Logitech G7 Cordless Laser Mouse

Conclusion

Conclusion

Well I must say that I'm thoroughly impressed by Logitech latest mouse offering. Sure, the colour scheme probably isn't to everyone's taste, and the G7 has a couple of minor faults. Actually they're probably more features that I prefer to see rather than faults, but it's certainly a top contender for your hard earned dollar.

The only real area I'd like to see Logitech perform a little better is with their pricing scheme; this mouse still retails in some large local stores for around AUS$175.00. I managed to pick it up for AUS$130.00 inc G.S.T, although I have seen it for as low as AUS$106.00 from online e-tailers. To many people, 175 'big ones' is a lot of money to invest in a cordless mouse, when a lower priced alternative with cord would probably suffice. And as I said at the beginning of the review, it'd be nice if Logitech could resist the urge to plaster excessive amounts of self-plugging on the outside of the box, and in turn pass the savings onto the consumer.

Many times I have heard traditionalist's use the excuse that corded mice are more responsive and better for gaming. The Logitech G7 quite literally blows that notion out of the water. There are absolutely no excuses for gamers and enthusiasts alike, not to adopt and upgrade to a cordless mouse, especially this one. Heck, I don't even miss my Logitech MX1000! Even though the G7 passed through the test with flying colours, I'm not going to award it the 'editors choice award' simply because of its price premium.

But if you're contemplating buying this mouse after reading the review, you'll be pleasantly surprised, and glad you did.

Pro's

+ Extremely fast and responsive
+ Comfortable for those gamers with smaller hands
+ Adjustable DPI levels 'on the fly'
+ No lag or dropouts
+ Reduced desktop clutter
+ 2 x Li-Ion batteries to ensure you never run out.

Con's

- Price
- Lack of rubberised moulding for grip.

Gamers choice award

Feel free to discuss this in our Forum

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-08-2006, 05:35:18

PV5150
You can find the review here

Feel free to comment on the review here

21-08-2006, 06:03:16

FragTek
Great review mate, looks like a seriously nice mouse!

21-08-2006, 06:15:16

PV5150
Thanks mate, glad you liked it.

21-08-2006, 07:40:55

FarFarAway
Nice work Peevles

21-08-2006, 08:56:28

PV5150
Thanks Kemp, it took some work but we got there lol

21-08-2006, 09:16:50

mrapoc
hmmm im sure my packard bell mouse is better of course not...good review btw

21-08-2006, 09:19:00

Hyper
Very good review mate, I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one

I must admit more people are reading these reviews now as the other day I spotted someone was asking about the X1900XTX and someone linked them here

21-08-2006, 10:31:10

PV5150
Thanks guys, positive feedback on my first review. I'm no longer a review virgin

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one
The G5's are still very much a respectable mouse mate

21-08-2006, 10:47:49

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
Very good review mate, I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one
I thought you could change their weight?

21-08-2006, 10:56:09

glocktodahead
You can. And the G5 pwns. It fits so nicely in my hand and the 2000 dpi is sweet.

Nice review mate

21-08-2006, 11:01:36

Hyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Phnom_Penh'
I thought you could change their weight?
Thats what I mean, I went for the G5 as the G7 was supposed to be to heavy but I like my G5 with lots of weights in anyway so that is heavy aswell.

21-08-2006, 11:17:42

masterblaster
great review

but wireless and gaming are still 2 words I personally don't put together...

21-08-2006, 15:24:05

Raven
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?

21-08-2006, 15:40:42

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?
They're about the same.

21-08-2006, 15:47:26

Raven
and g5 is the wired version of the g7 ?

21-08-2006, 16:00:17

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
and g5 is the wired version of the g7 ?
As far as I know, yes.

21-08-2006, 16:13:53

Raven
sounds like i should take another look then on the review

prefer wired mices, have a wireless and cant use it as the batterys makes it to heavy.

21-08-2006, 16:20:38

browney
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?
I asume you have a MX510? I had one for many years i loved it so much. I went for the G5 a few months ago and its the exact same size

22-08-2006, 00:49:09

Raven
yup using a mx510 but its starting to get abit old so will be replaced sometimes during the next 6 months but the g5 is quite expensive 43.

22-08-2006, 05:15:40

Dav0s
i habe an mx510 and im happy with it atm, good mouse

ill take a look at the review in a bit, pv.

personally i prefer lighter mice, so wireless is normally out of bounds for me

22-08-2006, 08:13:37

PV5150
cool mate, np's
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.