Evoluent Vertical Mouse 3 (Rev 2)

Conclusion

Conclusion

The Evoluent Vertical Mouse 3 is a step in the right direction for mice. Instead of manufacturers churning out the same old thing it's about time someone tried to innovate in the input peripherals field. After all, the mouse is one of the most important devices on your PC really..with the keyboard, it's the primary way to interact with your PC.

The Vertical Mouse 3 is a mouse that is incredibly comfortable to use once you are used to it. It certainly reduces wrist and arm pain from using a mouse and is very ergonomic to use, especially with that extra finger button.

Whilst gaming is not the Vertical Mouse's strong-point, it does still manage a good turnout in gaming and adds something with that extra button.

Pricing is a little on the expensive side for $80 US on Evoluent's site, but then you do get a very good mouse for your money.

I would especially recommend the Evoluent Vertical Mouse if you are a sufferer of wrist/arm/finger pain as it does reduce this with it's ergonomic design.

The Evoluent Vertical Mouse get's an "Innovation Award" and a big "OC3D Recommended", for daring to do something different.

Recommended Award Innovation Award

Pro's

+ Great ergonomics
+ Solid gaming performance
+ Excellent for professional applications
+ Good looking

Con's

- Expensive
- On-the-fly DPI adjustment hard to use
- Thumb button is a little too easy to press

*Update from Evoluent*

"dpi adjustment can also be done by software: a mouse button or keyboard shortcut can be assigned to change the pointer speed. See the Pointer Speed tab in the Mouse Manager."


Thanks to Evoluent for the review sample

Discuss in our Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-07-2007, 17:23:29

FarFarAway
Evo...who?

Find out who, and what and indeed why inside...

click

02-07-2007, 17:29:03

Mr. Smith
I looked at getting a vertical mouse some time ago but though it might be a bit of a novelty... Seems to work pretty well.

Decent review

02-07-2007, 17:39:28

Bungral
Cool mouse.. Don't think i'd want one though.. As much as the normal mouse is the same and boring, well, i'm the same and boring so it suits me well

Also good review.. I think i'd find it quite hard to come up with 5 pages on a mouse.

1 typo though

The mouse was comfortable so use and being able to assign buttons to different tasks in the Evoluent software was handy.

Edit: Page 4 just incase ya feel like changing..

02-07-2007, 17:42:01

MikeEnIke
You would think the hand model would cut his nails before getting the picture taken. It may look silly, but kemp you planning to use it full time?

02-07-2007, 17:51:03

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Cool mouse.. Don't think i'd want one though.. As much as the normal mouse is the same and boring, well, i'm the same and boring so it suits me well

Also good review.. I think i'd find it quite hard to come up with 5 pages on a mouse.

1 typo though

The mouse was comfortable so use and being able to assign buttons to different tasks in the Evoluent software was handy.

Edit: Page 4 just incase ya feel like changing..
Cheers amended

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
You would think the hand model would cut his nails before getting the picture taken. It may look silly, but kemp you planning to use it full time?
I do use it full time. Still debating switching back to the G5...but I don't game anywhere near as much as I used to and the Evoluent Mouse is much more comfortable in general use.

Once UT3 comes about I may switch back to the G5

03-07-2007, 08:08:09

old.gregg
already wanted to get one of these and now after reading this good review I want one more so - but price is so steep.

Found out of stock for 57, but even that is too much really.

Check out the Evoluent mouse friendly keyboard - with the numeric keypad on the LHS.

04-07-2007, 16:23:36

clive r
Thanks for the review Matt, that's interesting as I was just looking into getting one of these. I've had rsi problems on and off for a few years now, my old ball mouse (yes!) is getting really ropey, but everything else I try seems to make the problem worse.

From the screenshot it looks like you can customise the buttons for different apps. If that could include the dpi setting then that'd solve your res changing issue.

Has anyone found a Uk supplier of these at reasonable cost? They're available from the States on Ebay for around 45, but i'm not sure I want to risk the tax lottery on this one.

04-07-2007, 19:08:21

FarFarAway

05-07-2007, 04:38:36

clive r
Hmm, at those prices it's probably worth importing one.

Incidentally, the VerticalMouse's developer is suing Microsoft over the design of their Wireless Laser Mouse 6000. See here.

Perhaps if he wins the price will come down a bit!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.