Zotac GTS450 AMP! Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Zotac GTS450 AMP! Review

Introduction

We enjoy many things here at OC3D. Of course one of the things we like most of all is serious hardware. After all, who wouldn't want to test many hundreds of pounds of kit?

But we also have guilty pleasures, and that's products that are extraordinary value. The motherboard that's under a ton but has the ability of a much more expensive unit. A £20 cooler that keeps your CPU running cool. A graphics card that's priced for the student/family man market, but can get it done.

With that smooth segue we have in our hands the 'Zotac GTS450 AMP!' which is our first look at the new range of low-end cards from nVidia. Soon to be joined by a 430 and a 440, does the Zotac GTS450 AMP! follow on from the Gainward 460 we reviewed last month as being a surprisingly good performer?

Technical Specifications

If the GTX460 was a cut-down version of the GTX480, but still with the potential to be great, the GTS450 is so cut-down as to almost be a different breed entirely.

When compared to the GTX460 the CUDA cores have been reduced from 336 to only 192. The GTS450 has 4 Polymorph engines instead of the 7 of the 460, and shader units are also greatly cut from 56 down to 32.

However with less performance comes less power-draw and less heat. So instead of two 6-pin PCI-e power and a 160W TDP, we have a single 6-pin and 106W TDP. We all know that heat is the major drawback of the Fermi based chips, so this definitely should run much cooler than the other models in the range.

When it comes to clock speed Zotac have really pulled out all the stops and then some for the AMP! model. The GPU runs at 875MHz, a huge increase over the stock card. With the shaders being linked to core speed this gives us a shader speed of 1750MHz.

Time to have a look.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

13-09-2010, 04:57:20

tinytomlogan
As the Fermi range of GPUs from nVidia starts to mature, more and more variants are appearing. We look at the GTS450 AMP! from Zotac.

Continue Reading

13-09-2010, 06:24:24

Complex!
Thanks for the review!

I'm sticking to my 5770

13-09-2010, 07:14:51

thestepster
great review nice folding@home numbers tho!

13-09-2010, 07:15:39

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by thestepster View Post

great review nice folding@home numbers tho!
Exactly what i am thinking wonder what the price will be in Holland...

13-09-2010, 07:17:09

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

Exactly what i am thinking wonder what the price will be in Holland...
Doesnt overclock for toffee tbh. For F@H you are much better off with a 460 as this is a cut too far imho.

13-09-2010, 07:21:36

thestepster
i seen asus's top with direct cu and that does 925mhz but as uve said its gonna pull in a premium

value ocuk gtx460 ftw 117 each i got mines for and they are still about 127.99

13-09-2010, 07:28:49

SnW
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Doesnt overclock for toffee tbh. For F@H you are much better off with a 460 as this is a cut too far imho.
Aaa yea almost any (if not any) GTX460 overclock like crazy add a little voltage and go on!

shame these overclock like poo...

BTW i love this what you wrote,

"Folding is hugely popular (join our Redline @ OC3D Folding team, plug plug)

and the GTS250 has a good showing here being just under a stock 460, and when overclocked getting up near 9000 PPD."

13-09-2010, 08:30:57

F-alienware
Nice looking card. It'll need to be about 90 to be viable though.

If not then I don't know why Nvidia even bothered with this tbh. I'm sure PC World will sell a few, but any one who can use a web browser is soon going to realise that they're better off with a 460.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnW View Post

shame these overclock like poo...
This particular one overclocks like poo, but from the stock clock the overclock on this card is actually very impressive. Sadly as Tom pointed out that will add price, which then takes it into 5770 and then 460 territory where it is way out of its depth.

I do really like the cooler though.

13-09-2010, 09:12:19

AMDFTW
i wonder if this has voltage control aswell

13-09-2010, 09:12:44

tinytomlogan
It doesnt.

13-09-2010, 12:46:42

Delusion77
well it seems like they did the same thing with the gts450 and gtx460 as ati did with the 5750 and 5770. the higher 1 just makes alot more sense to buy.

its good to see that nvidia actually has something to compete with in the lower end, altough its kinda a whole year late. Those gtx460s id say are nvidias shining achievement for the 4xx line, and ati can take the crown for the high end, and intel for the low.

13-09-2010, 13:41:04

silenthill
what is it these days with NVIDIA & ATI(AMD) they are making graphic card the same way supermarkets are selling biscuits in every colour and size, this is becoming ridiculous and I suppose the next thing they will do is (buy one get one free)

13-09-2010, 14:36:46

thestepster
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

buy one get one free
that would be a great thing depending on the card tho!!

13-09-2010, 15:50:21

AMDFTW
it would be crap if it was a 8500gt

13-09-2010, 17:57:43

F-alienware
Only in America.

13-09-2010, 18:00:14

thestepster

13-09-2010, 19:25:21

F-alienware
*facepalm*

What a bloody pointless product.

29-09-2010, 11:28:27

Zeals
Sorry to sorta revive a 'dead' thread.

Aren't the 450 designed to operate at 1024x768 and 1280x1024, due to the results of the Steam screen resolution survey where 31% of users have that resolution. Which is why it isn't all that powerful, since you don't need all that much memory and shader cores.

29-09-2010, 11:32:06

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Sorry to sorta revive a 'dead' thread.

Aren't the 450 designed to operate at 1024x768 and 1280x1024, due to the results of the Steam screen resolution survey where 31% of users have that resolution. Which is why it isn't all that powerful, since you don't need all that much memory and shader cores.
Well we cant change the settings for every card, we use a blanket set of settings and benchmarks to make it easier for the reader to be able to compare.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.