Zotac GTS450 AMP! Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

Zotac GTS450 AMP! Review

Test Setup

For our testing today we're using our standard X58 setup. Alongside the Zotac GTS450 AMP! we are also testing a stock GTX460 and a reference ATI HD5770

Intel Core i7 930 @ 3.6 GHz
6GB Kingston Hyper-X T1
ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme
Corsair AX1200w
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Prolimatech Armageddon with Arctic MX-3
Zotac GTS450 AMP!

Overclocking

As you can see from the GPU-z, this Zotac comes pre-overclocked to a stunning 875 MHz, so we're not expecting enormous performance overheads available for overclocking.

Zotac GTS450 AMP! Review 

So it proved. Despite our best efforts we could only eke a further 30 MHz out of the core, although the memory managed to accept a whole 100MHz overclock which should really help the GTS450 breathe at the higher settings.

Perhaps the most important aspect is how cool it all remains. Overclocked and using the Furmark burn test the GTS250 AMP! still only hit 63°C. So it's definitely cool. Time to see how it performs.

Zotac GTS450 AMP! Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-09-2010, 04:57:20

tinytomlogan
As the Fermi range of GPUs from nVidia starts to mature, more and more variants are appearing. We look at the GTS450 AMP! from Zotac.

Continue Reading

13-09-2010, 06:24:24

Complex!
Thanks for the review!

I'm sticking to my 5770

13-09-2010, 07:14:51

thestepster
great review nice folding@home numbers tho!

13-09-2010, 07:15:39

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestepster View Post

great review nice folding@home numbers tho!
Exactly what i am thinking wonder what the price will be in Holland...

13-09-2010, 07:17:09

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

Exactly what i am thinking wonder what the price will be in Holland...
Doesnt overclock for toffee tbh. For F@H you are much better off with a 460 as this is a cut too far imho.

13-09-2010, 07:21:36

thestepster
i seen asus's top with direct cu and that does 925mhz but as uve said its gonna pull in a premium

value ocuk gtx460 ftw 117 each i got mines for and they are still about 127.99

13-09-2010, 07:28:49

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Doesnt overclock for toffee tbh. For F@H you are much better off with a 460 as this is a cut too far imho.
Aaa yea almost any (if not any) GTX460 overclock like crazy add a little voltage and go on!

shame these overclock like poo...

BTW i love this what you wrote,

"Folding is hugely popular (join our Redline @ OC3D Folding team, plug plug)

and the GTS250 has a good showing here being just under a stock 460, and when overclocked getting up near 9000 PPD."

13-09-2010, 08:30:57

F-alienware
Nice looking card. It'll need to be about 90 to be viable though.

If not then I don't know why Nvidia even bothered with this tbh. I'm sure PC World will sell a few, but any one who can use a web browser is soon going to realise that they're better off with a 460.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

shame these overclock like poo...
This particular one overclocks like poo, but from the stock clock the overclock on this card is actually very impressive. Sadly as Tom pointed out that will add price, which then takes it into 5770 and then 460 territory where it is way out of its depth.

I do really like the cooler though.

13-09-2010, 09:12:19

AMDFTW
i wonder if this has voltage control aswell

13-09-2010, 09:12:44

tinytomlogan
It doesnt.

13-09-2010, 12:46:42

Delusion77
well it seems like they did the same thing with the gts450 and gtx460 as ati did with the 5750 and 5770. the higher 1 just makes alot more sense to buy.

its good to see that nvidia actually has something to compete with in the lower end, altough its kinda a whole year late. Those gtx460s id say are nvidias shining achievement for the 4xx line, and ati can take the crown for the high end, and intel for the low.

13-09-2010, 13:41:04

silenthill
what is it these days with NVIDIA & ATI(AMD) they are making graphic card the same way supermarkets are selling biscuits in every colour and size, this is becoming ridiculous and I suppose the next thing they will do is (buy one get one free)

13-09-2010, 14:36:46

thestepster
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

buy one get one free
that would be a great thing depending on the card tho!!

13-09-2010, 15:50:21

AMDFTW
it would be crap if it was a 8500gt

13-09-2010, 17:57:43

F-alienware
Only in America.

13-09-2010, 18:00:14

thestepster

13-09-2010, 19:25:21

F-alienware
*facepalm*

What a bloody pointless product.

29-09-2010, 11:28:27

Zeals
Sorry to sorta revive a 'dead' thread.

Aren't the 450 designed to operate at 1024x768 and 1280x1024, due to the results of the Steam screen resolution survey where 31% of users have that resolution. Which is why it isn't all that powerful, since you don't need all that much memory and shader cores.

29-09-2010, 11:32:06

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Sorry to sorta revive a 'dead' thread.

Aren't the 450 designed to operate at 1024x768 and 1280x1024, due to the results of the Steam screen resolution survey where 31% of users have that resolution. Which is why it isn't all that powerful, since you don't need all that much memory and shader cores.
Well we cant change the settings for every card, we use a blanket set of settings and benchmarks to make it easier for the reader to be able to compare.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.