Logitech G7 Cordless Laser Mouse

Introduction

Introduction

Logitech is a name synonymous with manufacturing everything from PC based sound systems through to gaming headsets, and attempting to intensify the aural/gaming pleasure of the user. In this day and age of competitive gaming, whether you're a league player or just a friendly LAN gamer with your friends on the weekend; the need for some sort of advantage over your opposition is imperative.

Logitech's latest incarnation of input device - the G7, has been touted as the tool to provide you with this advantage. Further, not only is the G7 reputed to perform well, but is stylish and unobtrusive to boot. With a new PC build underway, aimed squarely at being a high-end gaming rig, I decided to purchase the Logitech G7 to see how it would perform.

Specifications

The technical specifications of the Logitech G7 Cordless Laser Mouse were taken from Logitech's wesite, you can find additional information here

• Tracking Resolution: 2000 dpi
• Image Processing: 6.4 megapixels/second
• Max. Acceleration: 20g
• Max. Speed: 45—65 inches/second (depending on surface)
• USB Data Format: 16 bits/axis
• USB Report Rate: 500 reports/second
• Sleep Mode: Disabled
(Accessed 20th Aug 2006)

Package

With packaging that is testamant to Logitech's commitment to quality; the G7 is very securely packaged within a plastic bubble pack and covered with a stiff cardboard exterior to ensure that the risk of damage in transit, is minimised.

Logitech G7 box front Logitech G7 box rear

You will notice on both the front and back faces of the box that Logitech has attempted to tell you just how good the G7 is, and what its main features are. I myself, find the visual bombardment a little dated and tiring, and would much prefer that the manufacturer perhaps used the marketing funds a little better by omitting extraneous information and passing on a cost saving to the consumer instead.

Contents

Logitech list the contents of the package, both on their website and on documentation within the box itself. Listed below are the included contents:

• Logitech® G7 Laser Cordless Mouse
• 2 Li-Ion Battery Packs
• Charging Station
• USB Dongle
• CD with SetPoint™ software (Version 2.4a, most current version from Logitech's website is vers. 3.0.107)
• Installation Guide
• Three-year warranty

G7 package contents G7 contents


It's refreshing to see a manufacturer with faith in their product and providing a three (3) year warranty onto the consumer, it is a rare thing in this day and age. Also, the installation manual is quite comprehensive and easy to follow.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-08-2006, 05:35:18

PV5150
You can find the review here

Feel free to comment on the review here

21-08-2006, 06:03:16

FragTek
Great review mate, looks like a seriously nice mouse!

21-08-2006, 06:15:16

PV5150
Thanks mate, glad you liked it.

21-08-2006, 07:40:55

FarFarAway
Nice work Peevles

21-08-2006, 08:56:28

PV5150
Thanks Kemp, it took some work but we got there lol

21-08-2006, 09:16:50

mrapoc
hmmm im sure my packard bell mouse is better of course not...good review btw

21-08-2006, 09:19:00

Hyper
Very good review mate, I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one

I must admit more people are reading these reviews now as the other day I spotted someone was asking about the X1900XTX and someone linked them here

21-08-2006, 10:31:10

PV5150
Thanks guys, positive feedback on my first review. I'm no longer a review virgin

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one
The G5's are still very much a respectable mouse mate

21-08-2006, 10:47:49

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
Very good review mate, I looked at getting one of those when I bought my G5 and I like my G5 really heavy anyway so maybe I would have been better off with one
I thought you could change their weight?

21-08-2006, 10:56:09

glocktodahead
You can. And the G5 pwns. It fits so nicely in my hand and the 2000 dpi is sweet.

Nice review mate

21-08-2006, 11:01:36

Hyper
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Phnom_Penh'
I thought you could change their weight?
Thats what I mean, I went for the G5 as the G7 was supposed to be to heavy but I like my G5 with lots of weights in anyway so that is heavy aswell.

21-08-2006, 11:17:42

masterblaster
great review

but wireless and gaming are still 2 words I personally don't put together...

21-08-2006, 15:24:05

Raven
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?

21-08-2006, 15:40:42

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?
They're about the same.

21-08-2006, 15:47:26

Raven
and g5 is the wired version of the g7 ?

21-08-2006, 16:00:17

Phnom_Penh
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
and g5 is the wired version of the g7 ?
As far as I know, yes.

21-08-2006, 16:13:53

Raven
sounds like i should take another look then on the review

prefer wired mices, have a wireless and cant use it as the batterys makes it to heavy.

21-08-2006, 16:20:38

browney
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
how is that mouse sizewice compared to mx510 ?
I asume you have a MX510? I had one for many years i loved it so much. I went for the G5 a few months ago and its the exact same size

22-08-2006, 00:49:09

Raven
yup using a mx510 but its starting to get abit old so will be replaced sometimes during the next 6 months but the g5 is quite expensive 43.

22-08-2006, 05:15:40

Dav0s
i habe an mx510 and im happy with it atm, good mouse

ill take a look at the review in a bit, pv.

personally i prefer lighter mice, so wireless is normally out of bounds for me

22-08-2006, 08:13:37

PV5150
cool mate, np's
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.