OCZ Dominatrix Laser Gaming Mouse

Package and the Mouse

 Package
 
The mouse comes bundled with everything that is needed to get it up and running and not much more. The weights supplied with it are kept in a handy little plastic case. Besides that, all you really get is the software on a CD and the instruction manual.
 
Package
 
While this doesn't seem a lot, you really don't need anything else to get the Dominatrix up and running. Some spare feet may have been nice, but couple the OCZ Dominatrix with a nice mouse pad and the supplied ones should last a long time.
 
 
The Mouse
 
Looking at the mouse itself, it's a familiar and ergonomic design that  we've seen numerous variations of. Two large dips in each side mean that the mouse will sit within the hand comfortably, whilst not letting the fingers on each side drag on the surface the mouse it's being used on.
 
Overview 1 Mouse 2
 
As you can see the main body of the Dominatrix is coated in a matt black rubber coating with glossy plastic finish on the edges surrounding the blue rubber thumb and pinky grips.
 
Mouse 3 Mouse 4
 
The central strip is blue plastic; harbouring the four way scroll wheel, the On-the-fly DPI button and the game mode button.
 
 Underside Under_weights
 
The underside of the mouse is dominated by the weights compartment, and the laser is positioned close to the centre of the mouse where it should be. The OCZ Dominatrix has large feet bordering the edges of the base. Due to their size it might be a bit difficult to apply third party gliders of any kind, but hopefully the feet will be slippery enough not to need them.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-09-2008, 15:02:30

Ham
OCZ has graced us with another addition to their gaming peripherals line, this time in the shape of the Dominatrix Laser Gaming Mouse. They were kind enough to ship one out for us to take a look over, see how it faired in the review

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...163632853s.jpg

29-09-2008, 15:09:09

Brooksie
Nice review Ham, how does it feel compared to the equalizer?

29-09-2008, 15:17:58

Ham
It's got a lot more features than the equalizer. I prefer the more standard shape myself, but this should be on the short list for people looking for a cheap, sound mouse.

29-09-2008, 15:20:29

llwyd
Always a bad move for a gaming mouse manufacturer not to release 64 bit software with the product

Looks pretty nice for the price though

29-09-2008, 15:36:24

Diablo
I don't like looks of it, but it does seem pretty good value. Still not going to get me to ditch the G9. I like the little weights thing, that seems quite a good system, but I prefer a small mouse, in black preferably.

Nice review as always though.

29-09-2008, 15:43:40

inconspicuousj
looks pretty nice, i loooove that kind of shape, so comfy, i can't stand using my old mice since i got my new laser mouse

29-09-2008, 15:52:08

Luigi
Ooh, looks pretty good, Nice review Ham

Now I need to get cracking so the readers can find out how the mouse pad is :P

30-09-2008, 14:14:35

Luigi
oh and ham, you dont want to mention eclipse computers, it quite easily is the worst customer service ive ever had! (so you might want to edit the end)

30-09-2008, 14:20:26

Ham
Its a review of the mouse. Not the places you can buy it from. They're just in there for price reference.

30-09-2008, 14:25:07

gotmaxpower
I like the looks of this mouse on its own although I can't help but imagine that it would stand out like a sore thumb along with a keyboard and the general peripherals of a desktop computer. Its not something I'd opt for, however the shape of the mouse looks intriguing.

Nice review.

30-09-2008, 14:43:20

usman.zx10
this seems like a nice mouse.. ive been contemplating picking up the logitech G9, i wonder how this compares to this OCZ Dominatrix

30-09-2008, 15:35:52

D-Cyph3r
I cant see it being much cheaper than a Razer Copperhead over here, and that has to be just about the worst name ever given to a PC peripheral.

30-09-2008, 16:00:20

Brooksie
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='D-Cyph3r'
I cant see it being much cheaper than a Razer Copperhead over here, and that has to be just about the worst name ever given to a PC peripheral.
Exactly, you would expect it to be wrapped in tight leather and have a whip as the cable lead. xD

30-09-2008, 16:31:00

JN
Itcould be worse i guess...they might have called it the MasterBaitrix

30-09-2008, 16:38:08

Brooksie
Only you Jim... xD That sounds like some spin off from Wheatabix

30-09-2008, 16:42:35

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Itcould be worse i guess...they might have called it the MasterBaitrix
:whack:

19-10-2008, 02:21:28

Lynx
Anybody know where i can buy this mouse from?

I can find anywhere!

19-10-2008, 04:25:41

Ham
There dosn't seem to be any floating around yet. Quick froogle only revelaed one extra retailer. But one thing I did notice:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/190924535471/wtf.jpg

0_o

19-10-2008, 04:28:42

Lynx
yes what id you notice!

is there supposed o be a pic there? if so i dont see i

19-10-2008, 05:10:33

monkey7
The image says that play.com has them listed but not in stock "This item will be dispatched as soon as it becomes available".

I checked the tweakers.net pricewatch (dutch 'summary' of all dutch/belgium shops and their items), and quite a few dutch etailers seem to have them in stock with 2-3 days delivery time.

19-10-2008, 05:14:32

Ham
Someone missed the point entirely

19-10-2008, 05:28:04

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Someone missed the point entirely
:rollingla

19-10-2008, 07:12:36

monkey7
Right... after relooking at the image... I did xD

*slaps himself on the head*

19-10-2008, 10:42:16

Lynx
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
There dosn't seem to be any floating around yet. Quick froogle only revelaed one extra retailer. But one thing I did notice:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/190924535471/wtf.jpg

0_o
Cheers dude, it loads up now i restarted comp!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.