Zotac GTS250 'AMP' 1GB PCIe Graphics card

Gaming Benchmarks

 
Unreal Tournament 3 is the highly anticipated game from Epic Games and Midway. The game uses the latest Unreal engine, which combines fast gameplay along with high quality textures and lighting effects. All benchmarks were performed using UTbench with a fly-by of the DM-BioHazard map. As usual, all benchmarks were performed 5 times, with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 
 
 
GRID
 
Race Driver: Grid is a visually taxing game that presents a challenge to any graphics system. Results were recorded using FRAPS to log the average FPS over a 2 minute race. To ensure consistency, the same track, car and general path of travel was used in each of the 5 benchmark runs for each graphics card, with an average FPS being calculated from the median three results.
 

 
 
 
 
Call of Duty 4 is a stunning DirectX 9.0c based game that really looks awesome and has a very full feature set. With lots of advanced lighting, smoke and water effects, the game has excellent explosions along with fast game play. Using the in-built Call Of Duty features, a 10-minute long game play demo was recorded and replayed on each of the GPU's using the /timedemo command a total of 5 times. The highest and lowest FPS results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 

 
 
Results Analysis
 
GRID performance was a disappointment for the GTS250, scoring bottom of the pile with even the 4770 giving the much more expensive Nvidia card a good beating. The tables were turned though on COD4 with the GTS250 AMP and the HD4870 neck and neck throughout the testing. UTIII perhaps summed up the performance of the cards placing the GTS250 in between the two ATI cards.

Let's move on..
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

27-05-2009, 13:47:25

w3bbo
Just another rehash of the tried and tested G92? Can a sprinkling of Zotac overclocking and 1GB of GDDR3 make this card a 4850/70 killer? Read our latest review to find out...

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...131435136s.jpg

Full review here

27-05-2009, 13:54:41

zak4994
Gah! You should've also compared it too a 9800GT (or whatever it's successor was )

Blue PCB? Sucketh to the max!

27-05-2009, 14:06:25

sammytomjohn
dont think i'l be buyin 1 of these

27-05-2009, 14:07:28

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Gah! You should've also compared it too a 9800GT (or whatever it's successor was )

Blue PCB? Sucketh to the max!
Sure, I'll just nip into my own personal GPU warehouse.....

Damn sorry m8, I only have an MX440 and a Voodoo, will those do?

Contrary to popular belief I don't get to keep equipment from previous reviews to draw on when needed, I can only go on results that have the same base setup. Sadly the 9800 reviews were done on an inferior setup and thus cannot be compared.

27-05-2009, 14:12:58

Rastalovich
Such an awkward card to find into the mash.

I was quite alarmed when u said the cooler was quiet ! (although not too effective)

That's a first isn't it ? A quiet stock cooler in the GT200 range ?

As to the 'AMP' release - honestly, 12mhz ? why ?

Great reviewage.

27-05-2009, 14:20:38

w3bbo
Cheers Rasta.

When i say 'not effective', it is, it's just not as effective as the ATI coolers. Then again it isn't anywhere near as loud so I guess thats the trade off!

The overclock, is minor because there is very little headroom to begin with I guess.

27-05-2009, 14:21:43

PeterStoba
Publish price - 145.99 but the novatech link says otherwise - http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?ZOT-250

Blue PCB is win!

Graphics Drivers: Supplied by Sapphire

seems odd

27-05-2009, 14:34:54

Mul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PeterStoba'
Publish price - 145.99 but the novatech link says otherwise - http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?ZOT-250

Blue PCB is win!

seems odd
That's the 512mb version I'm afraid. You can actually find GTS 250 512mb cards with reference clocks for as little as 85. I personally feel that 145 is a lot for the 1GB version, even with an overclock applied from factory. Looking at the novatech website itself, it's possible to buy a ref clock 1GB GTS 250 for 105. Plus, the HD 4870 1GB has been appearing for around 130 these days and should have a higher margin for an overclock.

Great review w3bbo.

27-05-2009, 14:51:30

PeterStoba
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mul.'
That's the 512mb version I'm afraid. You can actually find GTS 250 512mb cards with reference clocks for as little as 85. I personally feel that 145 is a lot for the 1GB version, even with an overclock applied from factory. Looking at the novatech website itself, it's possible to buy a ref clock 1GB GTS 250 for 105. Plus, the HD 4870 1GB has been appearing for around 130 these days and should have a higher margin for an overclock.

Great review w3bbo.
My bad, I just assume the link would be correct.

The 512mb cards are good for 90ish, I've used one and they are very good performers.

27-05-2009, 15:31:12

w3bbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PeterStoba'
Publish price - 145.99 but the novatech link says otherwise - http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/specpage.html?ZOT-250

Blue PCB is win!

seems odd
Sorted, that'll teach me to C&P the test bed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mul.'
That's the 512mb version I'm afraid. You can actually find GTS 250 512mb cards with reference clocks for as little as 85. I personally feel that 145 is a lot for the 1GB version, even with an overclock applied from factory. Looking at the novatech website itself, it's possible to buy a ref clock 1GB GTS 250 for 105. Plus, the HD 4870 1GB has been appearing for around 130 these days and should have a higher margin for an overclock.

Great review w3bbo.
Yeah the pricing does need looking at imo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PeterStoba'
My bad, I just assume the link would be correct.

The 512mb cards are good for 90ish, I've used one and they are very good performers.
Crap at high res with filters though. Thats when the added memory comes into it's own.

27-05-2009, 15:33:37

Rastalovich
Looks at 512m card .....

Looks at w3bbo's monitor ....

Looks at 512m card .....

Looks at w3bbo's monitor ....

.. that's just unfair !

27-05-2009, 15:38:28

w3bbo
Lol, it's BECAUSE I have such a large screen I know these things . That said even a 24" screen will show decreases in speed with a 512mb card vs 1GB.

I'm not for minute saying 512mb cards are a steaming pile of dog do, clearly they are not, but if you game at anything above 22" it pays to invest in a card with a little more memory imo.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.