CM Storm Xornet Review

Testing and Conclusion

CM Storm Xornet Review

Testing and Conclusion

To say that the Xornet is a pleasant surprise would be a huge understatement.

If you just look at the specifications it's easy to be underwhelmed. It has no lighting or customisation. The sensor is definitely at the bottom end of what can still be considered a gaming mouse. It's only available in black and is quite plastic-y to say the least. Finally that price tag of under £20, and from a company with a lot of brand identity, tends to ring alarm bells.

However the moment you start using it all those things melt away and it's impossible not to love the Xornet.

The design is amazingly comfortable. That bit of extra room out on the right really helps keep the compact little mouse under control and although a lot of the case is made out of that hard shiny plastic it has soft grippy rubber in all the right places. It doesn't even feel cheap. Sure it's really light as there are no weights in it, nor any frippery to increase the standard weight but it's not flimsy.

When thinking of the Xornet the word that springs to mind is chunky. Because of the reduced length and increased width, along with a decent height, even my rather large mitts could hold it comfortably. The buttons have a lovely reassuring click to them and the scroll wheel, often a stumbling block on affordable rodents, is precise but quiet.

Of course the sensor, at 2000DPI, is by no means up there with the mega sensors we've seen on some really high end mice, but for the average person this isn't an issue at all. 2000DPI is plenty responsive enough for nearly every application without being so fast that daily tasks require endless profile switching.

At the higher end of the price spectrum designers often feel they need to justify the price with strange angles and features. The Xornet is the polar opposite of this. It's like beans on toast. Cheap, but flawless. It has a refreshing simplicity to it that works so well you find yourself questioning if you really do need all those extra bit of frippery we normally demand.

For under £20 it's impossible not to fall in love with it. It's amazing value for money, comfortable, and does all that you require a mouse to do. Sure it wont cause anyone who passes to drop their jaw in wonderment but for a plug and forget solution to your pointer needs it's a gloriously honest, blue-collar product.

All the production cost and design focus has been spent in all the right areas, leaving you with a product that makes its low price tag seem like the bargain of the year. Worthy of our Gold Award and our Value for Money. Brilliant.

       

Thanks to CM Storm for supplying the Xornet for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-12-2011, 05:11:34

tinytomlogan


Today we take a look at the latest CM Storm gaming mouse, the Xornet. At an affordable price, is it good value?

Continue Reading

14-12-2011, 05:28:53

dugdiamond
nice mouse

it looks a bit fat, and i cannot tell from the pics of the actual size.

i had to get my ruler out, and measure my deathadder for a comparison.... and yes - it's fat

14-12-2011, 05:44:11

Pendragon
Given how skint everyone is these days we may see more company's taking this approach. Good honest value. My old Razer died a month back, I looked and looked but just couldn't afford something nice. I ended up with some Chinese import off eBay not bad but no where near good either! This mouse would fit the bill right now.

14-12-2011, 16:20:51

Ravious
Nice mouse and nice review!

14-12-2011, 17:32:31

V1Viper
Good review as always Tom!

14-12-2011, 18:35:30

ScunnyUK
Nice Review,

I just bought this mouse yesterday and it arrived earlier tonight at teatime. Upon seeing the mouse I thought it looked tiny compared to the 4.8 inch Gigabyte M6900 it is replacing, in fact I didnt beleave it was its advertised 4.2 inches and had to measure it

I have been playing BF3 with it for a couple of hours and it does seem a good mouse but the 2000 DPI feels a bit too slow to me and the 2 lower DPI speeds are really slow to the point of been unusable for me ( even too slow for sniping)

As I mensioned the mouse is tiny (in length) and as I have big hands it isnt really right for me but if you tend to hold your mouse with your finger tips rather than lay your hand down flat on the mouse then you should get on fine with it, that said though I didnt have any real problems playing and aiming with the mouse and pretty much got on fine with it

Oh and yes its fat

14-12-2011, 19:08:03

OEOTS
Thanks for the review Bryan, looks like to perfect mouse to replace my work laptop one...

The generic one I use now just isn't up to the task of working in audio software.

Which reminds me , do you know if it actually works on OS X?

15-12-2011, 02:45:32

f0x.
My little cousin is going to be getting into pc gaming soon, hello christmas present

16-12-2011, 07:46:00

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by OEOTS View Post

Which reminds me , do you know if it actually works on OS X?
There is no software at all, just Plug n Play.

18-12-2011, 08:48:45

MartinLondon
Just bought this mouse as I have been looking for a dedicated claw grip mouse for AGES but didn't want to fork out the cash for a G9. I am using it with a Boogie XL pad and this mouse is the best purchase I have ever made.

The DPI settings are more than enough and I only use the 1000DPI setting, sometimes going down to the lowest one for sniping. I am a low sens gamer and the DPI settings are perfect. It is so small and light that I sometimes don't even feel I am using it.

The most important thing to me is lift off distance and with the latest firmware version 55 this mouse has the lowest LOD I have ever used, even better than my previous Logitech G1, which was also a great mouse.

To sum up, if you are a claw/fingertip gamer looking for a light mouse with some DPI settings, a few extra side buttons and low Lift off distance then you cannot beat this mouse, I got it for 17 quid for crying out loud! It is a great move by CM to target this part of the market, good job!

19-12-2011, 07:30:30

VonBlade
I'm glad you agree

06-01-2012, 02:41:13

XnaX
Am I the only one being turned off by the fairly low DPI and the fact that it's not a laser mouse?

11-03-2013, 13:50:17

Tripp
Just bought this mouse based on this review

26-03-2013, 02:04:41

Limilicious
I'm debating over this or Razer Abyssus since their prices are pretty similar right now on Amazon (25 for this, 32 for Abyssus). I know this have a few extra buttons, but I'm not really looking for anything topnotch or intense gaming. Or even games that require hot key allocations.

Any recommendations?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.