XFX 9800GX2 Quad SLI

Crysis & BIOSHOCK

 
Crysis is without doubt one of the most visually stunning and hardware challenging games to date. By using CrysisBench - a tool developed independently of Crysis - we performed a total of 5 timedemo benchmarks using a GPU-Intensive pre-recorded demo. To ensure the most accurate results, the highest and lowest benchmarks scores were then removed and an average calculated from the remaining three.
  
  
Clearly the 9800GX2 has slaughtered the 3870x2 in both single and dual card (quad setup). I was amazed at how well the GX2 handled Crysis but also distraught at the hassles involved in trying to get it to work in Quad SLI. For some odd reason on occassions the benchmark would run at a mere 4 or 5 fps on the GX2 and only a reboot or re-install of the drivers would solve this - something you may want to consider should you have the same problems. When it ran Quad SLI though it was truly awsome as the results show. It wasn't even phased by the AA/AF at such a high res and showed very little slowdown once the AA/AF was applied. In contrast the 3870x2's performance was dire. For a high-end setup I expected much more from ATI, With a poor FPS readout at both resolutions. I did a quick run without AA/AF and the fps jumped more inline with the 9800GX2's so clearly the AA/AF settings were crippling the cards.
 
 


Bioshock is a recent FPS shooter by 2K games. Based on the UT3 engine it has a large amount of advanced DirectX techniques including excellent water rendering and superb lighting and smoke techniques. All results were recorded using F.R.A.P.S with a total of 5 identical runs through the same area of the game. The highest and lowest results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
A much better showing here from ATI but once more the performance was left wanting in comparison to the 9800GX2. With the Quad fire setup barely beating a single GX2. Therefore it should come as no surprise that the Quad SLI setup once more trounces the CrossfireX. Again I ran a quick test without AA and the ATI did make some ground but if you are spending £500 on a set of GPU's you expect to be able to add AA/AF and at a high resolution. 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-06-2008, 10:49:22

w3bbo
With matured drivers we take a look at where your money should go with regards to a Quad GPU setup. XFX 9800GX2's or ATI 3870X2's.

22-06-2008, 11:31:57

nepas
nice review mate,and very impressive results.However I can safely say that there is no way I could justify spending that amount on gfx cards,but would love to try it out

22-06-2008, 11:49:45

w3bbo
Yeah it's alot of money to fork out on GPU's and I don't think I could justify paying that much but before doing the review I was more than content with my quadfire setup...now I have my doubts after playing with the Quad SLI setup.

22-06-2008, 12:01:34

cuprasport
Very nice mate very in depth

whens the 4870 crossfire and 280gtx reviews?

22-06-2008, 12:07:58

StevenG
nice review... shows everything i wanted to see here.. too bad i cant afford the gx2's. 48*0's should be good though. wouldnt mind seeing a review comparing these to the G260/280

StevenG

22-06-2008, 12:09:30

ionicle
looks good

but yea, a 4870 in crossfire also would have added nicely to the comparison

but i'm guessing you can only do so much

22-06-2008, 12:10:03

Luigi
Nice, you can really see quad sli make its own at 2560x1600

22-06-2008, 14:42:05

w3bbo
Cheers. Yeah it would be nice to test the latest and greatest , especially in SLI/CrossfireX - watch this space.

As a side note would you all prefer the res to be turned down a little as I know not everyone has 24-30" screens (although you should!).

22-06-2008, 16:33:41

FarFarAway
Nice review again Rich I think the price is far too high even for the half decent high level performance seen here to be honest

Plus those babies get majorly hot and majorly loud

23-06-2008, 05:45:22

Rastalovich
One thing that bothers me is how the gx2 takes 2 slots and the single pcb cards take 2 slots.

23-06-2008, 10:22:20

w3bbo
Basically both GPU's are still cooled efficiently as the GX2 has one large cooler attached to both cores(one either side of the cooler) rather than each core having a separate cooler. The downside to this is that the heatsink needs alot of air to be passed through it which in the GX2's case means more noise.

23-06-2008, 11:24:19

Luigi
What screen you on webbo? a 30" im guessing... Nice review I can see its not really worth it for me on 24, unless I add loads of AA

23-06-2008, 13:38:49

w3bbo
30" although as the results show a 24" would also be affected though not as much as the res is scaled down.

23-06-2008, 13:39:45

Luigi
:O lucky bugger
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.