Evoluent Vertical Mouse 3 (Rev 2)

The mouse, close up and hand positioning

Meet the mouse: Evoluent Vertical Mouse 3 (Rev 2)

The Evoluent Vertical Mouse is very different from your run-of-the-mill mice that we see throughout the web every day. Your hand does not rest on the mouse flat, instead it stays level as if you were holding a glass or cup. Evoluent claim that this is a far more natural style for holding a mouse.

evoluent mouse

evoluent vertical mouse 4 evoluent vertical mouse 3 rear view

First impressions of the mouse are favourable. The plastic is a sort of mat black and is quite tactile to the touch. The front is a more smooth plastic and the thumb button is a slick plastic. The colour scheme and look of the mouse is pretty neat in my opinion.

evoluent vertical mouse

As you can see the Vertical Mouse has 3 buttons that your fingers rest on, as well as the normal click/scroll wheel. I will comment on use later on in the review. The silver effect is actually quite pleasing to the eye.

vertical mouse 3 vertical mouse 3

The feet of the mouse are round and quite small but they seem to glide across the surface pretty well. One of the major bug-bears I have with the Vertical Mouse is that the laser DPI selector is on the bottom of the mouse, making it impossible for on-the-fly sensitivity switching.

The cord on the mouse is made of plastic and feels pretty sturdy, although it's slightly lacking in the braided quality that the Logitech G5 offers

Hand Positioning

As this is a new style of mouse I thought that the positioning of the hands was pretty critical so I am going to say a little about it here. The Evoluent Vertical Mouse 3 is designed for your hands to sit in a vertical fashion (as the name suggests). Here's what it means:

vertical mouse use vertical mouse use

vertical mouse in use

This is quite different to how I normally hold a mouse and certainly took some getting used to. It is actually very comfortable, but takes time for you to adjust to as at first it feels very uncomfortable.

The buttons are positioned very well and all are both easy to reach and well designed for your hand. The only small quibble I had after I had gotten used to the mouse was that the thumb button was a little too easy to push in and so I inadvertantly pushed it a couple of times.

The mouse literally fits right into your hand and I must say I was impressed.

One thing to note is that people with very small hands may find it hard to use. My fiancée found it pretty hard to get to grips with the mouse when I asked her to try it out.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-07-2007, 17:23:29

FarFarAway
Evo...who?

Find out who, and what and indeed why inside...

click

02-07-2007, 17:29:03

Mr. Smith
I looked at getting a vertical mouse some time ago but though it might be a bit of a novelty... Seems to work pretty well.

Decent review

02-07-2007, 17:39:28

Bungral
Cool mouse.. Don't think i'd want one though.. As much as the normal mouse is the same and boring, well, i'm the same and boring so it suits me well

Also good review.. I think i'd find it quite hard to come up with 5 pages on a mouse.

1 typo though

The mouse was comfortable so use and being able to assign buttons to different tasks in the Evoluent software was handy.

Edit: Page 4 just incase ya feel like changing..

02-07-2007, 17:42:01

MikeEnIke
You would think the hand model would cut his nails before getting the picture taken. It may look silly, but kemp you planning to use it full time?

02-07-2007, 17:51:03

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
Cool mouse.. Don't think i'd want one though.. As much as the normal mouse is the same and boring, well, i'm the same and boring so it suits me well

Also good review.. I think i'd find it quite hard to come up with 5 pages on a mouse.

1 typo though

The mouse was comfortable so use and being able to assign buttons to different tasks in the Evoluent software was handy.

Edit: Page 4 just incase ya feel like changing..
Cheers amended

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
You would think the hand model would cut his nails before getting the picture taken. It may look silly, but kemp you planning to use it full time?
I do use it full time. Still debating switching back to the G5...but I don't game anywhere near as much as I used to and the Evoluent Mouse is much more comfortable in general use.

Once UT3 comes about I may switch back to the G5

03-07-2007, 08:08:09

old.gregg
already wanted to get one of these and now after reading this good review I want one more so - but price is so steep.

Found out of stock for 57, but even that is too much really.

Check out the Evoluent mouse friendly keyboard - with the numeric keypad on the LHS.

04-07-2007, 16:23:36

clive r
Thanks for the review Matt, that's interesting as I was just looking into getting one of these. I've had rsi problems on and off for a few years now, my old ball mouse (yes!) is getting really ropey, but everything else I try seems to make the problem worse.

From the screenshot it looks like you can customise the buttons for different apps. If that could include the dpi setting then that'd solve your res changing issue.

Has anyone found a Uk supplier of these at reasonable cost? They're available from the States on Ebay for around 45, but i'm not sure I want to risk the tax lottery on this one.

04-07-2007, 19:08:21

FarFarAway

05-07-2007, 04:38:36

clive r
Hmm, at those prices it's probably worth importing one.

Incidentally, the VerticalMouse's developer is suing Microsoft over the design of their Wireless Laser Mouse 6000. See here.

Perhaps if he wins the price will come down a bit!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.