Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review

Up Close - Packaging

Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review

Up Close

Most mice come in a fairly standard oblong box with a Velcro front to allow viewing of your potential purchase. Not so with the Aivia M8600 as it comes in a tube with many compartments. If you're the kind of person who just adores opening new things and discovering what lays within, this is the mouse for you.

Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review     Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review  

At one end we have a carrying case that must double as a TARDIS. Things just kept on coming out of it and, as is always the way with these matters, it was impossible to get it all back in. Thankfully it's big enough for the things you need to take with you.

So what does come in this marvel of compactness? We have two heavily braided USB to Mini-USB cables, some spare feet, a spare battery and the receiver/charger.

Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review     Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review  

Having a spare battery is unheard of and if first impressions do count then we like the M8600 already. Just like the inclusion of the dust cover on the K8100 keyboard, it's the attention to detail that grabs you. Even the driver CD, a mini number which deserves credit for both being environmentally friendly, and also giving us a use for that bit on the middle of every CD drive that we otherwise never use.

Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review     Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-11-2011, 05:34:01

tinytomlogan


Following on from the Aivia keyboard, today we look at it's partner the Aivia wireless M8600 Mouse.

Continue Reading

15-11-2011, 05:42:49

yassarikhan786
A very decent piece of kit. I really like the battery idea and the option of using it as a wired mouse.

15-11-2011, 07:54:33

SieB
It's a Transformer

Looks like a decent mouse though.

15-11-2011, 08:52:05

dugdiamond
nice looks for someone with a green theme

nice ambidextrous functionality too

15-11-2011, 11:17:08

Lollipop
Looks a bit like a Razer Mamba ripoff

15-11-2011, 17:05:47

badtaylorx
ripoff is a lil strong.......

i mean how much do you really think you can do with a mouse design???

that being said.....

i dont see this one prying me away from my cyborg RAT7

15-11-2011, 17:25:28

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

Looks a bit like a Razer Mamba ripoff
Well it does use the same laser sensor as the Mamba

15-11-2011, 21:21:56

WelshD1K
Has a rating for price but no price mentioned / on top ??

16-11-2011, 00:02:24

mrDMxtreme
for wireless "gaming" mice i think you should try the logitech g700, i've had it for a little while now and i think its great (and more comfortable then most mice - which is not that common with wireless mice)

16-11-2011, 00:49:26

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by WelshD1K View Post

Has a rating for price but no price mentioned / on top ??
Well in Australia it costs $99.

As a reference, the Razer Mamba 4G costs $159 here, while the Imperator costs $99 and the Steelseries Sensei costs $109.

16-11-2011, 01:19:47

WelshD1K
ogitech g7 sill use it .... wireless mx518 awsome love it almost a smuch as my boomslang

16-11-2011, 01:21:13

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Well in Australia it costs $99.

As a reference, the Razer Mamba 4G costs $159 here, while the Imperator costs $99 and the Steelseries Sensei costs $109.
i know that but it is missing from the review...

16-11-2011, 02:11:13

mrDMxtreme
didnt the review say that its 80pounds? on the last page

16-11-2011, 02:49:14

WelshD1K
top of page where it says from where etc is blank .. all im saying

19-11-2011, 11:48:55

Ya93sin
I honestly couldn't ask for more than a Deathadder when it comes to mice

19-11-2011, 12:44:09

CocaCola
Looks pretty interesting. It still looks like it's modelling after a Lamborghini Reventon.

20-11-2011, 15:32:55

Jerome
Should be good, nice review thanks. I wont buy it though I will upgrade from the Gigabyte m8000 to the m8000X (both wired). Mine has a cilinder packaging like the one you picture and it holds the GIGABYTE mouse mat I'm using. Great quality mouse, I mean to send some ideas to GIGABYTE for improving it when time allows. The laser is very sharp, buttons very responsive and it's worked over 1 year and it hasn't given any trouble, looks nice. The M8000X has a better laser and software and a reader for the distance from the laser to the surface/mouse mat to calibrate the laser and for 40-50 it's great. I prefer the M8000 to the Logitech G9. GIGABYTE are doing very good I think it's really nice
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.