Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review

UP Close - Features

Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review

Up Close cont

Despite the size of the lock indicators, they're very subtly lit. Anyone who's owned a keyboard with what seem to be spare lighthouses on them will appreciate that. Above those are the indicating lights for the touch-sensitive volume control. In case you can't see how far your finger is along.

The top left of the keyboard is where the main parts are found. The Aivia K8100 has five programmable macro keys, and five different profiles, switchable by the mode button on the very top left.

Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review     Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review  

The cable can be routed out the back in two ways, either to the middle-left, or right in the centre. One very handy key is a Win Lock. We have lost count of the amount of times we've gone to crouch and found ourselves staring at the start menu.

Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review     Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review  

Nestled at the back is the toggle for the backlighting on your keys which, as you can see glow a gentle red colour when in action.

Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review     Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review  

Handily the mode key lights up in 5 different colours which all correspond to the profiles that you can set in the Gigabyte Ghost software. Which we'll look at on the next page.

Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review     Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-10-2011, 04:54:37

tinytomlogan
It's not often we see a peripheral from a company more known for its motherboards, so has the K8100 got the chops to cut it in a tight marketplace?



Continue Reading

05-10-2011, 05:10:33

yassarikhan786
Brill review Bryan.

I would have liked to see an option to change the colour of the lights. It does look very nice and the keyboard cover is a nice addition because I'm OCD when it comes to peripheral cleanliness . For 40 you do get some good features but there is nothing that really separates it from other keyboards in a similar price range. So, a bronze award is fair .

05-10-2011, 05:17:27

CocaCola
Looks like an interesting keyboard, but seems like it's only good for basic gaming and everyday typing. All I can say is, that it looks like a Lamborghini Reventon. I think Gigabyte had purposely used the stealth and sleek look of the vehicle on their keyboard.

05-10-2011, 05:38:50

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by CocaCola View Post

Looks like an interesting keyboard, but seems like it's only good for basic gaming and everyday typing. All I can say is, that it looks like a Lamborghini Reventon. I think Gigabyte had purposely used the stealth and sleek look of the vehicle on their keyboard.
Have you seen the yellow one?



05-10-2011, 05:56:57

CocaCola
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Have you seen the yellow one?




Wow.....Yellow Reventon....haha.

The gun metal grey/black looks better colour wise, but this yellow really stands out.

05-10-2011, 06:05:44

silenthill
[/size][size="3"]I was wondering if the software slows down the system because My Logitech G19 software definitely slows down my system even with the latest updates from Logitech.

05-10-2011, 09:31:16

Lollipop
Seems a bet 'meh' to me

05-10-2011, 14:22:17

Ya93sin
I'm happy with my G510

07-10-2011, 09:49:03

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

Seems a bet 'meh' to me
it is abit. But has a really pretty box.

08-10-2011, 11:41:48

Ravious
Nice review as always

14-11-2011, 18:55:24

Chowley
Heh I would be one of the weird few that actually really wants one of these. I havent been sucked in by the mechanical keyboard thing .

Problem is, checking all the sites i know of based in Ireland, UK, Germany, France and Austria I absolutely cannot find a yellow or red one for sale Might have to look harder in the latter two.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.