Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Gigabyte Aivia K8100 Keyboard Review

Introduction

If you mention Gigabyte to the majority of people they'll think of Motherboards. In actuality they produce a whole range of products as one would expect from such a large company, such as keyboards, mice, speakers and graphics cards. Indeed our North American readers might even be familiar with a range of Smart Phones.

Today we're looking at the K8100 Keyboard, part of the new Aivia range that also has a matching mouse which we'll be looking at later. Considering how rarely we see manufacturers branching out into surprising new areas, the Corsair Obsidian was the last that springs to mind, there is a lot of expectations about this new Gigabyte offering.

Gaming keyboards have flooded the market to such an extent that it's harder to find a pure keyboard than it is one with bells and whistles, but has the latest Gigabyte offering got enough to stand out?

Technical Specifications

With a fairly short travel distance the K8100 sits somewhere between a full mechanical switch keyboard and the laptop "scissor" style. The only other thing that instantly stands out is the size. However all will become clear on the next page, so let's get cracking.

InterfaceUSB 2.0
Support OSWindows 98/2000/ME/XP 32bit Vista/Win7 32/64bit
Switch life10 million times
Travel distance3.5+/-0.5mm
Travel to peak1.0+/-0.05mm
Weight1300g
Operating humidity10% to 90 %
Dimension490(L)* 263(W)*32.8(H) mm
CertificationCE, FCC, BSMI, KCC
ColorBlack, Yellow (USI Layout only) , Red (USI Layout only)
Peak force50gr, 60gr, 70gr +/- 10%
Operating temperature-5oC to 40oC

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-10-2011, 04:54:37

tinytomlogan
It's not often we see a peripheral from a company more known for its motherboards, so has the K8100 got the chops to cut it in a tight marketplace?



Continue Reading

05-10-2011, 05:10:33

yassarikhan786
Brill review Bryan.

I would have liked to see an option to change the colour of the lights. It does look very nice and the keyboard cover is a nice addition because I'm OCD when it comes to peripheral cleanliness . For 40 you do get some good features but there is nothing that really separates it from other keyboards in a similar price range. So, a bronze award is fair .

05-10-2011, 05:17:27

CocaCola
Looks like an interesting keyboard, but seems like it's only good for basic gaming and everyday typing. All I can say is, that it looks like a Lamborghini Reventon. I think Gigabyte had purposely used the stealth and sleek look of the vehicle on their keyboard.

05-10-2011, 05:38:50

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by CocaCola View Post

Looks like an interesting keyboard, but seems like it's only good for basic gaming and everyday typing. All I can say is, that it looks like a Lamborghini Reventon. I think Gigabyte had purposely used the stealth and sleek look of the vehicle on their keyboard.
Have you seen the yellow one?



05-10-2011, 05:56:57

CocaCola
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Have you seen the yellow one?




Wow.....Yellow Reventon....haha.

The gun metal grey/black looks better colour wise, but this yellow really stands out.

05-10-2011, 06:05:44

silenthill
[/size][size="3"]I was wondering if the software slows down the system because My Logitech G19 software definitely slows down my system even with the latest updates from Logitech.

05-10-2011, 09:31:16

Lollipop
Seems a bet 'meh' to me

05-10-2011, 14:22:17

Ya93sin
I'm happy with my G510

07-10-2011, 09:49:03

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

Seems a bet 'meh' to me
it is abit. But has a really pretty box.

08-10-2011, 11:41:48

Ravious
Nice review as always

14-11-2011, 18:55:24

Chowley
Heh I would be one of the weird few that actually really wants one of these. I havent been sucked in by the mechanical keyboard thing .

Problem is, checking all the sites i know of based in Ireland, UK, Germany, France and Austria I absolutely cannot find a yellow or red one for sale Might have to look harder in the latter two.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.