XFX Fatal1ty 8600 GT Professional Series

Game Benchmarks - CoD 2, F.E.A.R. and Oblivio

Call of Duty 2

Call of Duty 2 is a fairly recent game that uses a lot of DirectX 9.0c features, including real time shadows, amazing smoke effects and some nice looking HDR effects. This makes the game very taxing at these high resolutions. I played a fully patched up version of the game. Once again I played through the game with a two minute gaming session including explosions, smoke and also lots of snow.

Note that for this review I played at 1280 x 1024 with 4 x AA, all other settings were on maximum.

Let's see how the cards fared here:

cod 2 benchmark

The XFX Fatal1ty 8600GT makes a great start here outperforming the other 8600GT by a small margin. This is surprising considering they are clocked the same.


F.E.A.R.

F.E.A.R. is a game based on an engine that uses many features of DirectX 9.0c. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects, with a slow-motion mode that really taxes today's top of the line GPU's. I played a fully updated game with the latest patches installed. I played three two-minute runs on a taxing part of the game with plenty of action, using slow-motion for the full time whilst firing at enemy soldiers and using grenades that produce a cool "blast" contortion effect when blown up.

The cards were played at 1280 x 1024 with 4 x AA, 4 x FSAA and soft shadows disabled. All other settings were on maximum.

fear fps

Once again the XFX Fatal1ty 8600 GT does very well in the game benchmarks, scoring highly.

Oblivion

Oblivion is an awesome RPG with a simply huge immersive environment, great graphics and incredibly realistic scenery. This game is currently one of the most testing games that you can buy and it is certainly a test of the high-end cards here. I chose to do a run-through of the Arena part of the game. I spoke to a character, did some magic whilst in a fight and fought in the arena that is pretty huge. Also as well as doing this test I took a wander around to make sure that the benchmark resembled the general gameplay with each card. In-game settings used:

oblivion settings 1 oblivion settings 2

oblivion settings 3 oblivion settings 4

Oblivion was played at 1280 x 1024 with HDR enabled and no AA.

oblivion testing

Once again the 8600 Fatal1ty card fares well, edging out the "XXX" edition 8600 GT by a few FPS.

A pattern is emerging and I can only attribute this to the XFX 650i Ultra motherboard as it is the only difference in setups between the XFX "XXX" Edition 8600 GT and the XFX Fatal1ty 8600 GT Professional Series card.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-07-2007, 15:27:18

FarFarAway
We had a scoot around the 8600 series in May, now it's the turn of XFX's impressive looking Fatal1ty Edition card

Have a look-see

01-07-2007, 15:37:24

MikeEnIke
Nice review Kemp. Impressed, it put up a nice fight.

01-07-2007, 16:09:38

Rastalovich
Excellent review as expected Kemp.

It`s a decent performer, and gives u the cooling benefits, if that`s the solution u`r after. @ ~ 111, I don`t think u can go that wrong tbh, cards in that bracket are only give or take a small sum.

The packaging does seem disappointing. Package clutter doesn`t cost the company anything at all, and promo stuff especially. Infact the XFX 7600GT 580m is packaged a whole lot better and is obviously an older card.

What impresses me most is the clocking of the Foxconn GTS card - but that detracts from the topic I guess >.<

If XFX are fishing for some impressive feedback, the backplane slot needs a bit of `tarting up`. Something as simple as XFX 8600 GT Fatal1ty in a green raised stamping on their black background would not only promote the card visually, but further seperate it from the mainstream. From the back as it stands, it looks like a regular XFX -anything- card.

Another thing, people will be put off with the likes of the 3DMark scores - that`s a shame. It`s not enough to dismiss the card imo, when it performs obviously better in `the real world`.

(oh and correct the reference to an 8700 on page 4, I got overly excited when I saw that)

01-07-2007, 16:10:18

flib
Nice review!

The clocks on that thing seem to be huge compared to stock, I'm suprised it can pull it off as much as it does being passive.

01-07-2007, 16:18:15

FarFarAway
I know, it's a pretty good job

@Rast - the foxconn OC's more as it is a stock-clocked card. People generally would rather buy the fastest out there but the small enthusiast overclocking segment would (and should) buy the cheapest and OC that

Still a nice cooler like this one gives you a great reason to buy the card

01-07-2007, 16:24:50

Ham
Nice too see a product baring his name that isnt cack or really expensive

02-07-2007, 04:52:10

PP Mguire
Idk, the keyboard is nicely priced, and you can get the mouse for $20 on Ebay. Before i broke mine i thought it was an excelent mouse.

I would have to say though that i see a flaw on page 2 Kemp. The cooler looks like a modified version of the one i have and if thats true the memory is not cooled at all.

