XFX 9600 GT XXX Alpha Dog Edition 740M 512mb

Synthetic Benchmarks - 3DMark

FutureMark - 3DMark03

3DMark03 is a benchmark that uses mainly a DirectX 8 featureset including several pixel fillrate tests. I included this test in the review to see an approximation of how well old games will play on the current gen cards, as well as how well each card copes with the fill-rate tests.
 
3dmark03
 
3DMark03 shows a marked improvement with the XFX XXX Edition over the stock clocked 9600 GT.
 
 
FutureMark 3DMark05

3DMark05 is a benchmark based on DirectX 9 with more advanced shading and bump-mapping techniques, as well as a tough CPU test integrated.
 
3dm05
 
Again the overclocked 9600 GT puts out some good numbers in 3DMark06. These put it up there with the 8800 GT's.
 
 
FutureMark - 3DMark06

3DMark06 is a more complex 3D benchmark, using many of the more advanced techniques found in DirectX 9.0c such as utilising Shader Model 3.0 and HDR lighting to create a tough benchmark that stresses the GPU and CPU.
 
3dm06
 
The more advanced and newer benchmark 3DMark06 also shows a fairly large point jump over the stock clocked card.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-04-2008, 09:43:18

FarFarAway
Check out the Alpha Dog Edition 9600 GT from XFX!

Clicky here

07-04-2008, 10:10:22

Bungral
Nice review Matt.. Detailed as ever.

Neither of the 9600s are for me, but its good to see XFX bringing out an Alpha Dog editions as like you said it needed a little boost from stock to bring it in to a decent bracket.

07-04-2008, 10:15:16

Rastalovich
Great review m8. 114.. I mean we call it a "mid range" card, so arguably it`s a higher-mid-range for the 9 series, but the nVidia cards at present are all over the shop imo. - unless you forget about the 8 series completely.

Personally I like to compare the x6xx card with x6xx in the same series and the series below - only cos mid range is mid range - but it competes with the 8800GT in many respects, including it`s ability to clock better, and supposedly SLI better. `Would u SLI 88GT or 96GT ?`, many would say 96GT if that were the choice.

Then again also, XFX pushing the card very well imo.

07-04-2008, 10:48:44

ionicle
good review

medeocre card....hmm

07-04-2008, 13:58:44

FarFarAway
It's a mid-range card, of course it's mediocre!

07-04-2008, 14:46:28

ionicle
the 8600GT was quite exceptional, performance and feature wise

this is...medeocre, in comparison to the 9800GTX

wheras the 8600GT was just a cut down version of the 8800GTX

07-04-2008, 14:50:23

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
the 8600GT was quite exceptional, performance and feature wise

this is...medeocre, in comparison to the 9800GTX

wheras the 8600GT was just a cut down version of the 8800GTX
I swear you don't actually read half the reviews we do ya know...

07-04-2008, 14:59:30

ionicle
i do read them, but i also owned a 8600GT, great card it was too...

looking at the comparison of this to the 9800GTX it doesnt perform aswell as an 8600GT would when compared to an 8800GTS 320mb, IMO

unless you think i'm wrong ofcorse?

07-04-2008, 15:04:33

FarFarAway
The 9600 GT performs a fair amount better than the 8600 GT would, even when taking into consideration the generation cards.

07-04-2008, 15:05:22

ionicle
i dont doubt that, the point i was making, was the gap in performance between the 86xx and the 88xx is probably less than between the 96xx and the 98xx

07-04-2008, 15:21:52

FarFarAway
And I don't think that's true...which is the point I was making

07-04-2008, 15:33:55

ionicle
ahh, okay, so they're closing the gap performance wise? ...hmmmm....that doesnt make good business sense

they should all increase, all levels of cards, but only by the same amount, in the same...incriments....otherwise one level will get too high/too low, and merge into another...

07-04-2008, 15:41:19

tinytomlogan
Strange how the admiration for a review changes once you have written one.

Nice one dude great read.

07-04-2008, 15:43:33

FarFarAway
Thanks mate

07-04-2008, 17:25:47

dxs
damn u guyz bang out reviews fast. nice review tho. wasn't likin the stock 9600 much but this looks better
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.