Zotac GTS450 AMP! Review

Gaming Benchmarks

Zotac GTS450 AMP! Review

Crysis Warhead

Given how much Crysis enjoys the PhysX provided by the nVidia GPUs it's a bit of a surprise to see the GTS450 falling behind the HD5770 as well as the GTX460. There are only one or two frames in it though so it's certainly not a deal-breaker.

 

Dirt 2

So far the GTS450 AMP! has been looking like a gaming bargain, being very close to the GTX460 in all our tests so far. Dirt 2 definitely has a massive drop off from the GTX460 to the GTS450 AMP!. Unquestionably the HD5770 remains nailed to the GTS450, but the GTX460 is a long way ahead.

 

STALKER Call of Pripyat

Stalker has given us a few strange results in its time and so we've dropped it off the review list. However the latest update for Metro 2033 has given stability issues and so Stalker is dusted off one more time. It's probably wise to ignore the stock result as being anomylous. The other results follow the pattern we've seen in our previous tests with the GTS450 AMP! giving a good account of itself and certainly nailing itself as a good choice in the value end of the market.

 

Resolution Tests

Despite the good showing at our standard testing resolution, we didn't want to leave you having to work out an adjustment for a lower resolution. Working on the understanding that if you're considering this for a new system or as an upgrade then you're not likely to want to run at the full 1920x1200 display.

Keeping the Anti-Aliasing on at 8xAA because we all like image quality, we dropped our resolution down to 1440x900 to see how the GTS450 AMP! performed.

As you can see the drop from needing to render 2.3m pixels to only 1.3m pixels really helps the average frame rates to leap from the odd stutter and stammer to very smooth and playable indeed. Never underestimate the benefits of lowering your resolution.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-09-2010, 04:57:20

tinytomlogan
As the Fermi range of GPUs from nVidia starts to mature, more and more variants are appearing. We look at the GTS450 AMP! from Zotac.

Continue Reading

13-09-2010, 06:24:24

Complex!
Thanks for the review!

I'm sticking to my 5770

13-09-2010, 07:14:51

thestepster
great review nice folding@home numbers tho!

13-09-2010, 07:15:39

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestepster View Post

great review nice folding@home numbers tho!
Exactly what i am thinking wonder what the price will be in Holland...

13-09-2010, 07:17:09

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

Exactly what i am thinking wonder what the price will be in Holland...
Doesnt overclock for toffee tbh. For F@H you are much better off with a 460 as this is a cut too far imho.

13-09-2010, 07:21:36

thestepster
i seen asus's top with direct cu and that does 925mhz but as uve said its gonna pull in a premium

value ocuk gtx460 ftw 117 each i got mines for and they are still about 127.99

13-09-2010, 07:28:49

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Doesnt overclock for toffee tbh. For F@H you are much better off with a 460 as this is a cut too far imho.
Aaa yea almost any (if not any) GTX460 overclock like crazy add a little voltage and go on!

shame these overclock like poo...

BTW i love this what you wrote,

"Folding is hugely popular (join our Redline @ OC3D Folding team, plug plug)

and the GTS250 has a good showing here being just under a stock 460, and when overclocked getting up near 9000 PPD."

13-09-2010, 08:30:57

F-alienware
Nice looking card. It'll need to be about 90 to be viable though.

If not then I don't know why Nvidia even bothered with this tbh. I'm sure PC World will sell a few, but any one who can use a web browser is soon going to realise that they're better off with a 460.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

shame these overclock like poo...
This particular one overclocks like poo, but from the stock clock the overclock on this card is actually very impressive. Sadly as Tom pointed out that will add price, which then takes it into 5770 and then 460 territory where it is way out of its depth.

I do really like the cooler though.

13-09-2010, 09:12:19

AMDFTW
i wonder if this has voltage control aswell

13-09-2010, 09:12:44

tinytomlogan
It doesnt.

13-09-2010, 12:46:42

Delusion77
well it seems like they did the same thing with the gts450 and gtx460 as ati did with the 5750 and 5770. the higher 1 just makes alot more sense to buy.

its good to see that nvidia actually has something to compete with in the lower end, altough its kinda a whole year late. Those gtx460s id say are nvidias shining achievement for the 4xx line, and ati can take the crown for the high end, and intel for the low.

13-09-2010, 13:41:04

silenthill
what is it these days with NVIDIA & ATI(AMD) they are making graphic card the same way supermarkets are selling biscuits in every colour and size, this is becoming ridiculous and I suppose the next thing they will do is (buy one get one free)

13-09-2010, 14:36:46

thestepster
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

buy one get one free
that would be a great thing depending on the card tho!!

13-09-2010, 15:50:21

AMDFTW
it would be crap if it was a 8500gt

13-09-2010, 17:57:43

F-alienware
Only in America.

13-09-2010, 18:00:14

thestepster

13-09-2010, 19:25:21

F-alienware
*facepalm*

What a bloody pointless product.

29-09-2010, 11:28:27

Zeals
Sorry to sorta revive a 'dead' thread.

Aren't the 450 designed to operate at 1024x768 and 1280x1024, due to the results of the Steam screen resolution survey where 31% of users have that resolution. Which is why it isn't all that powerful, since you don't need all that much memory and shader cores.

29-09-2010, 11:32:06

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Sorry to sorta revive a 'dead' thread.

Aren't the 450 designed to operate at 1024x768 and 1280x1024, due to the results of the Steam screen resolution survey where 31% of users have that resolution. Which is why it isn't all that powerful, since you don't need all that much memory and shader cores.
Well we cant change the settings for every card, we use a blanket set of settings and benchmarks to make it easier for the reader to be able to compare.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.