Icemat 2nd Edition Mouse Mat

Introduction and Packaging

Introduction

Recently, manufacturers have been introducing additional gaming equipment and peripherals beyond the ordinary mouse and keyboard. The introduction of mouse mats aimed at gamers has taken off, with most mouse manufacturers introducing a specialist mouse mat to get the most from their mice.

Icemat however, are a company who literally made their name with their first offering to the gaming community, the "Icemat". Since then they have began producing other gaming products such as headsets, and have also introduced a new version of their trademark mouse mat. Today I will be reviewing the "Icemat 2nd Edition"


Packaging

Externally, the retail packaging is basic, but eye catching. A list of the specifications and the colour of the mat is found on the front, but besides that there isn't much to tell. Personally I prefer subtle packaging, and I think Icemat have done well by not including too much on the exterior.


Box - Front Box - Rear

As you may or may not know, the Icemat 2nd Edition is made of glass, which is why I was interested to see just which precautions were taken when designing the packaging for this product. As you lift the lid of the box, you see a plain white sheet of styrofoam, and lifting this you are greeted with the Icemat itself.

 

open box

 

The mouse mat is secured between this top piece of styrofoam, and another underneath it, which lock in together to keep the glass safe. I think that this should be enough for everyday situations, and even the most clumsy postman shouldn't cause the Icemat 2nd Edition any trouble.

 

Included in the box is a small plastic bag, which contains 5 "padsurfers", and the instructions on using them. I will elaborate on these later. These are the only items included, so again Icemat have resisted the urge to overdo the packaging. To me this creates a good first impression of not only the product, but the company as well.


padsurfers

Well that's enough for the packaging, let's move on to the mat itself and how it looks.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2007, 12:32:31

JN
"Chris "Ins" Buer is back with a world exclusive look at the latest technological breakthrough by SteelSeries. We go beneath the "surface" to bring you the new SteelSeries SX mouse mat."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...141438737s.jpg

Linkage

29-06-2007, 12:40:33

Ham
Another nice job ins.

One thing, you havn't mentioned the price (or expected price) anywhere, just that its expensive...

29-06-2007, 12:41:07

mVp24
Great review INS! This pad seems interesting

PS: We need a thumbs up smiley...

29-06-2007, 14:39:02

[Ins]
I don't think the pad has been released yet in the UK so price is to be tba. However the marketing I received with the pad stated that it was aimed at the "pro gamer" and as a result would be priced at the higher end of the market.

29-06-2007, 15:09:48

equk
nice review.

hopefully these alu mats will last longer than the old ones as mine (4S) wore out within 5-6months

I also laugh at this "pro gamer" "pc enthusiast" etc marketing.

29-06-2007, 15:26:50

AydST
aye not in the UK yet is correct, last time I checked I was told a month or so but I'll confirm on Monday

30-06-2007, 10:21:24

MikeEnIke
Its a great reviews Ins. Wouldn't ever get it meself, but good review nonetheless

30-06-2007, 10:36:26

flib
Nice review Was contemplating getting a new gaming mouse mat and recently looking into the Razer eXactmat, but this one looks great too. Just hopefully not *to* expensive.

30-06-2007, 10:59:20

equk
A few things I noticed with my steelpad 4S:



  • It was cold

  • It was hard and uncomfortable

  • It had no friction (you need a little at least)

  • It cost me loads in teflon strips

  • It wore out and went shiney within 5months



I have some images somewhere.

I know some people like hard mats, but to spend so much on something that only lasts a few months is a waste imo.

30-06-2007, 14:42:04

FarFarAway
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me

30-06-2007, 15:15:47

Rastalovich
It`s a great review, in something I`m clearly never hopefully gonna be in the market for.

`Hopefully` cos they`ve stopped making the trackballs I use and there is no clear general purpose replacement out there atm

Gotta be wholey important for the avid fps game tho I can appreciate.

30-06-2007, 15:49:53

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
My Icemat has lasted me bloody ages (at least a 1.5yrs) and even after trying other pads I always come back to it as the most comfortable for me
I've heard loads of people praise the icemat I guess they are made of more sturdy material tho.

02-07-2007, 16:56:11

prosser13
Nice review, I got an awesome deal on my Steelpad S&S and love it
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.