peripherals line, this time in the shape of the Dominatrix Laser Gaming Mouse. They were kind enough to ship one out for us to take a look over, see how it faired in the review

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...163632853s.jpg

29-09-2008, 15:09:09

Brooksie
Nice review Ham, how does it feel compared to the equalizer?

29-09-2008, 15:17:58

Ham
It's got a lot more features than the equalizer. I prefer the more standard shape myself, but this should be on the short list for people looking for a cheap, sound mouse.

29-09-2008, 15:20:29

llwyd
Always a bad move for a gaming mouse manufacturer not to release 64 bit software with the product

Looks pretty nice for the price though

29-09-2008, 15:36:24

Diablo
I don't like looks of it, but it does seem pretty good value. Still not going to get me to ditch the G9. I like the little weights thing, that seems quite a good system, but I prefer a small mouse, in black preferably.

Nice review as always though.

29-09-2008, 15:43:40

inconspicuousj
looks pretty nice, i loooove that kind of shape, so comfy, i can't stand using my old mice since i got my new laser mouse

29-09-2008, 15:52:08

Luigi
Ooh, looks pretty good, Nice review Ham

Now I need to get cracking so the readers can find out how the mouse pad is :P

30-09-2008, 14:14:35

Luigi
oh and ham, you dont want to mention eclipse computers, it quite easily is the worst customer service ive ever had! (so you might want to edit the end)

30-09-2008, 14:20:26

Ham
Its a review of the mouse. Not the places you can buy it from. They're just in there for price reference.

30-09-2008, 14:25:07

gotmaxpower
I like the looks of this mouse on its own although I can't help but imagine that it would stand out like a sore thumb along with a keyboard and the general peripherals of a desktop computer. Its not something I'd opt for, however the shape of the mouse looks intriguing.

Nice review.

30-09-2008, 14:43:20

usman.zx10
this seems like a nice mouse.. ive been contemplating picking up the logitech G9, i wonder how this compares to this OCZ Dominatrix

30-09-2008, 15:35:52

D-Cyph3r
I cant see it being much cheaper than a Razer Copperhead over here, and that has to be just about the worst name ever given to a PC peripheral.

30-09-2008, 16:00:20

Brooksie
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='D-Cyph3r'
I cant see it being much cheaper than a Razer Copperhead over here, and that has to be just about the worst name ever given to a PC peripheral.
Exactly, you would expect it to be wrapped in tight leather and have a whip as the cable lead. xD

30-09-2008, 16:31:00

JN
Itcould be worse i guess...they might have called it the MasterBaitrix

30-09-2008, 16:38:08

Brooksie
Only you Jim... xD That sounds like some spin off from Wheatabix

30-09-2008, 16:42:35

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Itcould be worse i guess...they might have called it the MasterBaitrix
:whack:

19-10-2008, 02:21:28

Lynx
Anybody know where i can buy this mouse from?

I can find anywhere!

19-10-2008, 04:25:41

Ham
There dosn't seem to be any floating around yet. Quick froogle only revelaed one extra retailer. But one thing I did notice:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/190924535471/wtf.jpg

0_o

19-10-2008, 04:28:42

Lynx
yes what id you notice!

is there supposed o be a pic there? if so i dont see i

19-10-2008, 05:10:33

monkey7
The image says that play.com has them listed but not in stock "This item will be dispatched as soon as it becomes available".

I checked the tweakers.net pricewatch (dutch 'summary' of all dutch/belgium shops and their items), and quite a few dutch etailers seem to have them in stock with 2-3 days delivery time.

19-10-2008, 05:14:32

Ham
Someone missed the point entirely

19-10-2008, 05:28:04

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Someone missed the point entirely
:rollingla

19-10-2008, 07:12:36

monkey7
Right... after relooking at the image... I did xD

*slaps himself on the head*

19-10-2008, 10:42:16

Lynx
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
There dosn't seem to be any floating around yet. Quick froogle only revelaed one extra retailer. But one thing I did notice:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/190924535471/wtf.jpg

0_o
Cheers dude, it loads up now i restarted comp!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.