OCZ Dominatrix Laser Gaming Mouse

Introduction

 Introduction
 
Logo
OCZ are a well established and renowned company when it comes to the world of computers. Starting off as a memory manufacturer they bought us some absolute gems such as the PC-3200 Platinum Rev.2 kits. 8 years on and they are still producing top quality memory kits, but have branched out into other areas of the enthusiast market as well. Releasing products such as power supplies, CPU coolers and even DIY notebooks.
 
Today we are going to take a look at part of their gaming peripherals line - the OCZ Dominatrix laser gaming mouse. This is the second mouse produced by the company, the first being the fairly basic Equalizer. Things have been stepped up somewhat for the Dominatrix though, so let's dive in for a look.
 
 
Specification:
 
The specifications were taken from OCZ's product page:
 
Specification
  • DPI Settings: 400/800/1600/2000
  • 500Hz Polling / Report Rate
  • Max Tracking speed: up to 45 inch / second
  • Frame Rate: 7080 frames / second
  • Software Setup Included
  • Operating System: Windows XP, Vista (32-bit only)
  • 3-year warranty

Special Features:

  • Set X&Y axes up to 3200 DPI w/ software
  • Onboard memory (save profiles)
  • Customizable weight cartridges up to 40g
  • 4-way tilt scroll wheel
  • 3 Custom Modes
  • Click / Keystroke Recording
  • Unlimited Script Profiling / Grouping
  • Import / Export Profiles
  • Loop and Fire Key Recording Capability
  • Ability to Record in Intervals / Duration
 
 It's an impressive looking specs sheet with the usual gubbins being listed. Also noteworthy is that 64-bit versions of Windows aren't supported, however.
 
 
Packaging
 
The OCZ Dominatrix comes in a familiar looking package. The box/blister combo shows off the mouse well so that it would look good on a retail shelf, plus it keeps it safe from the most rough handed couriers. It would also give you a chance to grip the mouse to see how it fits your hand if you were to come across it in a retail shop.
 
Box_front Box_side1
 
Box_side2 Box_back
 
The front of the box shows off the mouse itself, as well as outlining the main selling points of the mouse with some fancy little symbols. The left hand side of the box sports some blurb about the Dominatrix software and the back gives more details of exactly what the selling points of the mouse are. The right hand side of the box just tells you pretty much what's contained within.
 
Blister_front Blister_back
 
Pulling the blister pack out of the cardboard we can see the mouse is well secured. The only thing not protected by the blister pack is the instruction manual, which isn't the most mission critical item anyway.
 
On the next page we take a closer look at the mouse itself...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-09-2008, 15:02:30

Ham
OCZ has graced us with another addition to their gaming peripherals line, this time in the shape of the Dominatrix Laser Gaming Mouse. They were kind enough to ship one out for us to take a look over, see how it faired in the review

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...163632853s.jpg

29-09-2008, 15:09:09

Brooksie
Nice review Ham, how does it feel compared to the equalizer?

29-09-2008, 15:17:58

Ham
It's got a lot more features than the equalizer. I prefer the more standard shape myself, but this should be on the short list for people looking for a cheap, sound mouse.

29-09-2008, 15:20:29

llwyd
Always a bad move for a gaming mouse manufacturer not to release 64 bit software with the product

Looks pretty nice for the price though

29-09-2008, 15:36:24

Diablo
I don't like looks of it, but it does seem pretty good value. Still not going to get me to ditch the G9. I like the little weights thing, that seems quite a good system, but I prefer a small mouse, in black preferably.

Nice review as always though.

29-09-2008, 15:43:40

inconspicuousj
looks pretty nice, i loooove that kind of shape, so comfy, i can't stand using my old mice since i got my new laser mouse

29-09-2008, 15:52:08

Luigi
Ooh, looks pretty good, Nice review Ham

Now I need to get cracking so the readers can find out how the mouse pad is :P

30-09-2008, 14:14:35

Luigi
oh and ham, you dont want to mention eclipse computers, it quite easily is the worst customer service ive ever had! (so you might want to edit the end)

30-09-2008, 14:20:26

Ham
Its a review of the mouse. Not the places you can buy it from. They're just in there for price reference.

30-09-2008, 14:25:07

gotmaxpower
I like the looks of this mouse on its own although I can't help but imagine that it would stand out like a sore thumb along with a keyboard and the general peripherals of a desktop computer. Its not something I'd opt for, however the shape of the mouse looks intriguing.

Nice review.

30-09-2008, 14:43:20

usman.zx10
this seems like a nice mouse.. ive been contemplating picking up the logitech G9, i wonder how this compares to this OCZ Dominatrix

30-09-2008, 15:35:52

D-Cyph3r
I cant see it being much cheaper than a Razer Copperhead over here, and that has to be just about the worst name ever given to a PC peripheral.

30-09-2008, 16:00:20

Brooksie
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='D-Cyph3r'
I cant see it being much cheaper than a Razer Copperhead over here, and that has to be just about the worst name ever given to a PC peripheral.
Exactly, you would expect it to be wrapped in tight leather and have a whip as the cable lead. xD

30-09-2008, 16:31:00

JN
Itcould be worse i guess...they might have called it the MasterBaitrix

30-09-2008, 16:38:08

Brooksie
Only you Jim... xD That sounds like some spin off from Wheatabix

30-09-2008, 16:42:35

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Itcould be worse i guess...they might have called it the MasterBaitrix
:whack:

19-10-2008, 02:21:28

Lynx
Anybody know where i can buy this mouse from?

I can find anywhere!

19-10-2008, 04:25:41

Ham
There dosn't seem to be any floating around yet. Quick froogle only revelaed one extra retailer. But one thing I did notice:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/190924535471/wtf.jpg

0_o

19-10-2008, 04:28:42

Lynx
yes what id you notice!

is there supposed o be a pic there? if so i dont see i

19-10-2008, 05:10:33

monkey7
The image says that play.com has them listed but not in stock "This item will be dispatched as soon as it becomes available".

I checked the tweakers.net pricewatch (dutch 'summary' of all dutch/belgium shops and their items), and quite a few dutch etailers seem to have them in stock with 2-3 days delivery time.

19-10-2008, 05:14:32

Ham
Someone missed the point entirely

19-10-2008, 05:28:04

WC Annihilus
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Someone missed the point entirely
:rollingla

19-10-2008, 07:12:36

monkey7
Right... after relooking at the image... I did xD

*slaps himself on the head*

19-10-2008, 10:42:16

Lynx
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
There dosn't seem to be any floating around yet. Quick froogle only revelaed one extra retailer. But one thing I did notice:

http://upload.overclock3d.net/dwn/190924535471/wtf.jpg

0_o
Cheers dude, it loads up now i restarted comp!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.