CM Storm Xornet Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

CM Storm Xornet Review

Introduction

We've often commented here at OC3D at how mice are most definitely split into two camps. There are your generic 2 or 3 button jobs that come with a prebuilt PC from your local emporium and cost about £2, and gaming mice which tend to be stacked to the gills with bells and whistles and cost anything up to £100+.

What the market is crying out for is a no frills gaming mouse. Great sensor, a few buttons, affordable price.

CM Storm had a stab at this with the CM Storm Spawn, which came with a 3200DPI sensor and otherwise very little else. Unfortunately it was priced just on the fringes of the middle-range gaming mice that have lighting and macros, so having gone back to the drawing board and designed something capable of being priced even cheaper, they have produced the Xornet.

Available just under £20 this is extremely affordable, so does it provide enough thrills to be a worthy purchase?

Technical Specifications

As you can see from the specs, this is a compact number with everything pared to the bone. The primary point of interest is the 2000DPI sensor, which is obviously a long way below the high-end sensors we've seen on a lot of gaming mice, but equally it's just sensitive enough to be perfect for your average gamer.

Model Number SGM-2001-BLON1
Available Color Black
Material Rubber Grip / ABS Plastic
Dimensions (L) 107 X (W) 75 X (H) 35 mm / (L) 4.2 X (W) 4 X (H) 1.3 inch  
Net Weight 142 g / 0.313 lb 
Sensor 2000 DPI Storm Tactical Optical Sensor
Maximum Tracking Speed 160 IPS
Maximum Acceleration 23 g
Polling Time 1.0 ms
Speed Measurement 6700 FPS
Onboard Memory 8 Kb
Form Factor Right Hand Ergonomic
Button Assignment 5 mouse buttons+ 2 fix function buttons
Weight System No


Let's get up close and personal with the Xornet then.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-12-2011, 05:11:34

tinytomlogan


Today we take a look at the latest CM Storm gaming mouse, the Xornet. At an affordable price, is it good value?

Continue Reading

14-12-2011, 05:28:53

dugdiamond
nice mouse

it looks a bit fat, and i cannot tell from the pics of the actual size.

i had to get my ruler out, and measure my deathadder for a comparison.... and yes - it's fat

14-12-2011, 05:44:11

Pendragon
Given how skint everyone is these days we may see more company's taking this approach. Good honest value. My old Razer died a month back, I looked and looked but just couldn't afford something nice. I ended up with some Chinese import off eBay not bad but no where near good either! This mouse would fit the bill right now.

14-12-2011, 16:20:51

Ravious
Nice mouse and nice review!

14-12-2011, 17:32:31

V1Viper
Good review as always Tom!

14-12-2011, 18:35:30

ScunnyUK
Nice Review,

I just bought this mouse yesterday and it arrived earlier tonight at teatime. Upon seeing the mouse I thought it looked tiny compared to the 4.8 inch Gigabyte M6900 it is replacing, in fact I didnt beleave it was its advertised 4.2 inches and had to measure it

I have been playing BF3 with it for a couple of hours and it does seem a good mouse but the 2000 DPI feels a bit too slow to me and the 2 lower DPI speeds are really slow to the point of been unusable for me ( even too slow for sniping)

As I mensioned the mouse is tiny (in length) and as I have big hands it isnt really right for me but if you tend to hold your mouse with your finger tips rather than lay your hand down flat on the mouse then you should get on fine with it, that said though I didnt have any real problems playing and aiming with the mouse and pretty much got on fine with it

Oh and yes its fat

14-12-2011, 19:08:03

OEOTS
Thanks for the review Bryan, looks like to perfect mouse to replace my work laptop one...

The generic one I use now just isn't up to the task of working in audio software.

Which reminds me , do you know if it actually works on OS X?

15-12-2011, 02:45:32

f0x.
My little cousin is going to be getting into pc gaming soon, hello christmas present

16-12-2011, 07:46:00

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by OEOTS View Post

Which reminds me , do you know if it actually works on OS X?
There is no software at all, just Plug n Play.

18-12-2011, 08:48:45

MartinLondon
Just bought this mouse as I have been looking for a dedicated claw grip mouse for AGES but didn't want to fork out the cash for a G9. I am using it with a Boogie XL pad and this mouse is the best purchase I have ever made.

The DPI settings are more than enough and I only use the 1000DPI setting, sometimes going down to the lowest one for sniping. I am a low sens gamer and the DPI settings are perfect. It is so small and light that I sometimes don't even feel I am using it.

The most important thing to me is lift off distance and with the latest firmware version 55 this mouse has the lowest LOD I have ever used, even better than my previous Logitech G1, which was also a great mouse.

To sum up, if you are a claw/fingertip gamer looking for a light mouse with some DPI settings, a few extra side buttons and low Lift off distance then you cannot beat this mouse, I got it for 17 quid for crying out loud! It is a great move by CM to target this part of the market, good job!

19-12-2011, 07:30:30

VonBlade
I'm glad you agree

06-01-2012, 02:41:13

XnaX
Am I the only one being turned off by the fairly low DPI and the fact that it's not a laser mouse?

11-03-2013, 13:50:17

Tripp
Just bought this mouse based on this review

26-03-2013, 02:04:41

Limilicious
I'm debating over this or Razer Abyssus since their prices are pretty similar right now on Amazon (25 for this, 32 for Abyssus). I know this have a few extra buttons, but I'm not really looking for anything topnotch or intense gaming. Or even games that require hot key allocations.

Any recommendations?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.