XFX R7950 Black Edition Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

XFX R7950 Black Edition Review

Introduction

It's been a while since we have reviewed a card from XFX, a company who have been producing Radeon based GPUs for many years now. They return to OC3D with a bang too, as the card we have up for review is their top line HD7950, the Black Edition, with the Double Dissipation fans.

We saw in our review of the reference design card how well it overclocked, but of course we're aware than not everyone is comfortable in pushing their latest expensive purchase to the limit.

If you number amongst those people then a pre-overclocked card might be just the chap for you.

Technical Specifications

The Black Edition comes out the box with 900MHz on the core, so we should see a good increase in the stock speeds compared to it's reference rival. We also have XFXs Double Dissipation cooling utilising their Ghost technology. This allows the airflow to reach the PCB, and vent from any available space, which should keep temperatures of all the components down without excessively spinning the fans up.

XFX R7950 Black Edition Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-01-2012, 23:57:00

tinytomlogan


It's been too long since we've reviewed an XFX card, and we've got their famous Black edition of the 7950 here.

Continue Reading

31-01-2012, 00:54:52

MaXiMiZe
Awesome review as usual. Going to be interesting to see what kepler offers seeing as tahiti is a more than capable overclocking architecture.

31-01-2012, 02:07:05

trazom
Nice review for a nice graphics card.

I've rarely been impressed by AMD but I must admit that their graphics cards are successful. XFX is one of my favorite brand and I find them particularly beautiful.

31-01-2012, 02:47:10

marsey99
it pains me to say this but i like this xfx more than the others i have seen

nice 1 tom

31-01-2012, 04:58:44

leejc73
Tom!!

You alright bud, you looked absolutely battered on the XFX Video.

Pleased to see an appreciable difference between stock 7970 and 7950 which won't be bridged by a bios frig.

Any suggestions on why the unigen quadfire 7950 score was so poor?

I've noticed something similar on dual 6950's where you go past a certain overclock point and it becomes shockingly bad.

31-01-2012, 07:38:41

Solidarity
This is probably the best looking 7950 at the moment.The initial fan step down was crazy in the video.

04-02-2012, 15:42:59

murphy7801
Think it needs a back plate

04-02-2012, 17:10:44

S_I_N
gotta admit thats the best looking graphics card I've seen in a while.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.