02-07-2007, 05:07:31

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
I would have to say though that i see a flaw on page 2 Kemp. The cooler looks like a modified version of the one i have and if thats true the memory is not cooled at all.
Well considering that we never see a 'heatsink off' image in the review, I don't know. But I'd like to speculate that the heatsink blades on either side of the Fatal1ty logo are there for cooling the memory.

http://upload.overclock3d.net/get.php?id=3180

Edit: Well yes it is actually cooled according to the image.

02-07-2007, 07:26:48

FarFarAway
Yep the memory is cooled, can you see any IC's bare in the pics?? No

02-07-2007, 07:48:04

Rastalovich
That`s a very simplistic hs when u see it like that.

02-07-2007, 11:58:04

Gibbs
anyone happen to know how wide this card is as am looking it to put into a Lian Li PC-V600

02-07-2007, 16:22:57

Nagaru
Nice card all thought those 2 heatpipes that connect to nothing are useless, stupid engineers who know nothing of thermodynamics.

One thing I am not sure about is this.

The 8600GT has two Dual Link DVI ports for output as well as an S-Video out. It's at this point I will remind you that no HDTV connection is included, which is a shame. Having said that, the DVI ports are both HDCP enabled so you should be good to go if you want to connect to your HDCP enabled HDTV...if it has DVI-in.



If the card has HDCP, wouldn't a simple adapter cable allow it to be fully compatible with HDMI televisions?

02-07-2007, 16:50:55

FarFarAway
Yes, but it isn't included, which was my point

02-07-2007, 17:20:27

Gibbs
Kempez could you take a few measurements

02-07-2007, 17:22:26

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Gibbs'
Kempez could you take a few measurements
Umm sure, which way? Has to be quick, tis going back 2moz

02-07-2007, 18:47:04

Gibbs
from within the yelow markers please

http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/5...401104lfe9.jpg

thanks

02-07-2007, 18:54:20

FarFarAway
Thats about 140mm

03-07-2007, 05:25:40

Gibbs
thanks bud

06-07-2007, 22:43:20

AmBush
Until las night i was gonna go for the XFX 8600 GT XXX but after reading the review (normaly skip to conclusion magazine or ezine but not this one)

Its left me with a dilema now I will Watercool GPU(s) in the not too distant future, once i get my feet wet.Would it be worth Going SLi on this then liquid cool eventualy OC?

Since i've been reading the forums i am gettin more tempted (its taken me 10 years to put a multimeter on my PSU)

My current setup is 2 year old being on benifit its hard to keep up but OC'ing will help.Or would i be better off spending the same on One card? I Have more questions but i'll limit them

07-07-2007, 05:38:49

Toxcity
As usual an awesome review MR Kemp!

And isn't that card very very pretty!

07-07-2007, 14:05:13

PP Mguire

Edit: Well yes it is actually cooled according to the image.

Hah! Must be nice, considering i have a bigger one on my video card and my memory is not being cooled at all.

07-07-2007, 16:40:45

FarFarAway
Ye like I said, it's a pretty well designed cooler

08-07-2007, 04:25:51

PP Mguire
Mine is to, cept i dont have memory coolers!! *Curses at XFX for beign so good yet so bad*

09-07-2007, 09:55:13

AmBush
I'm just going round in circles i've been trying to find the answers myself http://forum.overclock3d.net/showpost.php?p=152323&postcount=19

XFX Fatal1ty 8600 GT Potential for more oc'ing with liquid

v

XFX 8600 GTS XXX Massivly oc'd already.

I'd appreciate some input i'm lookin to spend 250 on 2xSLI or One card

Cheers.

09-07-2007, 10:15:38

FarFarAway
For one thing: SLI isn't worth it, save your money and get a decent single card.

As for choice between the two - they're clocked the same, but if you're watercooling you may as well get the cheapest

09-07-2007, 10:31:03

Rastalovich
Ya for the price of 2 x 8600GT, I`d rather 1 x 8800 tbh.

But for a selfish reason, I`d like to see how the 2 x 8600 get on >.<

09-07-2007, 10:31:53

MikeEnIke
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Ya for the price of 2 x 8600GT, I`d rather 1 x 8800 tbh.
Plus, you can always throw another one in if it gets to that point

09-07-2007, 10:34:57

JN
As others have said, SLI on mid-range cards is deffo not worth it. Just go for the best single card you can.

Only if you have an 8800GTX and a wad of cash burning a hole in your pocket, with absolutely nothing else to buy, should you consider SLI.

09-07-2007, 15:41:25

AmBush
Oki I Think ONE monster card will be the plan as MikeEnIke says always got scope to add another later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Ya for the price of 2 x 8600GT, I`d rather 1 x 8800xx tbh.

But for a selfish reason, I`d like to see how the 2 x 8600 get on >.<
I'd be interested too Tom's Hardware hasn't got 8600's on the list either

Cheers p33ps.

Time to hunt for 8800xx http://upload.overclock3d.net/get.php?id=3100&view=1

23-07-2007, 22:11:57

PP Mguire
Ohh just to clarify and correct one thing, the Fatal1ty DOES have the modder friendly warranty.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.