Logitech G7 Cordless Laser Mouse

Testing and Performance

Test Setup

Even though the computer really has no major bearing on the performance of the G7, the testbed chosen for todays review includes:
  • AMD X2 3800+
  • DFI UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert
  • 2 x XFX GeForce 7800 GT's in SLI configuration, and
  • Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP2.

Testing

The testing procedure for the Logitech G7 Cordless Laser mouse were conducted using real life gaming benchmarks. The games included in the testing were Valve Software's - Counter Strike Source (CS:S); ID Software's - Quake 4 and Infinity Ward's - Call Of Duty 2 (C.O.D 2). Other testing was conducted from within the Windows desktop environment in order to provide valid test results. Other associated variables to the tests, included:
  • Gaming surface was a highly polished faux wooden desktop;
  • A fresh installation of Logitech Setpoint drivers (vers. 3.0.107), and
  • Li-Ion batteries were fully charged overnight.

Performance

The first thing I noticed is how insanely quick and fluid the G7 really was. On the maximum setting, the mouse pointer was both very fast and accurate. Not that I'm really an accomplished gamer of any sort, but I felt that the G7 complimented my skill level very nicely; and in the hands of an avid gamer, the G7 would be a very welcome tool within their arsenal.

I have read that some people find the Logitech G7 uncomfortable after a prolonged period of time; I found this not to be the case even after a solid 3 hour stint. The only gripe that I have is that if your hands are prone to sweating, you may find the polished moulded case slippery to hold.

Earlier on in the review I mentioned that the G7 was very maneuverable on the chosen playing surface. This is unequivocally due to the larger (Teflon) pads on the base of the mouse, and hence providing both non-slip and frictionless gaming pleasure. As opposed to the smaller plastic pads of MX1000.

The battery life, I must say is very respectable. After gaming for a solid three hours and performing other associated PC duties requiring a mouse, the battery life indicator had only lost one bar out of four. The G7 was then left overnight, and no further degradation to the battery health was noted. Now let's head over to the all important conclusion page to see how the Logitech G7 scored.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-08-2006, 05:35:18

PV5150
You can find the review here

Feel free to comment on the review here

21-08-2006, 06:03:16

FragTek
Great review mate, looks like a seriously nice mouse!

21-08-2006, 06:15:16

PV5150
Thanks mate, glad you liked it.

21-08-2006, 07:40:55

FarFarAway
Nice work Peevles

21-08-2006, 08:56:28

PV5150
Thanks Kemp, it took some work but we got there lol

21-08-2006, 09:16:50

mrapoc
hmmm im sure my packard bell mouse is better of course not...good review btw

21-08-2006, 09:19:00

Hyper
Very good review mate, I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one

I must admit more people are reading these reviews now as the other day I spotted someone was asking about the X1900XTX and someone linked them here

21-08-2006, 10:31:10

PV5150
Thanks guys, positive feedback on my first review. I'm no longer a review virgin

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one
The G5's are still very much a respectable mouse mate

21-08-2006, 10:47:49

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
Very good review mate, I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one
I thought you could change their weight?

21-08-2006, 10:56:09

glocktodahead
You can. And the G5 pwns. It fits so nicely in my hand and the 2000 dpi is sweet.

Nice review mate

21-08-2006, 11:01:36

Hyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Phnom_Penh'
I thought you could change their weight?
Thats what I mean, I went for the G5 as the G7 was supposed to be to heavy but I like my G5 with lots of weights in anyway so that is heavy aswell.

21-08-2006, 11:17:42

masterblaster
great review

but wireless and gaming are still 2 words I personally don't put together...

21-08-2006, 15:24:05

Raven
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?

21-08-2006, 15:40:42

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?
They're about the same.

21-08-2006, 15:47:26

Raven
and g5 is the wired version of the g7 ?

21-08-2006, 16:00:17

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
and g5 is the wired version of the g7 ?
As far as I know, yes.

21-08-2006, 16:13:53

Raven
sounds like i should take another look then on the review

prefer wired mices, have a wireless and cant use it as the batterys makes it to heavy.

21-08-2006, 16:20:38

browney
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?
I asume you have a MX510? I had one for many years i loved it so much. I went for the G5 a few months ago and its the exact same size

22-08-2006, 00:49:09

Raven
yup using a mx510 but its starting to get abit old so will be replaced sometimes during the next 6 months but the g5 is quite expensive 43.

22-08-2006, 05:15:40

Dav0s
i habe an mx510 and im happy with it atm, good mouse

ill take a look at the review in a bit, pv.

personally i prefer lighter mice, so wireless is normally out of bounds for me

22-08-2006, 08:13:37

PV5150
cool mate, np's
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.