Corsair Vengeance K60 Keyboard Review

Conclusion

Corsair Vengeance K60 Keyboard Review

Conclusion

It's difficult to sum up the K60 without repeating all that we've said about the K90, because it all holds true here too. So if you've already read that you can skip to the bottom.

The primary thing you come away from the K60 feeling is how incredibly well it's engineered. It reminds us of the SteelSeries 7H and we can't think of much higher praise. Despite being the 'lesser' of the two Corsair Vengeance Keyboards it hasn't lost any of the build-quality of its bigger brother.

The chassis is aluminium and not the thin type that fizz cans are made from, but really thick stuff that could probably double as a bullet-proof vest in a pinch. The media keys are equally hardy and the quality of the volume control has to be felt to be believed. It's such a well designed product that it will certainly last you for many many years.

As for the keys, those Cherry MX Red switches have earned their reputation as providers of a very tactile, enjoyable typing experience that requires far less pressure than you expect. So often people look at a mechanical keyboard and assume you need to press hard and deep for the key to actuate. This is piffle. 45g of pressure and only 2mm of depth will see your key appear, and that's equivalent to all but the extreme end of the laptop keyboard scale. Yes they can be pressed down a lot, but you don't need to.

The sculpted keys take a tiny bit of getting used to, but allow you to get quite vicious without fear of sliding off, if such a thing is your bag. The K60 can certainly take a pounding.

Unfortunately there is a slight fly in the ointment. The K60 is only £20 cheaper than the K90, currently retailing for £85 at Aria. Now you're getting a lot of keyboard for your money, but the K90 has 18 macro keys, software, lighting, three memory banks and yet only costs £20 more. So relative to another product we think the K60 is about a tenner too expensive. It's bulletproof and wonderful, but £85 is a bit steep for what is basically a standard keyboard just built extraordinarily well.

For that reason we can only award it our OC3D Silver Award. The product is definitely worthy of the Gold, just the pricing needs a tiny tweak.

   

Thanks to Corsair for providing the Vengeance K60 for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-03-2012, 07:05:54

tinytomlogan


If you want all the build quality of the K90, but don't have a need for macros, the K60 should be right up your alley.

Continue Reading

09-03-2012, 09:27:42

trazom
Nice review.

It would have been illuminated I have bought it without hesitation. Pity.

09-03-2012, 10:13:17

Lollipop
Did anybody notice it says OC3D in the picture?

09-03-2012, 10:16:25

ExtremeBB
Is everything from Corsair now "Vengeance" ?!

/goes to search what it means...

09-03-2012, 10:50:19

CrissTM
Nice, but way to expensive in my opinion.

By the way, the Roccat Isku looks better (just a matter of taste).

10x for the nice review.

09-03-2012, 13:30:22

mini me
Great review as always , I was considering the K60, but bought the K90 as I like my blue But this is still a nice keyboard by the looks of it

10-03-2012, 08:10:37

yassarikhan786
Nice review .

10-03-2012, 09:06:24

dipzy
If only this looked exactly like the K90 with the lighting and the full length arm rest, it be bloody brilliant

10-03-2012, 11:12:13

mini me
Quote:
Originally Posted by dipzy View Post

If only this looked exactly like the M90 with the lighting and the full length arm rest, it be bloody brilliant
Don't you mean the K90?

10-03-2012, 11:35:23

dipzy
Quote:
Originally Posted by mini me View Post

Don't you mean the K90?
yup

10-03-2012, 23:19:29

MaXiMiZe
Great review Bryan.

11-03-2012, 08:38:20

Filekutter
I'm sold. I really do love mechanical keyboards and that one looks the bomb. A tad pricey, but I'd say its worth it probably. Thanks muchly for the well done review

13-11-2012, 12:44:30

ianucci
I just got one of these and im a bit disappointed with it. My issues may not bother other people however.

I dont like the aluminium case, its too reflective, I'm going back to a traditionaly boring black keyboard.

The caps lock etc lights are too bright, irritatingly distracting for me.

In addition to this my K60 is not stable, spending 80 quid on a keyboard I dont expect it to be wobbly, so I am hoping to get a refund.

13-11-2012, 14:24:50

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ianucci View Post
I just got one of these and im a bit disappointed with it. My issues may not bother other people however.

I dont like the aluminium case, its too reflective, I'm going back to a traditionaly boring black keyboard.

The caps lock etc lights are too bright, irritatingly distracting for me.

In addition to this my K60 is not stable, spending 80 quid on a keyboard I dont expect it to be wobbly, so I am hoping to get a refund.
Slightly confused, I never had any of these issues..
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.