Icemat 2nd Edition Mouse Mat

Aesthetics

Aesthetics


The Icemat 2nd Edition itself, it has to be said looks great. It is extremely simplistic, merely a sheet of clear glass, sat on top of a coloured sheet, which gives the mat a frosted tint.


top of mat


The Icemat logo and website are in the bottom right corner, printed onto this coloured sheet. Since these are not printed on the top pane of glass there is no rough surface anywhere on the mat, contrary to others on the market.




The underside of the mat has 6 rubber spheres, one in each corner and 2 in the middle. These acts as grips, which stop the mouse mat from moving around on your desk, which can be a problem with other mats on the market.


rubber feet feet


However, it can be said that they could do a better job. Whilst just moving your mouse will not move the mat itself, putting any forward pressure onto the mat with your wrist will. The circular shape of the grips just does not put enough surface area onto the desk, and you will find the mat continually slipping forward if you rest your wrist or arm on it.


The Icemat 2nd Edition, being made of glass is also quite heavy. Whilst this shouldn’t be a problem as it will most likely spend all of its time glued to your desk, it is worth noting that taking this mat to a LAN party or to a friend’s might not be too practical, considering its fragility as well as its weight.

Final things worth noting on aesthetics are the rounded corners, which are a nice touch and make the mat look modern. Also, the mat is just under a centimeter deep, and the rubber grips create a gap of roughly 2mm from your desk. This can become a minor annoyance, as pieces of paper and very thin objects tend to find their way underneath the Icemat.


Next we will take a look at how the Icemat 2nd Edition performs in practical use.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2007, 12:32:31

JN
"Chris "Ins" Buer is back with a world exclusive look at the latest technological breakthrough by SteelSeries. We go beneath the "surface" to bring you the new SteelSeries SX mouse mat."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141438737s.jpg

Linkage

29-06-2007, 12:40:33

Ham
Another nice job ins.

One thing, you havn't mentioned the price (or expected price) anywhere, just that its expensive...

29-06-2007, 12:41:07

mVp24
Great review INS! This pad seems interesting

PS: We need a thumbs up smiley...

29-06-2007, 14:39:02

[Ins]
I don't think the pad has been released yet in the UK so price is to be tba. However the marketing I received with the pad stated that it was aimed at the "pro gamer" and as a result would be priced at the higher end of the market.

29-06-2007, 15:09:48

equk
nice review.

hopefully these alu mats will last longer than the old ones as mine (4S) wore out within 5-6months

I also laugh at this "pro gamer" "pc enthusiast" etc marketing.

29-06-2007, 15:26:50

AydST
aye not in the UK yet is correct, last time I checked I was told a month or so but I'll confirm on Monday

30-06-2007, 10:21:24

MikeEnIke
Its a great reviews Ins. Wouldn't ever get it meself, but good review nonetheless

30-06-2007, 10:36:26

flib
Nice review Was contemplating getting a new gaming mouse mat and recently looking into the Razer eXactmat, but this one looks great too. Just hopefully not *to* expensive.

30-06-2007, 10:59:20

equk
A few things I noticed with my steelpad 4S:



  • It was cold

  • It was hard and uncomfortable

  • It had no friction (you need a little at least)

  • It cost me loads in teflon strips

  • It wore out and went shiney within 5months



I have some images somewhere.

I know some people like hard mats, but to spend so much on something that only lasts a few months is a waste imo.

30-06-2007, 14:42:04

FarFarAway
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me

30-06-2007, 15:15:47

Rastalovich
It`s a great review, in something I`m clearly never hopefully gonna be in the market for.

`Hopefully` cos they`ve stopped making the trackballs I use and there is no clear general purpose replacement out there atm

Gotta be wholey important for the avid fps game tho I can appreciate.

30-06-2007, 15:49:53

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me
I've heard loads of people praise the icemat I guess they are made of more sturdy material tho.

02-07-2007, 16:56:11

prosser13
Nice review, I got an awesome deal on my Steelpad S&S and love it
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.