Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review

Up Close - The M8600

Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review

Up Close - The M8600

We'll start off with the battery section which is part of the rear of the M8600. This design has multiple benefits as you aren't reliant upon breaking your nail on the cover, or seeking out new batteries that have been stolen for remote controls, and it keeps the main weight right in the centre for optimum control.

For the second mouse review in a row we have a truly ambidextrous mouse in the Aivia M8600. The "regular" side has the back and forward buttons that we're all used to now...

Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review     Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review  

And the right hand side we have an alternative couple of buttons. The scroll-wheel looks like it's been nicked off a slot car racer and also includes the side-scrolling feature. At the very front is a small flap that hides a mini-USB port, so you can run the mouse as cabled if you so desire.

Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review      Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review

Behind the scroll wheel we have the LED indicators for battery level and currently selected profile, as well as DPI increase and reduce buttons too.

There is a fair amount of stuff on the underside. As well as the centrally-mounted sensor we have a genuine on-off button, the battery removal switch, the wireless pairing button and a charging point.

Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review     Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-11-2011, 05:34:01

tinytomlogan


Following on from the Aivia keyboard, today we look at it's partner the Aivia wireless M8600 Mouse.

Continue Reading

15-11-2011, 05:42:49

yassarikhan786
A very decent piece of kit. I really like the battery idea and the option of using it as a wired mouse.

15-11-2011, 07:54:33

SieB
It's a Transformer

Looks like a decent mouse though.

15-11-2011, 08:52:05

dugdiamond
nice looks for someone with a green theme

nice ambidextrous functionality too

15-11-2011, 11:17:08

Lollipop
Looks a bit like a Razer Mamba ripoff

15-11-2011, 17:05:47

badtaylorx
ripoff is a lil strong.......

i mean how much do you really think you can do with a mouse design???

that being said.....

i dont see this one prying me away from my cyborg RAT7

15-11-2011, 17:25:28

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

Looks a bit like a Razer Mamba ripoff
Well it does use the same laser sensor as the Mamba

15-11-2011, 21:21:56

WelshD1K
Has a rating for price but no price mentioned / on top ??

16-11-2011, 00:02:24

mrDMxtreme
for wireless "gaming" mice i think you should try the logitech g700, i've had it for a little while now and i think its great (and more comfortable then most mice - which is not that common with wireless mice)

16-11-2011, 00:49:26

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by WelshD1K View Post

Has a rating for price but no price mentioned / on top ??
Well in Australia it costs $99.

As a reference, the Razer Mamba 4G costs $159 here, while the Imperator costs $99 and the Steelseries Sensei costs $109.

16-11-2011, 01:19:47

WelshD1K
ogitech g7 sill use it .... wireless mx518 awsome love it almost a smuch as my boomslang

16-11-2011, 01:21:13

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Well in Australia it costs $99.

As a reference, the Razer Mamba 4G costs $159 here, while the Imperator costs $99 and the Steelseries Sensei costs $109.
i know that but it is missing from the review...

16-11-2011, 02:11:13

mrDMxtreme
didnt the review say that its 80pounds? on the last page

16-11-2011, 02:49:14

WelshD1K
top of page where it says from where etc is blank .. all im saying

19-11-2011, 11:48:55

Ya93sin
I honestly couldn't ask for more than a Deathadder when it comes to mice

19-11-2011, 12:44:09

CocaCola
Looks pretty interesting. It still looks like it's modelling after a Lamborghini Reventon.

20-11-2011, 15:32:55

Jerome
Should be good, nice review thanks. I wont buy it though I will upgrade from the Gigabyte m8000 to the m8000X (both wired). Mine has a cilinder packaging like the one you picture and it holds the GIGABYTE mouse mat I'm using. Great quality mouse, I mean to send some ideas to GIGABYTE for improving it when time allows. The laser is very sharp, buttons very responsive and it's worked over 1 year and it hasn't given any trouble, looks nice. The M8000X has a better laser and software and a reader for the distance from the laser to the surface/mouse mat to calibrate the laser and for 40-50 it's great. I prefer the M8000 to the Logitech G9. GIGABYTE are doing very good I think it's really nice
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.