Evoluent Vertical Mouse 3 (Rev 2)

Test Setup and Notes

Test Setup

To give you an idea of what the mouse is like I have set up the Evoluent Vertical Mouse 3 on my main PC and used it for about two weeks.

Specs:

Intel Xeon 3070 @ 3.6GHz
Abit IP35 Pro
2gb Cellshock DDR800 @ DDR1100 5-5-5-15
Gainward 8800 Ultra
2 x Hitachi Deskstar 7K160
Tagan 1100w PSU
Custom Lian Li PC71b
Custom Watercooling
Dell 2405 FPW Monitor
Saitek Eclipse II Keyboard

I used a variety of mousemats to test:

Icemat V1
Free hard mousemat
Office-style cloth mousemat

For a comparison I am using the Logitech G5 mouse.

As the Evoluent Vertical Mouse is intended for Office and Professional use, mainly aimed at those with mouse-related injuries, the Vertical Mouse 3 does have a gaming grade laser in it. Here is what I will use for testing:

* Adobe Photoshop detailed photo-editing

* Macromedia Fireworks banner making

* Microsoft Office work (general including Outlook, Excel, Access, Word and Powerpoint)

* General web browsing/article writing

* Gaming: FPS - Counter Strike: Source

* Gaming: RTS - Command and Conquer 3

This should cover a good range of situations that you would use the mouse in.

Also note I have lived with and used the mouse for two weeks for fairness.

Note that Evoluent sent me their keyboard and keyboard rest too. Although the keyboard wasn't to my taste (I am not a fan of laptop -style keyboards), the rest is excellent for keyboard use.

evoluent set
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-07-2007, 17:23:29

FarFarAway
Evo...who?

Find out who, and what and indeed why inside...

click

02-07-2007, 17:29:03

Mr. Smith
I looked at getting a vertical mouse some time ago but though it might be a bit of a novelty... Seems to work pretty well.

Decent review

02-07-2007, 17:39:28

Bungral
Cool mouse.. Don't think i'd want one though.. As much as the normal mouse is the same and boring, well, i'm the same and boring so it suits me well

Also good review.. I think i'd find it quite hard to come up with 5 pages on a mouse.

1 typo though

The mouse was comfortable so use and being able to assign buttons to different tasks in the Evoluent software was handy.

Edit: Page 4 just incase ya feel like changing..

02-07-2007, 17:42:01

MikeEnIke
You would think the hand model would cut his nails before getting the picture taken. It may look silly, but kemp you planning to use it full time?

02-07-2007, 17:51:03

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Cool mouse.. Don't think i'd want one though.. As much as the normal mouse is the same and boring, well, i'm the same and boring so it suits me well

Also good review.. I think i'd find it quite hard to come up with 5 pages on a mouse.

1 typo though

The mouse was comfortable so use and being able to assign buttons to different tasks in the Evoluent software was handy.

Edit: Page 4 just incase ya feel like changing..
Cheers amended

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
You would think the hand model would cut his nails before getting the picture taken. It may look silly, but kemp you planning to use it full time?
I do use it full time. Still debating switching back to the G5...but I don't game anywhere near as much as I used to and the Evoluent Mouse is much more comfortable in general use.

Once UT3 comes about I may switch back to the G5

03-07-2007, 08:08:09

old.gregg
already wanted to get one of these and now after reading this good review I want one more so - but price is so steep.

Found out of stock for 57, but even that is too much really.

Check out the Evoluent mouse friendly keyboard - with the numeric keypad on the LHS.

04-07-2007, 16:23:36

clive r
Thanks for the review Matt, that's interesting as I was just looking into getting one of these. I've had rsi problems on and off for a few years now, my old ball mouse (yes!) is getting really ropey, but everything else I try seems to make the problem worse.

From the screenshot it looks like you can customise the buttons for different apps. If that could include the dpi setting then that'd solve your res changing issue.

Has anyone found a Uk supplier of these at reasonable cost? They're available from the States on Ebay for around 45, but i'm not sure I want to risk the tax lottery on this one.

04-07-2007, 19:08:21

FarFarAway

05-07-2007, 04:38:36

clive r
Hmm, at those prices it's probably worth importing one.

Incidentally, the VerticalMouse's developer is suing Microsoft over the design of their Wireless Laser Mouse 6000. See here.

Perhaps if he wins the price will come down a bit!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.