Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review

Software and Lighting

Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review

Software

We're using the very latest software for our review today. Everything is very well laid out and extremely easy to use. You can adjust delay times, remove them entirely, have keys on repeat, a whole array of possibilities.

Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review     Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review  

The most basic functions are prebuilt into the software so you can assign the more obvious ones if you desire. Although that would be hugely missing the point of 54 Macro key possibilities.

Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review     Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review  

Recording is as simple as pressing the macro record button, selecting the memory bank and key to record to and getting on with it. Once you've finished press MR again and you can then tweak it still further if you wish to. It's one of the simplest systems we've seen.

Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review     Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review  

There is something missing, but we'll cover than in the conclusion.

Lighting

There are three different brightnesses available with the lighting, because off doesn't count, and on the left we have it at its lowest setting and on the right at its brightest. It's worth noting that even on full brightness it's not dazzling and, thankfully, the lock indicators are a soft glow, rather than the lighthouse that you get on other keyboards (hello SteelSeries 7G).

Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review     Corsair Vengeance K90 Keyboard Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-01-2012, 03:58:12

tinytomlogan


After branching out into the case world, Corsair are now taking on the peripheral market. How does the K90 stack up?

Continue Reading

23-01-2012, 04:11:05

XnaX
When the light's on, it's not exactly eyepleasing to me, but DAMN does that backlighting make my weener go "boing!" xD

23-01-2012, 05:03:37

yassarikhan786
Great review Bryan. I really like the look of this keyboard, but the lighting does seem kind of uneven. Not a deal breaker though as overall it look's like another fantastic product from Corsair.

23-01-2012, 07:24:45

dugdiamond
classy looking keyboard

if the G-keys were lit too, i'ld buy one

23-01-2012, 07:25:54

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

classy looking keyboard

if the G-keys were lit too, i'ld buy one
The G keys have the numbers lit just not backlit

23-01-2012, 07:30:00

dugdiamond
it looks damn easy to clean too - i hate having to turn my G19 upside down, and banging it, to get **** out of it. the k90 would just need can-o-air (or a make-up brush)

23-01-2012, 07:52:16

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

classy looking keyboard

if the G-keys were lit too, i'ld buy one
Yeah the G-keys are lit perfectly well, but they are light. The idea was to keep the G-keys separate from the rest of the to not confuse when typing, hence why there are also so much lower down.

23-01-2012, 08:02:26

DJCW
Are all the keys on this 1 mechanical? I have the K60 and on that the Escape, F-keys, print scr, scroll lock, pause, insert, delete, home, end, page up and down are non mechanical which you really should mention if that is also the case with this 1 and do believe that is the case.

23-01-2012, 08:19:09

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJCW View Post

Are all the keys on this 1 mechanical? I have the K60 and on that the Escape, F-keys, print scr, scroll lock, pause, insert, delete, home, end, page up and down are non mechanical which you really should mention if that is also the case with this 1 and do believe that is the case.
Yep it is the same with the K90, it's mentioned in the tech specs

23-01-2012, 08:28:43

Excalabur50
Really love that blue colour it is so soothing and what a classy looking keyboard gotta be one of the best iv'e seen.

23-01-2012, 10:27:48

nex-s
How is it Tom that you can't stand noisy fans, but are totally ok with the loud noise this keyboard makes when typing?

23-01-2012, 11:46:37

B NEGATIVE
If only it had multi colour LED instead of the same,tired blue that is so common....

23-01-2012, 15:33:54

Sammjoey
Just saying, posibbly mostly to tom, when youve got a minute look at the video review ttl did and have CC subtitles on and just read that, its hilarous!

23-01-2012, 16:56:44

Philib
Why would they not light up the G-keys?

23-01-2012, 17:33:00

Grim_Reaper
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

it looks damn easy to clean too - i hate having to turn my G19 upside down, and banging it, to get **** out of it. the k90 would just need can-o-air (or a make-up brush)
The words of truth. It was just what I actually wanted to say. I like my G15, but dang, how it's annoyingly difficult to clean all the crap beyond the keys. This is why I like this concept a lot. Few drops of spirit and brush should do the job well. And I hate how noisier my W,A,S,D keys and some others ones became compared to the rest hundred of keys. Would be completely brilliant keyboard if the keys would work properly a bit more than few years. But yeah, aluminum flat top will do the job.

23-01-2012, 21:08:54

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by nex-s View Post

How is it Tom that you can't stand noisy fans, but are totally ok with the loud noise this keyboard makes when typing?
There is a difference between a clicky sound that you know will come when you press a button and listening to a leafblower for 30 mins.

23-01-2012, 22:17:54

hmmblah
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

There is a difference between a clicky sound that you know will come when you press a button and listening to a leafblower for 30 mins.
And I have to say, mechanical keys have a really satisfying click to them. I don't find them annoying at all, but someone in another room might.

24-01-2012, 12:46:40

nex-s
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

There is a difference between a clicky sound that you know will come when you press a button and listening to a leafblower for 30 mins.
Well, for that matter, you are well aware of the fan sound too and you know it's coming...

24-01-2012, 13:15:03

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by nex-s View Post

Well, for that matter, you are well aware of the fan sound too and you know it's coming...
Lmao fan noise cannot be compared the soothing sound of a mechanical keyboard.

25-01-2012, 16:05:07

MutleyUK
A nice looking KB put it should be at the price. For that amount I would expect it to make my tea, Dinner and wipe my botty for me

27-01-2012, 02:29:50

Suavity
I think I may consider buying this keyboard, just the customization and the mechanic keystroke sounds really caught my attention.

09-02-2012, 15:51:04

mini me
I've recently purchased the K90, and its just awesome. This is my first gaming keyboard I've bought and it feels very nice when using it. The keys are sturdy and feel durable, and the back lighting looks great. Would recommend this to anyone

14-02-2012, 17:05:52

silat
Some of you are complaining about clicky noise from this keyboard.

It uses Cherry MX Reds. Reds are NON CLICKY LINEAR KEYS..

14-02-2012, 19:22:38

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by silat View Post

Some of you are complaining about clicky noise from this keyboard.

It uses Cherry MX Reds. Reds are NON CLICKY LINEAR KEYS..
They are still louder than rubber dome keys - but it's a nice sound.

15-02-2012, 05:05:12

UltraNEO*
Looks and sounds great!! Unfortunately it's packaging is slightly misleading and doesn't state it's only partially mechanical!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.