XFX 9600 GT XXX Alpha Dog Edition 740M 512mb

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
The 9600 GT wasn't my favourite GPU when it came out. The lack of clock speed and the fact that it wasn't as competitive in pricing as it should have been was a little disappointing.
 
The good news is that there's been a few drops in pricing since the 9600 GT came to light and this speedy XFX 9600 GT Alpha Dog XXX 740M Edition is a super fast super charged version that you can pick up for as little as £114 @ Dabs.
 
That gives a new focus on price and performance and shows that Nvidia's partners were aware that the stock 9600 GT was simply clocked too slow. It's also worth mentioning that XFX are bringing out a 1GB version of the 9600 GT, which should be at an even more competitive price point.
 
The one major downfall of the XFX card is that the cooler is quite frankly: appallingly loud. Whilst the 9600's are pretty cool anyway, even using Rivatuner slows the fan down to a minimum of 25% which is totally unacceptable noise-wise. This is a total shame as the card is a decent performer apart from this and the cooling capabilities of the cooler are very good.
 
I'm giving the XFX 9600 GT Alpha Dog XXX Edition 740M 512mb an OC3D Recommended Award, along with a Value Award, perhaps with a proviso that you replace the cooler with something a little more friendly to the ears.
 
 
The Good
+ Good performance per £
+ Great bundle
+ Decent looking

The Mediocre
* Still not blinding performance

The Bad
- Awfully loud cooler
 
 
recommended  value award 
 
 
Thanks to XFX for the review sample
 
Gonna get one (and replace the cooler!)?Tell us in the Forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-04-2008, 09:43:18

FarFarAway
Check out the Alpha Dog Edition 9600 GT from XFX!

Clicky here

07-04-2008, 10:10:22

Bungral
Nice review Matt.. Detailed as ever.

Neither of the 9600s are for me, but its good to see XFX bringing out an Alpha Dog editions as like you said it needed a little boost from stock to bring it in to a decent bracket.

07-04-2008, 10:15:16

Rastalovich
Great review m8. 114.. I mean we call it a "mid range" card, so arguably it`s a higher-mid-range for the 9 series, but the nVidia cards at present are all over the shop imo. - unless you forget about the 8 series completely.

Personally I like to compare the x6xx card with x6xx in the same series and the series below - only cos mid range is mid range - but it competes with the 8800GT in many respects, including it`s ability to clock better, and supposedly SLI better. `Would u SLI 88GT or 96GT ?`, many would say 96GT if that were the choice.

Then again also, XFX pushing the card very well imo.

07-04-2008, 10:48:44

ionicle
good review

medeocre card....hmm

07-04-2008, 13:58:44

FarFarAway
It's a mid-range card, of course it's mediocre!

07-04-2008, 14:46:28

ionicle
the 8600GT was quite exceptional, performance and feature wise

this is...medeocre, in comparison to the 9800GTX

wheras the 8600GT was just a cut down version of the 8800GTX

07-04-2008, 14:50:23

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
the 8600GT was quite exceptional, performance and feature wise

this is...medeocre, in comparison to the 9800GTX

wheras the 8600GT was just a cut down version of the 8800GTX
I swear you don't actually read half the reviews we do ya know...

07-04-2008, 14:59:30

ionicle
i do read them, but i also owned a 8600GT, great card it was too...

looking at the comparison of this to the 9800GTX it doesnt perform aswell as an 8600GT would when compared to an 8800GTS 320mb, IMO

unless you think i'm wrong ofcorse?

07-04-2008, 15:04:33

FarFarAway
The 9600 GT performs a fair amount better than the 8600 GT would, even when taking into consideration the generation cards.

07-04-2008, 15:05:22

ionicle
i dont doubt that, the point i was making, was the gap in performance between the 86xx and the 88xx is probably less than between the 96xx and the 98xx

07-04-2008, 15:21:52

FarFarAway
And I don't think that's true...which is the point I was making

07-04-2008, 15:33:55

ionicle
ahh, okay, so they're closing the gap performance wise? ...hmmmm....that doesnt make good business sense

they should all increase, all levels of cards, but only by the same amount, in the same...incriments....otherwise one level will get too high/too low, and merge into another...

07-04-2008, 15:41:19

tinytomlogan
Strange how the admiration for a review changes once you have written one.

Nice one dude great read.

07-04-2008, 15:43:33

FarFarAway
Thanks mate

07-04-2008, 17:25:47

dxs
damn u guyz bang out reviews fast. nice review tho. wasn't likin the stock 9600 much but this looks better
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.