OCZ Dominatrix Laser Gaming Mouse

Software and Test Setup

 Software
 
All of the software required to run the Dominatrix is supplied on the CD, and a simple auto-run menu means even the least computer literate among us can install it with ease. There were two items of software needed to utilise the mouse to its full capacity. These being the four way wheel driver and the program that allowed you to make up and assign macros to the side buttons. The driver was pretty much just that - allowing the four way scroll wheel to work. It added a little extra functionality to the mouse properties box allowing you to configure and test the wheel.
 
Wheel Control
 
The command software is pretty simple. The three sections show what commands are available (pre-fabricated, custom or downloaded) in the bottom right hand corner. The top right allows you to see what macros are already stored on the mouse, in each of its three modes. And finally the panel taking up the majority of the left hand side of the window, displays exactly what the selected command entails.
 
Software1 Software2
 
The user can shift commands around the three windows in any direction using the two little arrows displayed between each box. It's made up to be an extremely user friendly way of writing, assigning and saving away binds that the user would want. The ability to transfer either a new macro for testing; a saved macro for a different mode or saving a bind set to your pc was child's play really.
 
DPI
 
Clicking on the circle labelled 'DPI' brought up the dialogue box shown Above. This allows you to set the four on-the-fly DPI levels that the mouse switches between upon hitting the button on the top. This is an ingenious idea as people who needed an in between on the presets no longer have to compromise between what the factory set. Instead they can just select the levels they require from the software, save it away to the mouse and not have to worry.
 
 
Test Setup
 
Mice are notoriously difficult to test, simply because they are a very personal device. Each user will have a different experience with a mouse due to different hand size, sensitivity settings, surface used etc. In light of this, I can only convey what my experience with the Dominatrix lead me to conclude about it.
 
The mouse was tested on my 'every day' PC which consists of the following hardware:
 
Intel Xeon 3070 @ 3.6Ghz
Abit IP35 Pro
Crucial Ballistix PC-5300 2GB kit @ 900mhz
Sparkle 8800GT 512Mb
WD Raptor 150GB
Dell 2407WFP & V7 L22WD
 
 
To put the Dominatrix though its paces a few programs were called upon. These were:
 
Adobe Photoshop - Photo editing requires a steady hand and demands precision from the mouse
Mozilla Firefox - General web surfing gives an impression of how the mouse feels for casual use
Microsoft Publisher - We all have to do some Office type work at some point
Counterstrike: Source - Testing on both high speed death match situations and lower paced match environments
Painkiller - Mowing down legions of un-dead is just fun
Spore - An RTS style gaming with a twist. Here the mouse needed to be precise enough to select a single unit but fast enough to scroll over to the other side of the world in an instant
 
Flip the page to see how the Dominatrix faired ...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-09-2008, 15:02:30

Ham
OCZ has graced us with another addition to their gaming peripherals line, this time in the shape of the Dominatrix Laser Gaming Mouse. They were kind enough to ship one out for us to take a look over, see how it faired in the review

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...163632853s.jpg

29-09-2008, 15:09:09

Brooksie
Nice review Ham, how does it feel compared to the equalizer?

29-09-2008, 15:17:58

Ham
It's got a lot more features than the equalizer. I prefer the more standard shape myself, but this should be on the short list for people looking for a cheap, sound mouse.

29-09-2008, 15:20:29

llwyd
Always a bad move for a gaming mouse manufacturer not to release 64 bit software with the product

Looks pretty nice for the price though

29-09-2008, 15:36:24

Diablo
I don't like looks of it, but it does seem pretty good value. Still not going to get me to ditch the G9. I like the little weights thing, that seems quite a good system, but I prefer a small mouse, in black preferably.

Nice review as always though.

29-09-2008, 15:43:40

inconspicuousj
looks pretty nice, i loooove that kind of shape, so comfy, i can't stand using my old mice since i got my new laser mouse

29-09-2008, 15:52:08

Luigi
Ooh, looks pretty good, Nice review Ham

Now I need to get cracking so the readers can find out how the mouse pad is :P

30-09-2008, 14:14:35

Luigi
oh and ham, you dont want to mention eclipse computers, it quite easily is the worst customer service ive ever had! (so you might want to edit the end)

30-09-2008, 14:20:26

Ham
Its a review of the mouse. Not the places you can buy it from. They're just in there for price reference.

30-09-2008, 14:25:07

gotmaxpower
I like the looks of this mouse on its own although I can't help but imagine that it would stand out like a sore thumb along with a keyboard and the general peripherals of a desktop computer. Its not something I'd opt for, however the shape of the mouse looks intriguing.

Nice review.

30-09-2008, 14:43:20

usman.zx10
this seems like a nice mouse.. ive been contemplating picking up the logitech G9, i wonder how this compares to this OCZ Dominatrix

30-09-2008, 15:35:52

D-Cyph3r
I cant see it being much cheaper than a Razer Copperhead over here, and that has to be just about the worst name ever given to a PC peripheral.

30-09-2008, 16:00:20

Brooksie
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='D-Cyph3r'
I cant see it being much cheaper than a Razer Copperhead over here, and that has to be just about the worst name ever given to a PC peripheral.
Exactly, you would expect it to be wrapped in tight leather and have a whip as the cable lead. xD

30-09-2008, 16:31:00

JN
Itcould be worse i guess...they might have called it the MasterBaitrix

30-09-2008, 16:38:08

Brooksie
Only you Jim... xD That sounds like some spin off from Wheatabix

30-09-2008, 16:42:35

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Itcould be worse i guess...they might have called it the MasterBaitrix
:whack:

19-10-2008, 02:21:28

Lynx
Anybody know where i can buy this mouse from?

I can find anywhere!

19-10-2008, 04:25:41

Ham
There dosn't seem to be any floating around yet. Quick froogle only revelaed one extra retailer. But one thing I did notice:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/190924535471/wtf.jpg

0_o

19-10-2008, 04:28:42

Lynx
yes what id you notice!

is there supposed o be a pic there? if so i dont see i

19-10-2008, 05:10:33

monkey7
The image says that play.com has them listed but not in stock "This item will be dispatched as soon as it becomes available".

I checked the tweakers.net pricewatch (dutch 'summary' of all dutch/belgium shops and their items), and quite a few dutch etailers seem to have them in stock with 2-3 days delivery time.

19-10-2008, 05:14:32

Ham
Someone missed the point entirely

19-10-2008, 05:28:04

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Someone missed the point entirely
:rollingla

19-10-2008, 07:12:36

monkey7
Right... after relooking at the image... I did xD

*slaps himself on the head*

19-10-2008, 10:42:16

Lynx
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
There dosn't seem to be any floating around yet. Quick froogle only revelaed one extra retailer. But one thing I did notice:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/190924535471/wtf.jpg

0_o
Cheers dude, it loads up now i restarted comp!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.