XFX HD 4890 XXX 1GB PCIe Graphics Card

Gaming benchmarks continued

 
Crysis is without doubt one of the most visually stunning and hardware-challenging games to date. By using CrysisBench - a tool developed independently of Crysis - we performed a total of 5 timedemo benchmarks using a GPU-intensive pre-recorded demo. To ensure the most accurate results, the highest and lowest benchmark scores were then removed and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 

 
 

Oblivion from Bethseda is now an 'old' game by today's standards, but is still one of the most visually taxing games out there. The benchmark was run in the wilderness with all settings set to the maximum possible. Bloom was used in preference to HDR. The test was run five times with the average FPS then being deduced.

 



Ubisoft has developed a new engine specifically for Far Cry 2, called Dunia, meaning "world", "earth" or "living" in Parsi. The engine takes advantage of multi-core processors as well as multiple processors and supports DirectX 9 as well as DirectX 10. Running the Far Cry 2 benchmark tool the test was run 5 times with the highest and lowest scores being omitted and the average calculated from the remaining 3.
 
 
 
Results Analysis

Once again the XFX4890XXX card put up a very good fight against the GTX285, winning out in Far Cry 2 until the resolution was maxed out. Oblivion favoured the Nvidia cards while Crysis showed mixed results all round. The XFX4890XXX has not exactly blown it's stock clocked brother out of the water it did show performance differences, albeit on a small scale.

Let's head over to the conclusion where I will shed some thought on the XFX 4890 XXX
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-04-2009, 03:41:06

JN
"At OC3D we love all things overclocked. We love shiny new releases. Do we love the new 4890XXX edition from XFX? Find out in our exclusive review..." - by W3bbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...205649673s.jpg

XFX HD 4890 XXX 1GB PCIe Graphics Card

02-04-2009, 04:13:19

Madmatt
Nice review!

Might want to check the spelling of hawx as you seem to have it as hawkx. On the last page and first.

02-04-2009, 04:16:33

w3bbo
Sorted ta

02-04-2009, 04:37:22

Ham
What a strange shape box...

Still nothing groundbreaking. It's getting to the stage where it might just be worth 200 to upgrade form the 8800 series...

02-04-2009, 04:44:08

nepas
nice review!Wish I could afford to upgrade,as Ham says these cards look to be a good upgrade from the 8800's.Did you try these cards in crossfire?I have just read over at tpu that in crossfire they blow away almost everything,can you confirm?

02-04-2009, 04:50:34

tinytomlogan
Looks at 4870's and crys, still not used them and now I want these AARRRGGGHHH

Nice review dude.... whats your address again?

02-04-2009, 05:36:20

w3bbo
Crossfire review will be coming very soon but I got a couple of other fish to fry first. I'll be testing them out asap as it might just top topple the GTX295/4870x2.

My address is of a national security issue I'm afraid

22-06-2009, 22:08:23

cl0ck_ed
OMG, 1000 core 1200 mem, that is imprassive. these hd4890's walk all over the gtx 275 for bang per buck, and at this oc the perform on the par with a gtx285! wow.

All i need now is a x48 mobo and xfire a pair of these and spin them at 1000mhz core, that would be sweet.

24-06-2009, 08:58:26

tinytomlogan
I still think that its worth waiting for the 5800 range, these are basicaly overclocked die shrunk 4870's. Still if you are in the market to buy now then these can be had pretty cheap

24-06-2009, 09:42:00

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
OMG, 1000 core 1200 mem, that is imprassive. these hd4890's walk all over the gtx 275 for bang per buck, and at this oc the perform on the par with a gtx285! wow.

All i need now is a x48 mobo and xfire a pair of these and spin them at 1000mhz core, that would be sweet.
It is quite strange to look at the pricing now in these card stakes.

XFX are giving a price of 240, which I'd take as an rrp, undoubtably the online competitors would look to discount that a bit. Some 34 by Scan's standard.

I look at Scan, and their hottest selling GTX285 from ASUS is 240.

Appreciating that the stock 4890 from XFX is 140 at Scan, which is what I'd expect, and they sell their cheapest in-stock GTX275 for 178. How much bang for buck u get for physx, I dunno.

What exactly is going on here with this XXX edition ? From a stock card 140 to a XXX edition is some 66 ? For an OC ur driverset can give u and a standard cooler.

I would hope XFX are not overpricing these deliberately, as it's not the addition to the AMD family their fans would expect.

Great review, good card, overpriced in comparison to it's own range imo.

24-06-2009, 20:17:49

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'

Appreciating that the stock 4890 from XFX is 140 at Scan, which is what I'd expect, and they sell their cheapest in-stock GTX275 for 178. How much bang for buck u get for physx, I dunno.

What exactly is going on here with this XXX edition ? From a stock card 140 to a XXX edition is some 66 ? For an OC ur driverset can give u and a standard cooler.
Scan have the 1000mhz card for 160, therefore 18 more than the stock hd4890. Which is a fair price considering the hassle of increasing voltages, flashing bios's and overclocking etc..

25-06-2009, 06:31:56

Rastalovich
Now that really is a weird situation, 160 for the 1Ghz with HAWX.

206 for the 900Mhz "slower" card.

Have a feeling the black edition isn't going to be restocked tho. But seriously a slower card, 46 more ? XFX's logic is what ?

25-06-2009, 08:17:43

Rastalovich
I've purposely bumped this as I was just looking at Scan's line-up of GTX285 cards with a colleague.

XFX have a XXX 285, 670Mhz, priced 252 - and a 648Mhz priced @ 282.

Something smells.

They going eol with older, quicker cards, and bringing newer slower lines for 30/50 more ? If I were a journalist I'd be asking XFX some serious questions.

25-06-2009, 08:28:09

cl0ck_ed
isn't it scan pricing not xfx? xfx must have madfe loads of the quicker cards to sell them for a cheaper price than the slower

25-06-2009, 09:30:45

w3bbo
As above, I would think that this was scans pricing not XFX.

I'll see if I can get hold of XFX to get their take on it although I can tell you they will not comment on there distributers pricing strategies.

10-09-2009, 22:04:58

AMDFTW
ive just got my 4890 xxx to 1Ghz core clock,and regarding Scan priceing they have always done crazy things like this its best to go instore sometimes as when i got my old AMD dualcore it was was on todayonly for 65 i whent instore and got it for 40 crazy aye

11-09-2009, 17:31:11

iceie
The box look really good
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.