XFX 9800GX2 Quad SLI

3DMark06 & 3DMark Vantage

 
3DMark® Vantage is the new industry standard PC gaming performance benchmark from Futuremark, newly designed for Windows Vista and DirectX10. It includes two new graphics tests, two new CPU tests, several new feature tests, and support for the latest hardware. 3DMark® Vantage is based on a completely new rendering engine, developed specifically to take full advantage of DirectX10, the new graphics API from Microsoft.
 
 
Clearly the brute power of the 9800GX2's have the upperhand here, they also scaled slightly better in Quad SLI. Sadly 3DMark Vantage returned a '0' score for the 2560x1600 run on all cards even though the benchmark ran to its completion each time. This could be down to a number of reasons, driver errors, buffer overflow errors but I suspect its simply a bug in Vantage at this early stage in its development.
 
 
 
3DMark® 06 is a popular synthetic gaming benchmark used by many gamers and overclockers to gauge the performance of their PC's taking advantage of todays multi CPU and GPU performance. All 3DMark runs were performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
Here we see the opposite of Vantage with the 3870x2 winning out overall. Scaling here was a mixed bag with the 3870x2's scaling well in both single and dual cards but the GX2 is the better once AA/AF is applied at high resolutions. So its pretty much neck and neck for the artificial benchmarks. Let's move on to some real world gaming conditions....
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-06-2008, 10:49:22

w3bbo
With matured drivers we take a look at where your money should go with regards to a Quad GPU setup. XFX 9800GX2's or ATI 3870X2's.

22-06-2008, 11:31:57

nepas
nice review mate,and very impressive results.However I can safely say that there is no way I could justify spending that amount on gfx cards,but would love to try it out

22-06-2008, 11:49:45

w3bbo
Yeah it's alot of money to fork out on GPU's and I don't think I could justify paying that much but before doing the review I was more than content with my quadfire setup...now I have my doubts after playing with the Quad SLI setup.

22-06-2008, 12:01:34

cuprasport
Very nice mate very in depth

whens the 4870 crossfire and 280gtx reviews?

22-06-2008, 12:07:58

StevenG
nice review... shows everything i wanted to see here.. too bad i cant afford the gx2's. 48*0's should be good though. wouldnt mind seeing a review comparing these to the G260/280

StevenG

22-06-2008, 12:09:30

ionicle
looks good

but yea, a 4870 in crossfire also would have added nicely to the comparison

but i'm guessing you can only do so much

22-06-2008, 12:10:03

Luigi
Nice, you can really see quad sli make its own at 2560x1600

22-06-2008, 14:42:05

w3bbo
Cheers. Yeah it would be nice to test the latest and greatest , especially in SLI/CrossfireX - watch this space.

As a side note would you all prefer the res to be turned down a little as I know not everyone has 24-30" screens (although you should!).

22-06-2008, 16:33:41

FarFarAway
Nice review again Rich I think the price is far too high even for the half decent high level performance seen here to be honest

Plus those babies get majorly hot and majorly loud

23-06-2008, 05:45:22

Rastalovich
One thing that bothers me is how the gx2 takes 2 slots and the single pcb cards take 2 slots.

23-06-2008, 10:22:20

w3bbo
Basically both GPU's are still cooled efficiently as the GX2 has one large cooler attached to both cores(one either side of the cooler) rather than each core having a separate cooler. The downside to this is that the heatsink needs alot of air to be passed through it which in the GX2's case means more noise.

23-06-2008, 11:24:19

Luigi
What screen you on webbo? a 30" im guessing... Nice review I can see its not really worth it for me on 24, unless I add loads of AA

23-06-2008, 13:38:49

w3bbo
30" although as the results show a 24" would also be affected though not as much as the res is scaled down.

23-06-2008, 13:39:45

Luigi
:O lucky bugger
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.