Logitech G7 Cordless Laser Mouse

A Closer Look Continued

The Charger

The quite radical changes to the G7's charging system, as opposed, to say the MX1000 are more than evident.

Side view of charger, wireless dongle and rechargeable batter G7 recharge setup and dongle
MX1000 and charger setup

One aspect of this charging system that I really like is that it doesn't require a dedicated power supply all of its own. All that's needed is to simply plug the USB adaptor straight into your motherboard and voila, it's powered. Those readers who frequent LAN's will appreciate this; there is nothing worse than having to battle for real estate in your power board.

The G7's wireless dongle is rated at 2.4Ghz, and during both gaming and general desktop work, I never experienced any lag or dropout. Although,I must admit I was a little unsure as to whether my D-LINK DI-624 wireless router would interfere with the performance.

When you need to recharge a battery it's a complete no-brainer. You cannot possibly insert the battery the wrong way and it inserts exactly the same way as in the mouse. When you want to remove the battery simply push the button on the lower right hand side of the charger. Kudos to Logitech for making the G7 idiot proof. Now let's take a quick look at the included software.

The Software

From my own personal experience, I have found some of the older Logitech Setpoint software to be a little buggy to say the least. It's satisfying to say that I haven't found this to be true with the G7 drivers.

Setpoint desktop console Setpoint console DPI adjustment

You can see from the included pictorial content above that the Setpoint console allows you to pretty well customise everything about your mouse. Some of the options available to you are:
  • Customising what buttons on the mouse perform a function;
  • Adjusting your mouse movement and speed;
  • Setting at what point you want to be warned of low battery power;
  • Checking the Logitech website for driver updates, and at what frequency, and
  • Setting up customised DPI settings for in-game play.

Setting up your advanced game settings is also a no-brainer affair, simply trial various X/Y resolution settings and then try them out in various gaming scenarios to see which ones you prefer via the buttons beneath the scroll wheel. Obviously for MS Windows based desktop work, the 2000 DPI setting is a little too vicious and the author suggests toning down the speed to a more controllable level. Now let's take a look and see how the G7 performs in real life gaming...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-08-2006, 05:35:18

PV5150
You can find the review here

Feel free to comment on the review here

21-08-2006, 06:03:16

FragTek
Great review mate, looks like a seriously nice mouse!

21-08-2006, 06:15:16

PV5150
Thanks mate, glad you liked it.

21-08-2006, 07:40:55

FarFarAway
Nice work Peevles

21-08-2006, 08:56:28

PV5150
Thanks Kemp, it took some work but we got there lol

21-08-2006, 09:16:50

mrapoc
hmmm im sure my packard bell mouse is better of course not...good review btw

21-08-2006, 09:19:00

Hyper
Very good review mate, I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one

I must admit more people are reading these reviews now as the other day I spotted someone was asking about the X1900XTX and someone linked them here

21-08-2006, 10:31:10

PV5150
Thanks guys, positive feedback on my first review. I'm no longer a review virgin

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one
The G5's are still very much a respectable mouse mate

21-08-2006, 10:47:49

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
Very good review mate, I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one
I thought you could change their weight?

21-08-2006, 10:56:09

glocktodahead
You can. And the G5 pwns. It fits so nicely in my hand and the 2000 dpi is sweet.

Nice review mate

21-08-2006, 11:01:36

Hyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Phnom_Penh'
I thought you could change their weight?
Thats what I mean, I went for the G5 as the G7 was supposed to be to heavy but I like my G5 with lots of weights in anyway so that is heavy aswell.

21-08-2006, 11:17:42

masterblaster
great review

but wireless and gaming are still 2 words I personally don't put together...

21-08-2006, 15:24:05

Raven
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?

21-08-2006, 15:40:42

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?
They're about the same.

21-08-2006, 15:47:26

Raven
and g5 is the wired version of the g7 ?

21-08-2006, 16:00:17

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
and g5 is the wired version of the g7 ?
As far as I know, yes.

21-08-2006, 16:13:53

Raven
sounds like i should take another look then on the review

prefer wired mices, have a wireless and cant use it as the batterys makes it to heavy.

21-08-2006, 16:20:38

browney
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?
I asume you have a MX510? I had one for many years i loved it so much. I went for the G5 a few months ago and its the exact same size

22-08-2006, 00:49:09

Raven
yup using a mx510 but its starting to get abit old so will be replaced sometimes during the next 6 months but the g5 is quite expensive 43.

22-08-2006, 05:15:40

Dav0s
i habe an mx510 and im happy with it atm, good mouse

ill take a look at the review in a bit, pv.

personally i prefer lighter mice, so wireless is normally out of bounds for me

22-08-2006, 08:13:37

PV5150
cool mate, np's
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.