Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review

Lighting

Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review

Lighting

So what does the F10 mode actually cycle between? The default state is all lighting off. The first press illuminates the main keyboard, leaving the Function keys dark.

Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review     Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review  

The second press lights up all the keys at 60% brightness (adjustable with F11/F12). The third mode is a breathing mode, which is nice if the keyboard is static but a little distracting, in our opinion, for regular use.

Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review     Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review  

The fourth mode is the coolest. It has the whole keyboard darkened and the keys light up when you press them. The fifth mode is impossible to photograph and about as useful. The whole keyboard is black except the F-Keys light up one at a time from left to right and back, akin to either the front of KITT or a Cyclon depending upon which 80s TV show you watched.

Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review     Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review  

Finally we have two custom modes. Out of the box this lights up the WASD keys on mode 1 and the cursors on mode 2. But with the record mode activated you can manually choose which keys are lit up. Obviously we use it to just light up OC3D, but you can do anything you wish, from checkerboard alternate keys, to just the ones for your particular game.

Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review     Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-10-2012, 07:31:00

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...095814642l.JPG

Today we're taking a look at a high-end mechanical keyboard from Ducky Channel, the Shine 2.


Continue Reading

29-10-2012, 08:46:46

TuNk77
I wish Ducky Shine keyboards where available in my country.

But, I see that this particular keyboard is available for $146 in the US, witch is a bit unfair, when compared to the European prices.

29-10-2012, 08:48:32

fredrikfh
I really don't get the whole mechanical keyboard pricing. Some of them are good and cheap, others are good and expensive. Does really brand and shape matter that much?

I still use a Logitech Illuminated keyboard, which btw. is awezumz.

29-10-2012, 08:55:09

SPS
Great lighting features but apart from that I don't see why you wouldn't just pick up the K90 which is much reasonably priced and features the all-powerful volume scroller (which I couldn't live without now).

29-10-2012, 09:23:07

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredrikfh View Post
I really don't get the whole mechanical keyboard pricing. Some of them are good and cheap, others are good and expensive. Does really brand and shape matter that much?

I still use a Logitech Illuminated keyboard, which btw. is awezumz.
Like anything I think it's to do with volume. Those Cherry switches aren't cheap, and so if you are a low-volume manufacturer then you can't get the same wholesale prices, so the price goes up.

It's also dependant upon other features. This particular keyboard has n-key rollover. You can hold down the whole keyboard and every key registers. That's an expensive thing to implement.

So combine the two and you have a wildly differing price structure. Although equally there is some "brand pricing" as there is everywhere else. An Alienware isn't worth what they charge, a Vuitton bag doesn't cost more to make than a M&S one, the list is endless. Some manu's just choose to charge more.

29-10-2012, 10:40:31

andrewmchugh
Bronze!? WAT

04-11-2012, 23:01:06

jamdox
The 6-key/n-key rollover dipswitch is there for Mac compatibility, since the OSX (AFAIK) can handle 6 no problem, but gets confused with n-key rollover. In case that was one of the seemingly pointless options

16-11-2012, 10:57:50

Initialised
Do you know where I can get the Green LED version in the UK?

16-11-2012, 13:19:34

IsaacJDean
You could try tigerimports, even with shipping from overseas it's still about the normal price (not sure about duty/vat though)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.